Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 26 Jun 2015, 04:50
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Install Guide

Is there a guide to be read on the install of this all new vB 5?

Would the root path below be sufficient to run?

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thanks.

I have tried install on WAMP, didn't work. I am trying install live, didn't work.

There is something basic I am doing wrong I guess.
config.php files have been renamed and core config.php has been edited.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08 Jul 2015, 16:57
d1jsp's Avatar
d1jsp d1jsp is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
5.1.7 is broke in terms of installing from scratch. I'm struggling myself and have done everything right and done all the suggestions from the vb team.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08 Jul 2015, 21:19
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Be sure to read the install documentation in the manual and remember sometimes over-editing will result in an failed install attempt. I remember having issues when vB5 first came out but they did clear up some confusion so be sure to check for similar threads on vbulletin.com, your one little oversight/mistake in editing file(s) could have been done by someone else long ago and by reading a few threads where they had a similar issue as yourself, you may end up finding the one little spot where you went wrong .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09 Jul 2015, 13:30
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Originally Posted by d1jsp View Post
5.1.7 is broke in terms of installing from scratch. I'm struggling myself and have done everything right and done all the suggestions from the vb team.
Me too. Same here.
Can't get the install to start.

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
Be sure to read the install documentation in the manual and remember sometimes over-editing will result in an failed install attempt. I remember having issues when vB5 first came out but they did clear up some confusion so be sure to check for similar threads on vbulletin.com, your one little oversight/mistake in editing file(s) could have been done by someone else long ago and by reading a few threads where they had a similar issue as yourself, you may end up finding the one little spot where you went wrong .
Done it a couple of times. I thought I was used to the installation.
I was fairly easy with 4. Just browse to the install and click.
I tried with WAMP also but same result.
I'd given up until this thread came back to life.

Cheers the pair of you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11 Jul 2015, 20:16
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
However, taking in the lack of response, I would like to pursue the original question.
Is there or isn't there an install guide?

A link might prove conclusive? I will let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16 Jul 2015, 01:17
Mark.B Mark.B is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
5.1.7 is absolutely NOT broken, I'm unsure why people like to put nonsense like this in as if it were fact - it does nothing but confuse and misinform people who are trying to get help.

The official installation guide is here:
https://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/install

I have written my own basic instructions:

1. Download the newest vB5 release from the members' area. https://members.vbulletin.com

2. Unzip the files and go to the "upload" folder.

3. You need to rename this file:

/config.php.bkp

To:

/config.php

Then, you need to rename this file:

/core/includes/config.php.new

To:

/core/includes/config.php

Then, in that file, you need to complete the following fields:

$config['Database']['dbname'] = 'forum';
Change forum to whatever your database name is.

$config['Database']['technicalemail'] = '[email protected]';
Change the email address to your own.

$config['MasterServer']['username'] = 'root';
Change root to the database username

$config['MasterServer']['password'] = '';
Enter the database password inside the '' marks.

All other fields should be left as default, unless your database is on a separate server, in which case this will need changing:

$config['MasterServer']['servername'] = 'localhost';

4. Upload all files to your server/webspace/whatever and browse to yourforumpath.com/core/install/install.php.
__________________
MARK.B (Member of the vB Support Team)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16 Jul 2015, 04:35
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Done all of that several times, still nothing. Not sure what I am doing wrong as I have done it before with 4.
Not to worry, I will take it to someone that has a clearer head than I do.
Got me beat!

Thanks anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16 Jul 2015, 06:12
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
What is the problem? Have you put in a ticket - we usually help with installations even if you don't have ticket support.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16 Jul 2015, 07:36
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I have not put a ticket in yet. I will see my friend thinks of it.
The main problem is I cannot browse to the folder.

Not sure what is going on. Perhaps I have just forgotten the procedure since I haven't played for a while.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I tried the above using WAMP.
I even pulled down the existing website, uploaded all the files, changed both config files and same result. Looking at the ht access file now. Maybe it is that?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16 Jul 2015, 08:59
Mark.B Mark.B is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
You need to use the default htaccess file, without any changes.

What error do you get when you try to browse to the install file?
__________________
MARK.B (Member of the vB Support Team)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16 Jul 2015, 09:36
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Hello there. . .



Thanks again.

PS: I notice in the config.php the port number is different 3600 I think.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Err.jpg (38.4 KB, 71 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17 Jul 2015, 02:33
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
You probably have one of two things:

1. apache doesn't have .htaccess files allowed, or its rules.
2. mod_rewrite isn't turned on.

AllowOverride All can be added for your localhost, but this is a configuration issue. Not a vBulletin one.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17 Jul 2015, 02:57
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Okay, so this is what my .htaccess looks like. It is default apart from the red highlight that was suggested.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I have added AllowOverride All and still the same result.
Maybe I have added it in the wrong place?
Apache module is set to rewrite_module.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17 Jul 2015, 12:39
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Sorry, the AllowOverride needs to be set in the apache config or the vhost, and then apache needs to be restarted.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17 Jul 2015, 15:11
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Originally Posted by Zachery View Post
Sorry, the AllowOverride needs to be set in the apache config or the vhost, and then apache needs to be restarted.
Is that a service or a module in Apache?

I don't know where this is going or how to get there.

Giving up.

Thanks anyway.........

Tired of it now. . . .
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: