Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Edit StyleVars page Details »
Edit StyleVars page
Mod Version: 1.3, by Lynne (Coder/Designer) Lynne is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.11 Rating: (7 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 37
Released: 09 Feb 2011 Last Update: 10 Mar 2012 Downloads: 114
Not Supported Code Changes  

This is just a new page for showing the .css template and having all the stylevars clickable and then editable in the bottom screen. This uses iframes, so if you browser doesn't support that, then it won't work and I cannot help you with this.

You will need to open up and edit the admincp/template.php file.

**edited for 4.1.11 below** Basically just add the code in red to the existing code.

Find (under $_REQUEST['do'] = 'add'):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Then find (under $_REQUEST['do'] = 'edit'):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Then find (at the bottom of the page):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add above:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now when you go to Style Manager > find Style > Edit Templates and click on a .css template to edit (it will ONLY work in .css templates!), you will have the new option on the left to "Edit StyleVars".



If you click that, you get a new tab with the .css template in the top box (not editable on this page) and it has all the *editable* stylevars clickable (for example, in userprofile.css, they use variables, not stylevars, so you won't have clickable stylevars there). If you click on a stylevar, it will open in the bottom of the window and you may edit.





Tested in Firefox, Safari, Chrome, and Opera on my Mac.

And thank you to ForumsMods for sharing a diff file - patch.zip (for version 1.1, which works, but doesn't have css changes)

1.2 - 2011-02-11 - changed some CSS for the divs and fixed a phrase.
1.3 - 2012-03-10 - added a file with the changes needed for 4.1.11

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	editstylevars1.png
Views:	2334
Size:	30.4 KB
ID:	126555   Click image for larger version

Name:	editstylevars2.png
Views:	2308
Size:	31.2 KB
ID:	126556   Click image for larger version

Name:	editstylevars3.png
Views:	2303
Size:	121.6 KB
ID:	126581  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Design Tool: Show what Stylevars are used on a Page calorie vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 13 10 Apr 2011 14:55

Comments
  #2  
Old 09 Feb 2011, 22:44
ForumsMods's Avatar
ForumsMods ForumsMods is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Real name: Adrian Sacchi
Great idea.
Installed and Nominated.

Can you make a diff file?
__________________
Adrian Sacchi - Forums Mods
vBulletin Alpha/Beta Tester
vBulletin Bug Scrubber
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09 Feb 2011, 22:54
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by ForumsMods View Post
Can you make a diff file?
It's basically two quick edits to find/replace and then just add a bunch of stuff at the end. And, besides that, I don't have an application to make diff files.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09 Feb 2011, 23:25
ForumsMods's Avatar
ForumsMods ForumsMods is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Real name: Adrian Sacchi
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
It's basically two quick edits to find/replace and then just add a bunch of stuff at the end. And, besides that, I don't have an application to make diff files.
Yes, but is easier for me to apply using diff files.
Also for next vB releases.

I made a diff file for vBulletin 4.1.1 (40651).

Take a note that with default vB Style does not display correctly. Would be better to use style classes and change 'Phrase' to '$vbphrase['stylevar']'.
Attached Files
File Type: zip patch.zip (2.5 KB, 29 views)
__________________
Adrian Sacchi - Forums Mods
vBulletin Alpha/Beta Tester
vBulletin Bug Scrubber
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09 Feb 2011, 23:30
mfnforex mfnforex is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Thank you
__________________
ASQH News CME
Six Sigma Black Belt
CPHQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09 Feb 2011, 23:58
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by ForumsMods View Post
Yes, but is easier for me to apply using diff files.
Also for next vB releases.

I made a diff file for vBulletin 4.1.1 (40651).

Take a note that with default vB Style does not display correctly. Would be better to use style classes and change 'Phrase' to '$vbphrase['stylevar']'.
thank you. I'll link to this in my first post.

I'm not sure what you mean about the default vB style not displaying correctly. It's showing just fine on my site.

I'm using the default admincp functions to build the page (print_table_start, print_table_header, etc) instead of redoing the whole thing. And yes, I should have used a phrase. I wrote this as a quick project for myself and then decided to share it and I thought I had cleaned it up, but I did forget to look at phrases. I'll catch that if I have another release.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10 Feb 2011, 00:28
ForumsMods's Avatar
ForumsMods ForumsMods is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Real name: Adrian Sacchi
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
thank you. I'll link to this in my first post.

I'm not sure what you mean about the default vB style not displaying correctly. It's showing just fine on my site.

I'm using the default admincp functions to build the page (print_table_start, print_table_header, etc) instead of redoing the whole thing. And yes, I should have used a phrase. I wrote this as a quick project for myself and then decided to share it and I thought I had cleaned it up, but I did forget to look at phrases. I'll catch that if I have another release.
See attachments.
You are using hard-coded background and color.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I would change alt2 to bginput, delete border and background-color.

Also delete border and background for iframe and add bginput class to it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (16.5 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (27.2 KB, 49 views)
__________________
Adrian Sacchi - Forums Mods
vBulletin Alpha/Beta Tester
vBulletin Bug Scrubber
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10 Feb 2011, 04:53
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by ForumsMods View Post
Great idea.
Installed and Nominated.
AGREED!
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10 Feb 2011, 18:47
benstillman benstillman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Real name: Ben
Why the hell wasn't this standard!? This is awesome!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15 Feb 2011, 18:22
jparks46 jparks46 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
This is an amazing idea. Thank you so much Lynne! Installed + nominated as soon as I get home!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04 Mar 2011, 12:09
Rafa-el's Avatar
Rafa-el Rafa-el is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Nicaragua
Real name: Rafael Benard
Very good idea!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04 Mar 2011, 19:32
BlackThorn BlackThorn is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Thanks Lynne, that's awesome...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05 Mar 2011, 00:33
ifitsmedia ifitsmedia is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thanks for this! Also don't understand why this isn't included as a standard feature.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06 Mar 2011, 07:13
CRDeveloper's Avatar
CRDeveloper CRDeveloper is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Pablo X.
Make this an Add-on pleeeeease!!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06 Mar 2011, 07:42
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by CRDeveloper View Post
Make this an Add-on pleeeeease!!!
As you have to manually do file edits, it can NOT be done any other way.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:11.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: