Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
External Link Titles, retrieve descriptive titles for URLs Details »
External Link Titles, retrieve descriptive titles for URLs
Mod Version: 1.1.1, by magnus (Member) magnus is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (17 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 172
Released: 07 May 2007 Last Update: 24 Jul 2007 Downloads: 1107
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

Keywords: SHOWTHREAD, external, link, titles, URLs, SEO

Description:
Retrieves descriptive titles for external posted links. Allows for better link recognition and, in theory, could help increase page SEO.

Details:
I recall this being requested somewhere, so I decided to take a stab at it. This is yet another feature offered in vBSEO.

For those unaware of what this actually does.. by default, when a URL is posted without a description it looks like:
http://www.vbulletin.com

With this modification enabled, it will now look like:
vBulletin.org Forum - The Official vBulletin Resource!

Nicer, eh?



Installation:
  1. Download and import product-linktitles.xml via the Product Manager.
  2. Enable the modification via AdminCP > vBulletin Options > External Link Titles Options (it is disabled by default)
  3. ???
  4. Profit!

Notes:
There's really no magic here, it polls for titles using the cURL() function. If for some reason your host does not have cURL() enabled, you're out of luck.

From time to time you may notice the occasional link that does not get titled -- this is due to either the fact that the url is not active or it either timed out waiting for a response. By default, the system will wait for 5 seconds before timing out. If you wish to modify the timeout, you may do so via the AdminCP.



Comments:
As with all my hacks, this modification is provided free of charge. However, if you find this product useful and have money burning a hole in your pocket, feel free to make a small donation, I won't mind.. really.

Version History:
  • 1.0.0 - Initial release, here's to hoping...
  • 1.1.0 - Added the ability to blacklist specific domains from having link titles retrieved (configurable via the AdminCP)
  • 1.1.1 - Wrapped returned titles in html_entity_decode(); to return properly decoded HTML characters.

Currently Known Bugs:
  • None

* Please note that this modification was developed on a forum with a userbase of 1 (myself). I've tested it for basic functionality but I cannot guarantee functionality or behavior on your forum. So, please -- make backups before installing this product!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #61  
Old 11 Sep 2007, 20:28
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by maxicep View Post
No no,

i know what u said, i know how disable the safe mode but i asked u how can i allow curl_setopt function while safe mode running. So can i configure safe mode settings like curl_setopt : on ?
No. The entire point of PHP safe_mode is to disallow certain functions. To circumvent that would defeat the point of safe_mode (to which, honestly, is a pain in the rear).
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 11 Sep 2007, 21:22
maxicep maxicep is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Ok so i disable the safe mode on my server for only that mod
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 12 Sep 2007, 03:44
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by maxicep View Post
Ok so i disable the safe mode on my server for only that mod
Is there a reason you even had safe_mode enabled? It would be fine and dandy if you were serving static content and not much else, but even vBulletin itself benefits from having safe_mode disabled -- not to mention most of the modifcations available here.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 12 Sep 2007, 07:56
maxicep maxicep is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Of course, i prefer it for more security .
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 12 Sep 2007, 13:42
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by maxicep View Post
Of course, i prefer it for more security .
The original intent of PHP safe_mode is to provide a bandaid solution for shared server security issues. Since you apparently maintain your own server, you're not really seeing much (if any) benefit to having it enabled.

In fact, it's been removed as of PHP 6.0.0.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 15 Sep 2007, 09:50
maxicep maxicep is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Thanks for help magnus.

Also i have problem with some Turkish Website Titles.
If title include a Turkish character like "ş, ğ, ı, ç" title looking very bad.

I tried edit the plugin
first line

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>

i made it

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-9"?>

I added this plugin again but iso charset didnt changed, i cant change it?

Should we change it for solve Turkish character problem ?
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 15 Sep 2007, 15:44
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by maxicep View Post
Thanks for help magnus.

Also i have problem with some Turkish Website Titles.
If title include a Turkish character like "ş, ğ, ı, ç" title looking very bad.

I tried edit the plugin
first line

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>

i made it

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-9"?>

I added this plugin again but iso charset didnt changed, i cant change it?

Should we change it for solve Turkish character problem ?
Could you show me an example of what's happening?
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 17 Sep 2007, 03:43
maxicep maxicep is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Sure, see below

Fenerbahçe Fan/FB Videoları, FB Resimleri, FB �arkıları, FB Yazıları, FB Hakkında Her�ey

Some characters look bad on some sites?

But site title looking good when i enter the site.
Site title on my explorer
Fenerbahçe Fan/FB Videoları, FB Resimleri, FB Şarkıları, FB Yazıları, FB Hakkında Herşey :
Url

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 11 Oct 2007, 06:19
REIGN SS REIGN SS is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Installed works about 80% of the time... I guess it has to due with the External Links Timeout setting, currently at 6seconds... Thanks for the mod!
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 03 Nov 2007, 22:55
Boothby Boothby is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Stefan
For all, having problems with Save Mode on this is my little fix to solve it.

Find twice

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Then I added a small tweak to parse url's without a scheme, like "http://".

find twice:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

After it add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now it works for me beautyful.

Thanks and installed.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 11 Nov 2007, 13:02
SC-Bahamut SC-Bahamut is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Hello

Sorry, for my English, i am German.

I have a little Problem with intern Links in my Forum. Extern Links works perfect, but intern Links shows so:

Original Link:
h**p://w*w.support-community.net/showthread.php?t=1370

was to
Support-Community.net - Support rund um ihren Computer

Who can i make that the Title of the Tread (Horizontale Balken beim Booten), and not the Title of the Forum, was created ?

Greetz
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 12 Nov 2007, 14:07
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by SC-Bahamut View Post
Hello

Sorry, for my English, i am German.

I have a little Problem with intern Links in my Forum. Extern Links works perfect, but intern Links shows so:

Original Link:
h**p://w*w.support-community.net/showthread.php?t=1370

was to
Support-Community.net - Support rund um ihren Computer

Who can i make that the Title of the Tread (Horizontale Balken beim Booten), and not the Title of the Forum, was created ?

Greetz
It grabs the title provided by the page (the text found between the <title></title> tags). You would need to edit your templates and remove the forumtitle variable from within those tags.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 10 Dec 2007, 03:04
TrioxX TrioxX is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Hi,

great hack! Installed it.

EDIT:

How can we change the pagetitle of internal sites, that all pages of the board will be shown as the real pagetitle (like search, boards...) ?

Last edited by TrioxX; 10 Dec 2007 at 03:26.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 19 Dec 2007, 13:04
Satz Satz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
i have tried everythin still cudnt make it work on my forum , wud be pleased if some one can help me out
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 19 Dec 2007, 13:23
TrioxX TrioxX is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
YOu must tell, what not work. Because we're no mindreader
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: