Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Trim newsfeed content Details »
Trim newsfeed content
Mod Version: 1.1, by MrNase (Member) MrNase is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.0 Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 29
Released: 27 Aug 2006 Last Update: 30 Aug 2006 Downloads: 226
Not Supported Code Changes  

Hello!

A friend of mine pointed me to this:
He's running a quite popular forum about computer security and many websites use his newsfeed. The problem is that the newsfeed publishes the full content of the thread so that the users don't have to go back to the original source. Additionally some webmasters don't even post information on the original source.

This modification let's you choose wether you want to have the full content to be published or only the first 50 (or 100 or 12 , ...) characters.

It basically turns this:

Thread title
Hello, I've found quite some interesting stuff at http://www.mrnase.de and the best of all - it's free! Go and check it out!

into this:
Thread title
Hello, I've found quite some interesting...


This modification has two settings, one to turn it completely off and one setting which let's you chose how many characters you want to display. Default is '50'.

It has been tested with the RSS2 feed (seems to be the most common one).

The instructions are simple, you have to edit external.php and import one new product.


Before:Attachment 52759

After: Attachment 52758

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild 1.png
Views:	1148
Size:	22.7 KB
ID:	52758   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild 2.png
Views:	994
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	52759  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Newsfeed with Selector menu on vbAdvanced CMPS tomshawk vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 33 14 May 2005 23:40
Add your logo to the RSS 2 Newsfeed MrNase vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 1 13 Sep 2004 19:59

  #16  
Old 13 Mar 2007, 06:07
RaZor Edge's Avatar
RaZor Edge RaZor Edge is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Sad to see this do not seems to work with 3.6.5 :-(

I would really like to use something like this.

Last edited by RaZor Edge; 13 Mar 2007 at 07:00.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27 Mar 2007, 10:14
RedTyger RedTyger is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
I have a suggestion why don't you also allow users the option to trim by percentage of the total content? Perhaps if the content is longer than X characters? That way it could mean that a good proportion is always included even if the full length is very short or very long.

Oh and PS, external.php has hooks!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06 May 2007, 14:09
Cybershaolin Cybershaolin is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Yep, does not work for me either in 3.6.5.

Edits done in external.php

Hack activated with "Yes" and Number of words set at "100".

I still see the whole posts... not trimmed at all.

Is the hack still supported? Any plans to make this work with 3.6.5?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19 May 2007, 09:57
Legende Legende is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Any news on this?? Or other solutions?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 22:44
tpearl5's Avatar
tpearl5 tpearl5 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: John
I will be trying this later
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05 Sep 2007, 02:02
WiseOne38221's Avatar
WiseOne38221 WiseOne38221 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Darn, doesn't work on 3.6.7 as the threads aren't trimmed at all. It's just like it ignores it and does what it wants, LOL.
__________________
.
WiseOne -

Political Forum - Truck Forum - Christian Forums

Last edited by WiseOne38221; 05 Sep 2007 at 02:05. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 16 Sep 2007, 16:16
MISCMORE MISCMORE is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Can someone imagine why it doesn't work in 3.6.7 and 3.6.8?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 31 Oct 2007, 21:13
mccollin mccollin is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Mike
Not working in 3.6.5 for me either. I really need this one.
__________________
Mikey
PDAPhoneHome ... Get Converged! / NortheastFoto ... Get Imaged!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 24 Jan 2008, 17:45
abroad abroad is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
I need to trim my output to 10-100 words...please can anybody have a look on it?!?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 24 May 2008, 17:09
ram94401's Avatar
ram94401 ram94401 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
MrNase is very busy, I guess. This product is not working in 3.7; Readme.txt has misleading statement. It says

"Now login to your Admin CP and check out the vBulletin Options. Have a look at the 'Trim Feed Contents?', you'll need to turn it 'on'."

"Trim Feed Contents?" is under "External Data Provider" under Options.

VB shows trimmed content by default in Firefox, you don't need this product to trim the description. Only IE shows the full description.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 24 Jun 2013, 22:27
Naijasite's Avatar
Naijasite Naijasite is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
i neeed it for 4.2.1 please update it.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 24 Jun 2013, 22:58
tbworld tbworld is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Last Update: 30 Aug 2006 (NOT SUPPORTED)

I do not think it will be updated. You need to read the thread carefully before you post -- you might save yourself some time. This is a support forum not an "I need for free forum", it really does not respect the developers that posted their free mods. Sorry for the rant, but this is the third post that I have seen you do this.

Last edited by tbworld; 24 Jun 2013 at 23:03.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 28 May 2016, 09:38
JesWhite JesWhite is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Real name: Jes
Originally Posted by Naijasite View Post
i neeed it for 4.2.1 please update it.
working fine ...
look at read me text..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:47.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: