Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
User's Social Groups on Forum Home (like forumlist, fully templated) Details »
User's Social Groups on Forum Home (like forumlist, fully templated)
Mod Version: 1.5.2, by cellarius (Coder) cellarius is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (22 votes - 4.86 average) Installs: 212
Released: 31 Jan 2009 Last Update: 18 Jun 2010 Downloads: 1153
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Translations  


What does it do?
  • Shows all social groups the actual user is a member of or is subscribed to, just below the forumlist (or anywhere else on forumhome). If there are new messages, the corresponding forum statusicon is highlighted - just like in forumlist.
  • If there are no groups to show, you can choose to show a teaser message.


Things to set in AdminCP/Options
:
  • show member of / subscribed to /nothing
  • sort by name or last message date
  • limit max number of groups shown, then link to appropriate page (grouplist for members, usercp for subscribers)
  • restrict use by usergroup
  • show a teaser message if there are no groups to show
  • show buttons to open new discussion etc.
  • apply custom css to grouptitle
  • trim group description to max length or disable
  • parse bbcode in group descriptions
  • use a different set of statusicons for groups than for forums
  • use .png for statusicons instead of .gif (global in AdminCP, per style in groupsbit template)
  • show groupicon instead of statusicon


Looks
  • Out of the box: I tried to copy the standard look of the forumlist on forumhome.
  • As requested, it is now fully templated (following the forumbit-scheme) for easy adjustment to custom styles.
    See the screenshot of a modified example in this post.


Install/upgrade
  1. Upload folder "images" to your forum root (can be omitted if you do not want to use the buttons).
  2. Import the product file.
  3. Check settings in AdminCP->Options->Social Groups on Forumhome.


Template edit
Will be automatically inserted below your forums list if you are using TMS, which I highly recommend to do. If not:

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Above add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you don't like it there, you can insert $cel_social_groups anywhere you like on forumhome.


Technical stuff
1 product file that adds
+ 3 templates (following the forumbit-scheme)
+ 3 plugins
+ adds 2 queries to forumhome (only if groups are shown, of course).
+ a bunch of phrases (prefix: cel_sgfh_).
+ 4 png-buttons, taken from the silk icon set.


Limitations
  • Marking of new messages only works with database, not with cookie based marking of read threads (-> AdminCP setting)
    Explanation: This mod relys on the information in the database when a discussion was last read by the actual user. If you rely on cookies for this, you can use this mod anyway, but there will be no marking if there are unread messages by changed statusicons.
  • 3.7 Discussion groups will show up as "no messages yet" as long as there was no message written under 3.8
    Explanation: When converting the old 3.7 message board into a discussion, Jelsoft was a little bit slack. While normally all the information about the last updated discussion is stored in the socialgroups table, this information is not entered for the auto-created discussion. For example: The discussion ID for the last updated discussion simply is 0 instead of the actual id of the auto created discussion. Therefore, this mod can not retrieve the information it needs since the discussion is not linked to the social group. This only changes when the first message under 3.8 is written.
  • Not a bug note: In vB 3.8 there was an issue where the last discussion title was not correctly updated by vB in the socialgroup table. This would lead this mod to show a wrong last discussion title under some circumstances. This was resolved in 3.8.1.
    See Bugtracker: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/proje...?issueid=27176
Version history

v 1.4
+ some bugfixes
+ option to turn teaser message off
+ option to show several buttons: to start a new discussion - see the group's members list - see the group' photos (only shown if there are any attached pictures) - unsubscribe (only if subscribed groups are shown) (Thanks to glorify)
1.4.1: Template/Style error in Google Chrome fixed


v 1.3
+ now fully templated. New templates: forumhome_cel_social_groups_groupsbit and forumhome_cel_social_groups_lastmsgby.
1.3.1: Link to user profile error fixed

v 1.2
+ added option to sort groups by date of last message
+ added missing phrase

v 1.1

+ improved database query
+ limitations somewhat lessened
+ added settings page to AdminCP
+ choose whether to show groups the user is a member of or subscribed to
+ limit number of groups shown, then link to appropriate page
+ restrict use by usergroup
+ some minor bugfixes



Planned features (no promises made!)

none atm

option to use a set of different statusicons for the groups
option to use the social group's icon instead of the statusicon
and to go with that, for additional/substitunional unread marking, possibility to add css markup to the social group's title


Translations
Screenshots:
  • AdminCP
  • Forumhome (with groupicon and css formatted groupname, bbcode in description parsed)
  • Forumhome (with forum statusicons and trimmed description -> bbcode not parsed)
### Don't forget to click install! ###
(No support if you don't)

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_groupicon.jpg
Views:	2498
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	98132   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_statusicon.jpg
Views:	1769
Size:	26.0 KB
ID:	98133   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_admincp.jpg
Views:	891
Size:	132.4 KB
ID:	98139  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Latest Social Groups - Forum Home Atakan KOC vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 52 05 Aug 2013 21:48
Forum Home Enhancements Latest Post At Groups - Forum Home kaptanblack vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 45 06 Jul 2010 15:58

  #121  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 18:22
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Originally Posted by Revan View Post
I believe these changes, especially if added as options, will be beneficial for those like me, who prefer to have the Social Groups list exactly the same way as any other forum category
As you can see, some of them made it into the new release, some did not. The decision to put the groups into an extra block was made to have some distinction - they are not the same as any other forum, after all. Who wishs to treat them like you do can follow your example - that's what templates are for
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 19:58
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Fillip
Well I'm most pleased that the .png change made it into the mod - template edits, I can deal with, but remembering code changes would be a hassle
Nice going on the read marking change =D

Updating now


EDIT: Nevermind, the .png setting is global when it should be per-skin, like I put in my templates. I still need to edit the code to produce the wanted effect
Best way to do this would be to define the result of the AdminCP option in the template, rather than the code, so that a forum could set their default (if the majority of skins uses gifs, they use gif extension in the option, and vice versa), but still allow us to customise the extension per-skin.
Hopefully that made sense XD

Last edited by Revan; 21 Apr 2009 at 20:16.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 20:25
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Hi, try this one.
I started to change this right after your first edit, but I guess I just had the same idea I hope this will work for you.

I updated the product .zip accordingly.
Attached Files
File Type: xml product-cel_sgfh_1-5.xml (24.3 KB, 4 views)
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de

Last edited by cellarius; 21 Apr 2009 at 20:43.
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 20:31
blackenizer blackenizer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
groups user is a member of

When I click on the option

groups user is a member of
The forum page does not come up.

but it works if I select
groups user is subscribed to
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 20:37
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Originally Posted by blackenizer View Post
When I click on the option

groups user is a member of
The forum page does not come up.

but it works if I select
groups user is subscribed to
I cannot reproduce this - I myself use it with the "member of"-option only, without problems both on my test and my life-board.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 21:57
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Fillip
Working like a charm now, thanks mate
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 22:06
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Originally Posted by Revan View Post
Working like a charm now, thanks mate
Good to hear
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 22:20
redlabour's Avatar
redlabour redlabour is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: André
Please use the Update-Mail Function. You have 120 Installs but only a few Downloads every Update.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 22:38
redlabour's Avatar
redlabour redlabour is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: André
BUG after Updating shown at Top of Forumhome/Header:

Warnung: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/index.php(67) : eval()'d code (Zeile 458)
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 23:12
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Uh - I don't get that error... on neither of my boards. Since there's no line 458 in the plugin, I do not know exactly which of the two foreach statements in the plugin might be responsible. Since this only happens after upgrade, probably the newly added Can't see what might be causing it at the moment.

Please try the following: in the plugin add

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

before

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Are you using PHP 4 or PHP 5?

If the above does not fix it, please try to replace

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de

Last edited by cellarius; 21 Apr 2009 at 23:20.
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 22 Apr 2009, 17:21
redlabour's Avatar
redlabour redlabour is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: André
Originally Posted by cellarius View Post
Are you using PHP 4 or PHP 5?

If the above does not fix it, please try to replace

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
PHP5 - the second Hint works now!
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 22 Apr 2009, 17:35
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Good to know. Will include this into the package and then send an upgrade notification
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 22 Apr 2009, 18:50
redlabour's Avatar
redlabour redlabour is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: André
Awesome!
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 22 Apr 2009, 20:40
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Fillip
It's good practice to always init your arrays like that, and if you are foreach'ing variables you didn't have complete control over, you should either typecast like in your second fix, or check "if (!is_array($arr)) { $arr = array(); }"
Reason is, if a database returns no rows, it doesn't create any arrays you manipulate inside a while() result iterator.
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 22 Apr 2009, 22:55
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Yep, just learned that
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:11.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: