Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
First Post Editable Indefinitely Details »
First Post Editable Indefinitely
Mod Version: 1.2, by Lynne (Coder/Designer) Lynne is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.4 Rating: (12 votes - 4.92 average) Installs: 120
Released: 17 Nov 2009 Last Update: 23 Jul 2010 Downloads: 544
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations  

Sometimes you want your users to be able to edit the first post in their thread indefinitely but still have a time limit on all other posts in the thread. This would be useful if they want to constantly update their first thread with new information, or an updated list of some sort way past the normal editing time limit. This modification will allow them to edit that first post indefinitely.

Notes
- I wrote this for my own site and it works exactly how I want it to. I have no plans to change it or expand it in any way
- No, you may not change the time limit, this only works for if the time limit for the first post is 0 - indefinite.

FOR 4.1.12 - SEE THIS POST - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...9&postcount=63

Version History:
1.0 2009-11-17: - initial release by Lynne at vbulletin.org
1.1 2009-11-21: - added option in Forum Manager to turn on indefinite editing of first post per forum
1.2 2010-07-22: - fixed to work in 4.0.4. Also moved plugin from global_complete to global_bootstrap_complete since global_complete is deprecated (4.0.4)




To install:

1. Import product-lynne_first_post_editable.xml
2. By default, editing first post indefinitely is Off per forum. To turn it on, go into the Forum Manager > select your forum to Edit > Make first post in thread editable indefinitely > Yes

To uninstall:

1. Uninstall "First Post Editable Indefinitely v4.0"


French translation also below thanks to Albibak - product-lynne_first_post_editable_fr.xml

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 18:33
Kolbi's Avatar
Kolbi Kolbi is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Real name: Matthias
Wow!
I searched this

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 18:54
niake niake is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
I got this error
Parse error: parse error in \htdocs\forum\includes\class_bootstrap.php(685) : eval()'d code on line 68
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 19:00
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I don't think that is from this product. 685 is the global_state_check plugin, but I only have 9 lines in that plugin, not anywhere near 68 lines. Perhaps it is conflicting with another mod? What other mods do you have installed?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 19:12
niake niake is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
I don't think that is from this product. 685 is the global_state_check plugin, but I only have 9 lines in that plugin, not anywhere near 68 lines. Perhaps it is conflicting with another mod? What other mods do you have installed?
Have disable all custom plugins only have

First Post Editable Indefinitely
vBulletin CMS
vBulletin Blog

If a disable First Post Editable Indefinitely no errors..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 19:17
niake niake is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Parse error: parse error in \htdocs\forum\includes\class_bootstrap.php(685) : eval()'d code on line 68
vBulletin Message
Unable to add cookies, header already sent.
File: \htdocs\forum\includes\class_bootstrap.php(685) : eval()'d code
Line: 68

It must be a bug in VB 4.0 now a get this have disable all plugins..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 19:21
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I'm sorry, but I can't reproduce that error at all. I'll need more information in order to figure this out. Are you using a default style? Which postbit? Exactly where are you getting this error - what page? as who - the admin or the user who posted? What is your normal posting time limit set to?

edit: Are you now saying you get this error after you disable all the plugins? I'm confused by your last post.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 19:22
ragtek's Avatar
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
Originally Posted by niake View Post
Have disable all custom plugins only have

First Post Editable Indefinitely
vBulletin CMS
vBulletin Blog

If a disable First Post Editable Indefinitely no errors..
I can't confirm this error


and big thx for this add-on.
It was also on my todo list, but now i don't have to code it
__________________
my addons: http://ragtek.github.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 19:51
niake niake is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Have copied my live 3.84 database with all posts and upraderad to beta 4 on a test server and using the default style.
When I activate this pluggin a get the error on the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 19:54
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by niake View Post
Have copied my live 3.84 database with all posts and upraderad to beta 4 on a test server and using the default style.
When I activate this pluggin a get the error on the forum.
And you deleted all other plugins/mods? And deleted all other added files from other plugins/mods?

I'm just not getting enough information here to even try to recreate this error. The unable to add cookies bit seriously doesn't look like it's from this mod since I do nothing to make any sort of output with this modification. It really looks like you have not disabled all your plugins (I'm saying plugins here, not just products).
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 19:56
niake niake is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Yes all plugins/mods
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 20:20
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by niake View Post
Yes all plugins/mods
Maybe someone else will get this problem and post more information and allow me to recreate this, but I currently cannot do so.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 21:35
abdobasha2004's Avatar
abdobasha2004 abdobasha2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
thanks lynne
always the best
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 21:44
messengermatt messengermatt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Ok i have installed, is there a place to manage the settings of this mod? i cant find them in the usual settings area
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18 Nov 2009, 01:20
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by messengermatt View Post
Ok i have installed, is there a place to manage the settings of this mod? i cant find them in the usual settings area
There are no settings to manage. It simply makes all first posts editable indefinitely.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:06.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: