Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12 May 2016, 12:33
Inked_Mono Inked_Mono is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
RSS Feed - XML Error: Undeclared entity warning at line 53

I've been trying to figure this RSS feed out for quite awhile now, and I seem to be getting absolutely nowhere. I've tried everything and I can think of, and I've made absolutely no progress. Here's hoping someone can help.

When using an RSS feed URL (http://vb-dev.os-scape.com/external....SS2&forumids=5), which by the way, for whatever reason seems to show absolutely nothing in both Firefox and Chrome [outside of the occasional database error]), I get this error on the feeder:

http://i.imgur.com/sJ8qHia.png

These are my current RSS settings:

http://i.imgur.com/HSd3IGm.png


What am I doing wrong here?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13 May 2016, 15:55
Inked_Mono Inked_Mono is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Bump. I've had absolutely no luck with this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13 May 2016, 16:54
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
The undeclared entity warning is caused by bad syntax in the XML file.
Database error shouldn't happen in the first place, can you paste the database error here?
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14 May 2016, 00:28
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
I get a database error on that link (every time).
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14 May 2016, 04:11
Inked_Mono Inked_Mono is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
The undeclared entity warning is caused by bad syntax in the XML file.
Database error shouldn't happen in the first place, can you paste the database error here?
Do you know where I would go about finding the database error? I'd be happy to post it.

The pictures shown are all of the information I have at the moment.

Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
I get a database error on that link (every time).
Which is odd, because the other RSS feed links just come up blank.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14 May 2016, 14:48
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Database errors should be sent to the email defined in your /includes/config.php file.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 May 2016, 03:34
Inked_Mono Inked_Mono is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
The undeclared entity warning is caused by bad syntax in the XML file.
Database error shouldn't happen in the first place, can you paste the database error here?
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Database errors should be sent to the email defined in your /includes/config.php file.
Thank you! The error reads as the following:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17 May 2016, 13:42
Inked_Mono Inked_Mono is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Bump.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17 May 2016, 16:32
squidsk's Avatar
squidsk squidsk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I took a look at the code in external.php and that query is not in stock vbulletin. Check your plugins for any that are on hooks in external.php:
  • external_start
  • external_type
  • external_query
  • external_complete

If there are none on those hook locations, start looking through plugins on global locations to see if there are plugins that should not be running on rss feeds.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20 May 2016, 05:16
Inked_Mono Inked_Mono is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by squidsk View Post
I took a look at the code in external.php and that query is not in stock vbulletin. Check your plugins for any that are on hooks in external.php:
  • external_start
  • external_type
  • external_query
  • external_complete

If there are none on those hook locations, start looking through plugins on global locations to see if there are plugins that should not be running on rss feeds.
Would a quick way to circumvent the necessary checks be to disable all current plugins and see if it makes a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20 May 2016, 15:01
squidsk's Avatar
squidsk squidsk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Yes, totally disabling the plugin system via config.php would do the trick.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20 May 2016, 16:07
Inked_Mono Inked_Mono is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by squidsk View Post
Yes, totally disabling the plugin system via config.php would do the trick.
Sorry, I'm a bit naive when it comes to a lot of the significant back end work. What would be the most efficient way of disabling the plugin system through the config.php?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20 May 2016, 17:14
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by Inked_Mono View Post
Sorry, I'm a bit naive when it comes to a lot of the significant back end work. What would be the most efficient way of disabling the plugin system through the config.php?
To disable the plugin system via config.php, at the top of that file add the line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You can also disable plugins via the AdminCP. Follow:

AdminCP -> Settings -> Options ->Plugin/Hook System

And set "Enable Plugin/Hook System" to "No".
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20 May 2016, 19:15
Inked_Mono Inked_Mono is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
To disable the plugin system via config.php, at the top of that file add the line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You can also disable plugins via the AdminCP. Follow:

AdminCP -> Settings -> Options ->Plugin/Hook System

And set "Enable Plugin/Hook System" to "No".
That worked perfectly! The RSS feed works without a problem, so now I guess it's just to find the plugin responsible for the problem. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:59.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: