Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Automated Simple Catagory Icons Details »
Automated Simple Catagory Icons
Mod Version: 1.01, by MThornback (Member) MThornback is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.7 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 16
Released: 08 May 2007 Last Update: 05 Jul 2007 Downloads: 248
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

This is an automated version of these hacks:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...35#post1202535
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...=127426&page=2

by Starbug & Adrian., all credit goes to them for the original concept. Thanks to Brad Flynn for his help also.

Also: Thank you to BadgerDog for noticing I missed an ID off one of the find instructions


What it does:
Allows you to use a set of custom icons on a per forum basis. No settings needed, the plugin will look for a set of images that meet the conditions I outline in the instructions and display them if they exist. The default VB icons if they don't.

NOTE:
You will need your forum icons to be named like this:

forumx_old.gif
forumx_old_lock.gif
etc...

where x is the forum id number

for the new images to work. If you don't, only the defaults will appear.

Please Remember to make all 4 icons "new" "old" "new_lock" & "old_lock" an error has been reported that if all 4 don't exist, guests and unregistered may not see the default icons.




Instructions:
Use either the installer or the plugin to make a new plugin.
OR create it yourself on the on the forumbit_display hook. With this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

In forumhome_forumbit_level1_post find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



In forumhome_forumbit_level2_post find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Catagory Icons Adrian. vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 238 21 Oct 2010 19:46

  #16  
Old 16 May 2007, 11:58
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by MThornback View Post
Do you direct one of your styles to a custom folder? That would be the only reason it would be affected

I use a custom style, so I bet that's it.

Therefore, for clarity, I shouild make sure that I put all of the GIF files in both areas because of this?

Thanks

Regards,
Badger
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 16 May 2007, 14:00
MThornback's Avatar
MThornback MThornback is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
by default vb pulls the status icons from images/statusicon/*.gif, each style which defines a separate path, would needs separate gifs. Just bear in mind there is more in that folder than your category images that needs to be copied over for each custom path (things that vb needs, not this hack)

So yes
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18 May 2007, 18:45
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Ok, not sure if this is a design thing or a bug....

If I elect only to use one GIF icon for a forum, (ie: forum30_new.gif) and not use the reciprocal "forum30_old.gif", instead letting vBulletin use its default, then I get a RED X problem.

Did I misunderstand the default situation?

If there isn't a forumX_(old, new). gif, then I thought the code would let it slide so the system would use the default? It appears to be looking for _old, only because I installed an _new file?

Thanks

Regards,
Badger
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 18 May 2007, 19:36
MThornback's Avatar
MThornback MThornback is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
The way its setup it dosen't support splitting the difference between both ways. If one exists the other is expected to exist as well.

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 18 May 2007, 19:40
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by MThornback View Post
The way its setup it dosen't support splitting the difference between both ways. If one exists the other is expected to exist as well.

Understood...

Thanks...

I assume that you don't need a "lock" gif version in order to have the default lock icon display, or does it also have to be present if the any of the other two are there, in order to avoid the RED X?

Regards,
Badger
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 20 May 2007, 23:56
MThornback's Avatar
MThornback MThornback is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
I'd make a lock.gif to have the complete set regardless....but yes its needed
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05 Jul 2007, 22:25
MThornback's Avatar
MThornback MThornback is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
This now works with VBs JS to mark a forum read
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05 Jul 2007, 23:26
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by MThornback View Post
This now works with VBs JS to mark a forum read
Thanks for the update ...

We've used your mod since it came out....

It's been a while, so for clarity, what do we need to do to upgrade? Is there a need to uninstall the previous version first, or can we just go ahead and import the XML?

Regards,
Badger
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 03:03
MThornback's Avatar
MThornback MThornback is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
all thats changed is the template portion of the mod, so if you redo the edit you'll be set
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 12:04
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by MThornback View Post
all thats changed is the template portion of the mod, so if you redo the edit you'll be set
Updated ...

Thanks ...

Nice mod... really enhances use of our forums. People look for the icon graphic to find forums as opposed to reading text.

Regards,
Badger
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 14 Aug 2007, 11:52
Chester87 Chester87 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I cant get it to work.

I did all the template edits and install the thingy in forumbit_diplay hook. Even got the status icons in several maps just to see where it is directing to.

Do i need to change this line?
is_file("path/to/forum/images/statusicon/forum".

To an directory where the *.gif's are located?

Changed te gif's to the name of the forum.

forum419_old_lock.gif
forum419_new_lock.gif
forum419_old.gif
forum419_new.gif

But it aint working. What am i doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 22 Aug 2007, 02:41
MThornback's Avatar
MThornback MThornback is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
path/to/forum needs to be changed, yes
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 27 May 2009, 19:01
CLF's Avatar
CLF CLF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Just wanted to thank you for this mod. Looks great on my forum and I went with png icons.

INSTALLED!

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:57.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: