Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Edit New Thread Button Details »
Edit New Thread Button
Mod Version: 1.1, by Abe1 (Coder) Abe1 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.5.2 Rating: (3 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 116
Released: 14 Dec 2005 Last Update: 17 Dec 2005 Downloads: 339
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Edit New Thread Button 1.1


About this hack:
This hack allows you to change where the "New Thread" button directs your users for each forum. This hack gets customized from the forum options and different for each forum.

This is an ideal hack if you want your users to make a new thread using a form or something else besides the regular vb new thread page.

This hack has been created do to requests by users of my hack call Forms Hack.

Installation information on hack:
  • Files edited: 0
  • Templates edited: 1
  • Files to upload: 0
  • Time to install: 1 minute
Updates:

Version 1.0 (12/13/05):
  • Initial Release of this hack
Version 1.1 (12/17/05):
  • Added one more template edit thanks to WNxWakko
Please post your comments or suggestions for this hack. I read ALL posts.

MAKE SURE YOU CLICK INSTALL!
You will get an email when a new version is released.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	image1.JPG
Views:	2060
Size:	13.8 KB
ID:	39338  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Quick Edit! -Edit posts directly from within the thread itself EvilLS1 vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 319 02 Sep 2005 05:02
Quick Edit! -Edit posts directly from within the thread itself EvilLS1 vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 126 30 Jan 2004 06:01

  #46  
Old 27 Nov 2007, 20:09
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
I have that mod installed as well.

When I'm logged in as myself, when I mouse over the link, it shows me the proper link and takes me to the proper link.

When I log in as someone else, it doesn't show the proper link or take me to the proper link.

If I manually go to the proper link as another user, I'm able to get to it just fine.

I've just tried uninstalling and reinstalling the mod, including removing the 3 customizations to the template you have listed in the .txt file but it's just not working.

Abe - I'm willing to pay you for your time to help me figure out what I've messed up because for the life of me, I cannot figure it out.

Please let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 29 Nov 2007, 00:58
Abe1's Avatar
Abe1 Abe1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Abe
Originally Posted by RedGTiVR6 View Post
I have that mod installed as well.

When I'm logged in as myself, when I mouse over the link, it shows me the proper link and takes me to the proper link.

When I log in as someone else, it doesn't show the proper link or take me to the proper link.

If I manually go to the proper link as another user, I'm able to get to it just fine.

I've just tried uninstalling and reinstalling the mod, including removing the 3 customizations to the template you have listed in the .txt file but it's just not working.

Abe - I'm willing to pay you for your time to help me figure out what I've messed up because for the life of me, I cannot figure it out.

Please let me know.
Can you PM me your login details to an admin account?
__________________
MY HACKS -

Active Link Security 3.0.X | Add Title to Rank Images 3.5.X | Admin Log In As User 3.5.X 3.6.X | Advanced BBCode Permissions 3.5.X 3.6.X | Can't See Attachments Before Thanking a Post 3.5.X | Can't Thank and Groan the Same Post 3.5.X | Delete Post when Giving Infraction 3.6.X | Edit New Thread Button 3.5.X | External Data Provider Usergroup Permissions Setting 3.5.X | Forms Hack 3.5.X, 3.6.X | Log Logins Hack 3.5.X 3.6.X | Moderator Statistics 3.5.X | Post Award Hack 3.0.X 3.5.X | [AJAX] Post Thank You Hack 3.0.X 3.5.X 3.6.X | [AJAX] Post Groan Hack 3.5.X 3.6.X | Post Thank You Hack Stats for vBadvanced CMPS 2.x 3.5.X | Search Title only in search drop-down 3.5.X, 3.6.X | 'vBMenu' DHTML User Option 3.5.X 3.6.X | vBShout on all pages! 3.5.X
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 29 Nov 2007, 01:05
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
PM sent.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 27 Feb 2008, 19:06
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
Any word if this mod will work with 3.7?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 27 Feb 2008, 19:07
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Have you tried it?
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 27 Feb 2008, 19:28
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
If I were running 3.7 I would.

I'm trying to prepare for when we upgrade to 3.7 by finding out if my currently installed mods will work with it.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 02 Mar 2008, 18:50
Abe1's Avatar
Abe1 Abe1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Abe
Yes, it works.
__________________
MY HACKS -

Active Link Security 3.0.X | Add Title to Rank Images 3.5.X | Admin Log In As User 3.5.X 3.6.X | Advanced BBCode Permissions 3.5.X 3.6.X | Can't See Attachments Before Thanking a Post 3.5.X | Can't Thank and Groan the Same Post 3.5.X | Delete Post when Giving Infraction 3.6.X | Edit New Thread Button 3.5.X | External Data Provider Usergroup Permissions Setting 3.5.X | Forms Hack 3.5.X, 3.6.X | Log Logins Hack 3.5.X 3.6.X | Moderator Statistics 3.5.X | Post Award Hack 3.0.X 3.5.X | [AJAX] Post Thank You Hack 3.0.X 3.5.X 3.6.X | [AJAX] Post Groan Hack 3.5.X 3.6.X | Post Thank You Hack Stats for vBadvanced CMPS 2.x 3.5.X | Search Title only in search drop-down 3.5.X, 3.6.X | 'vBMenu' DHTML User Option 3.5.X 3.6.X | vBShout on all pages! 3.5.X
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06 Jun 2008, 06:40
CampinCarl CampinCarl is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
no it doesnt.
I just tested it out, and it makes the field in the admin panel, but doesnt erdirect.
If you could make it work with 3.7, that would be great!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 10 Jun 2008, 15:43
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
any updates on this?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12 Jun 2008, 13:12
Kinneas's Avatar
Kinneas Kinneas is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Steve
If you've done a significant version update you've probably reverted or edited the FORUMDISPLAY template. Re-do the edits described originally. It works fine on my 3.7.1.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 18 Jun 2008, 09:43
ionian ionian is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
It works on 3.7.1
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 03 Jul 2008, 13:55
vithorius's Avatar
vithorius vithorius is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Lightbulb

Great Hack this one!

Abe, one suggestion:


You should put some information on your Forms Hack informing users that you have this one here, as it would be a tremendous help for us non-coders and little experienced (just like myself!)


Keep on the excellent work!

Last edited by vithorius; 22 Jul 2008 at 13:40. Reason: correcting some orthographic errors
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 10 Aug 2008, 16:06
BlueBulletRL BlueBulletRL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
I have this working on 3.7.1 though I have a question. How can I make it work so that when you hit the button you have to have a minimum post count other wise you get a box saying you do not have the proper permissions? If so that would be great!
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 15 Aug 2008, 19:46
BlueBulletRL BlueBulletRL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
anyone able to help me out here please? I have tried to figure it out on my own and have so far failed.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 14 Sep 2008, 06:26
BlueBulletRL BlueBulletRL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This is what I am trying to use and so far its not working. SOMEONE HELP

Last edited by BlueBulletRL; 14 Sep 2008 at 06:33.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: