Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #46  
Old 16 Feb 2012, 13:18
Disco_Dave's Avatar
Disco_Dave Disco_Dave is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Help with forumhome

Hi

Great write up helped a lot, I've found the stylevars to be much easier to use then editing templates, as I know nothing about editing templates or css etc.

I have one last thing to do on our test site before we move, I would like to insert this image below into the forumhome on vb4 like it is on vb3 is this possible?

Regards,
Dave
Attached Images
File Type: jpg nirc1.jpg (19.1 KB, 38 views)
__________________
www.nirc.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 16 Feb 2012, 20:58
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by tricksodave View Post
Hi

Great write up helped a lot, I've found the stylevars to be much easier to use then editing templates, as I know nothing about editing templates or css etc.

I have one last thing to do on our test site before we move, I would like to insert this image below into the forumhome on vb4 like it is on vb3 is this possible?

Regards,
Dave
I'm assuming your speaking about replacing the bottom "dull" image with what's shown at the top i.e. the nicer blue with rounded corners? Of that's the case you will need to modify some templates and css to show it properly but let me know.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 16 Feb 2012, 21:25
Disco_Dave's Avatar
Disco_Dave Disco_Dave is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Hi

Thanks for the reply, I would like to add the fish logo plus the rounded corners. I couldn't get the colour to be the same for some reason using the stylevars.

Is it possible to use the original css templates for this? We have no web designer now he's gone AWOL.

Dave
__________________
www.nirc.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06 Mar 2012, 14:45
Disco_Dave's Avatar
Disco_Dave Disco_Dave is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Originally Posted by tricksodave View Post
Hi

Great write up helped a lot, I've found the stylevars to be much easier to use then editing templates, as I know nothing about editing templates or css etc.

I have one last thing to do on our test site before we move, I would like to insert this image below into the forumhome on vb4 like it is on vb3 is this possible?

Regards,
Dave
Can anyone help with this, I'd really like to get vb4 to look like our old forum. Need to learn how to put the image in on the left also.

Regards,
Dave
__________________
www.nirc.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 10 Mar 2012, 18:59
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by tricksodave View Post
Can anyone help with this, I'd really like to get vb4 to look like our old forum. Need to learn how to put the image in on the left also.

Regards,
Dave
Well you can try something simple i.e.

Edit additional.css and try something along the lines of:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

^ Rough Example and that also removes the ability to define a image background for forumhead, meaning that using this method shown above you can't specify a alternate background i.e. a Gradient image as shown in your attachment.


Another method is editing the templates themselves that contain the forumhead <div> tags i.e.

Edit forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost and find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add the code shown in blue:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now edit additional.css and add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

^ And that method allows you to still define a gradient image background on forumhead and also inserts your image (*Adjust the forumhead background/colors via the stylevars system respectively and swap out the filename home.png in the code shown and link directly to your small & cropped white fish image and call it a day!) .

Attached Images
File Type: png demoimageprefix.png (31.4 KB, 819 views)
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 10 Mar 2012, 21:41
Disco_Dave's Avatar
Disco_Dave Disco_Dave is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
First class, this should help us a lot...

Thanks for your time
Dave
__________________
www.nirc.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 28 Feb 2013, 17:13
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
As of today's date, is this article accurate to include 4.2 ?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01 Mar 2013, 23:57
tacklebox joe's Avatar
tacklebox joe tacklebox joe is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thumbs up

best post i've read so far....great job! Thank you for this informative post!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 28 Mar 2013, 03:11
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by GaryT View Post
As of today's date, is this article accurate to include 4.2 ?
It *should* be however don't hold me to that if let's say you find one discrepancy lol however if you run into something regarding 4.2 that seems different or is not covered here simply ask.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 29 Mar 2013, 01:23
tacklebox joe's Avatar
tacklebox joe tacklebox joe is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thumbs up

no probs with vb4.2.0 PL3 regarding these instructions that i've personally encountered so far
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 29 Mar 2013, 01:27
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by tacklebox joe View Post
no probs with vb4.2.0 PL3 regarding these instructions that i've personally encountered so far
Thanks for the feedback Joe .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 26 Apr 2013, 14:37
anagnam anagnam is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
hi TheLastSuperman,

I tried changing the min-height in the .doc_header of vbulletin-chrome.css but it dos not reflect the changes after saving . any idea as to why?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 05 Nov 2013, 01:26
darnstrong darnstrong is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Hey Supes,

your thread has been invaluable and I thank you HUGE for it!, I was wondering thou.. if you take a look at my forum www.autismfamilyforums.com you will notice the crowd in my header, and the space between the bottom of them... I would like to know why that is there?, and how can I get the crowd to sit on the nav bar?

Thanks in advance..

Don

PS: I am a HUGEEEE Superman fan myself... and work in comics... look me up on facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/JediColourist
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 06 Nov 2013, 05:30
darnstrong darnstrong is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
[IMG][/IMG]

Where do I change the Text colour I have circled and with happy face, I have looked everywhere and I can't seem to find where it is

Thanks

Don
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 07 Nov 2013, 04:21
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by darnstrong View Post


Where do I change the Text colour I have circled and with happy face, I have looked everywhere and I can't seem to find where it is

Thanks

Don
Well the bottom half can be easily modified via adding this to additional.css:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If we try this version to also snag the title, this is when it changes on all pages:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


It's the top half i.e. the page title that is the issue, if you modify that via css per the bottom example above it changes on all pages not simply forumhome (which we will assume you do not want to do, only make the change on forumhome naturally) so you can at this point either:

1) Modify the template and specify the css via style="css here;" example:

Edit the FORUMHOME template and find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Change to:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


OR

2) Make a plugin for this:

AdminCP > Plugins & Products > Add New Plugin

Product: vBulletin
Hook location: parse_templates
Title: Custom Style Changes
Execution Order: 5

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Change the STYLEID == 1 i.e. change the 1 to the styleid # of the style you are changing this in otherwise it will change in all styles not just the one in question you're working on .


So it's either option 1 or 2, option one means one less plugin on your site, option two is not technically css correct in a sense i.e. they say its best to use id="cssid" or class="cssclass" instead of style="css code here directly" but imho that's better than a plugin parsing/checking etc but the choice is up to you .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by TheLastSuperman; 20 Mar 2014 at 00:07.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Article
Article Author Type Replies Last Post
1923Turk DefRed Style (based on vB Default Style) staff80 vBulletin 3.6 Styles 7 21 Jan 2008 03:04



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: