Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
External Link Titles, retrieve descriptive titles for URLs Details »
External Link Titles, retrieve descriptive titles for URLs
Mod Version: 1.1.1, by magnus (Member) magnus is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (17 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 172
Released: 07 May 2007 Last Update: 24 Jul 2007 Downloads: 1107
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

Keywords: SHOWTHREAD, external, link, titles, URLs, SEO

Description:
Retrieves descriptive titles for external posted links. Allows for better link recognition and, in theory, could help increase page SEO.

Details:
I recall this being requested somewhere, so I decided to take a stab at it. This is yet another feature offered in vBSEO.

For those unaware of what this actually does.. by default, when a URL is posted without a description it looks like:
http://www.vbulletin.com

With this modification enabled, it will now look like:
vBulletin.org Forum - The Official vBulletin Resource!

Nicer, eh?



Installation:
  1. Download and import product-linktitles.xml via the Product Manager.
  2. Enable the modification via AdminCP > vBulletin Options > External Link Titles Options (it is disabled by default)
  3. ???
  4. Profit!

Notes:
There's really no magic here, it polls for titles using the cURL() function. If for some reason your host does not have cURL() enabled, you're out of luck.

From time to time you may notice the occasional link that does not get titled -- this is due to either the fact that the url is not active or it either timed out waiting for a response. By default, the system will wait for 5 seconds before timing out. If you wish to modify the timeout, you may do so via the AdminCP.



Comments:
As with all my hacks, this modification is provided free of charge. However, if you find this product useful and have money burning a hole in your pocket, feel free to make a small donation, I won't mind.. really.

Version History:
  • 1.0.0 - Initial release, here's to hoping...
  • 1.1.0 - Added the ability to blacklist specific domains from having link titles retrieved (configurable via the AdminCP)
  • 1.1.1 - Wrapped returned titles in html_entity_decode(); to return properly decoded HTML characters.

Currently Known Bugs:
  • None

* Please note that this modification was developed on a forum with a userbase of 1 (myself). I've tested it for basic functionality but I cannot guarantee functionality or behavior on your forum. So, please -- make backups before installing this product!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #46  
Old 24 Jul 2007, 15:49
TheMilkCarton TheMilkCarton is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
I just tested the blacklist and can't seem to replicate the problem. I've blacklisted over a dozen various domains and each time they're excluded.

What version of vBulletin are you using? What's the *exact* string of text entered into the blacklist box?

Remember, you must prefix the domain with a period. For example, if you wanted to blacklist microsoft.com, you would enter .microsoft.com into the blacklist text area.
I was fully aware of how to enter the domains. I'll try a few more later when I get time.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 25 Jul 2007, 07:04
FireFish's Avatar
FireFish FireFish is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Recommendation For Future Release

This is a nice mod; but (if I may), I recommend you add the ability for users to toggle this on or off via button on post toolbar or something like that.

Advanced users would appreciate the ability to override this mod & have their link show the URL in some cases while in the majority of others would prefer the page title.

But seriously, nice job!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 25 Jul 2007, 08:59
Dave Hawley Dave Hawley is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
Ok, this is because v3.5.4 doesn't support execution orders. You can try the attached file, I've removed the executionorder tags -- maybe it will play nice.
Thanks! You have just made my day. Works well.
__________________
Excel Help! Searchable MS Office Help Forums
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 25 Jul 2007, 11:21
TheMilkCarton TheMilkCarton is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by FireFish View Post
Advanced users would appreciate the ability to override this mod & have their link show the URL in some cases while in the majority of others would prefer the page title.
If the users were that advanced, they could figure out that they could just type out www.whatever.com, highlight it, click the URL button and then add the URL that way.

This mod won't overwrite "custom" URLs
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 22 Aug 2007, 13:31
rainyleaves rainyleaves is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Awesome!!!
Thanks.
Just click INSTALLED & MOTM.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 25 Aug 2007, 06:15
WarLion's Avatar
WarLion WarLion is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
damm dont work for me cool idea i guess mi curl is off
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 25 Aug 2007, 11:08
harmor19 harmor19 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Andrew Harmor
I experimented with the blacklist and used ".*.xenweb.net:2082" to try and prevent users posting their link to cPanel only to have it converted to "cPanel® 11" (I own a hosting site). To my surprise it worked.

Thanks for the hack.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 25 Aug 2007, 16:40
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by WarLion View Post
damm dont work for me cool idea i guess mi curl is off
You would receive an error if cURL wasn't installed. Did you verify the mod was enabled, as it's disabled by default in the AdminCP.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 08 Sep 2007, 00:28
maxicep maxicep is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I have safe mode status "on".

So i getting error while i posting a new topic or reply.

Warning: curl_setopt() [function.curl-setopt]: CURLOPT_FOLLOWLOCATION cannot be activated when in safe_mode or an open_basedir is set in /includes/functions_newpost.php(360) : eval()'d code on line 56
How can fix it ?

Pls dont tell me about make safe mod : off

Can u fix this problem ?

*Now, i disabled the plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 08 Sep 2007, 15:30
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by maxicep View Post
I have safe mode status "on".

So i getting error while i posting a new topic or reply.

How can fix it ?

Pls dont tell me about make safe mod : off

Can u fix this problem ?

*Now, i disabled the plugin.
The only way around this other than disabling safe_mode is to edit both the "Retreive link titles when editing a post" and "Retreive link titles when posting a new post" hooks via the Plugin Manager and remove (or comment out) the line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 09 Sep 2007, 00:08
maxicep maxicep is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I edited the ur plugin and

curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_FOLLOWLOCATION, true);

to

// curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_FOLLOWLOCATION, true);

So it is disabled ? Anything maybe wrong ? But Now working fine ..
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 09 Sep 2007, 15:54
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by maxicep View Post
I edited the ur plugin and

curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_FOLLOWLOCATION, true);

to

// curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_FOLLOWLOCATION, true);

So it is disabled ? Anything maybe wrong ? But Now working fine ..

Nope, that's what I said in the previous post. The only catch is that you won't get titles from pages that have redirects, you'll get the occasional title as "301 Moved Permanently". But most pages will work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09 Sep 2007, 15:58
maxicep maxicep is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
And how can i enable that function ? do u know ?

can i enable the curl_setopt function in my server side ?

*P.S: server is mine. So i can configure it too if u know what should i edit on server side about safe mode configuration.

Thx for help
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 10 Sep 2007, 13:11
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by maxicep View Post
And how can i enable that function ? do u know ?

can i enable the curl_setopt function in my server side ?

*P.S: server is mine. So i can configure it too if u know what should i edit on server side about safe mode configuration.

Thx for help
In your global php.ini file, find the line that says:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and change it to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

* Note: To find the location of your php.ini file, in your vBulletin AdminCP click on Maintenance -> View PHP info and look for the line Loaded Configuration File.

Once you make the change, you'll need to restart your web server. Assuming it's apache, it can be done by issuing the command "apachectl restart" (as root) from the command line.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 10 Sep 2007, 14:25
maxicep maxicep is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
No no,

i know what u said, i know how disable the safe mode but i asked u how can i allow curl_setopt function while safe mode running. So can i configure safe mode settings like curl_setopt : on ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:34.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: