Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
IFRAMEr (Free) by BOP5 - Easily create IFRAMEs in your forums to external pages Details »
IFRAMEr (Free) by BOP5 - Easily create IFRAMEs in your forums to external pages
Mod Version: 1.3.1, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (15 votes - 4.93 average) Installs: 85
Released: 19 Apr 2012 Last Update: 11 Jul 2012 Downloads: 399
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files  

Brought to you by BirdOPrey5
www.Qapla.com


Version 1.3.1

Fully compatible with VB 3.8 & 4.x versions.

This is a free version of this mod. The Gold Version is available at:
IFRAMEr Gold by BOP5 at Qapla.com

The FREE version is just like the GOLD version except limited to 3 Admin Created IFRAMEs. The GOLD version allows for unlimited IFRAME pages.
Also The GOLD version also allows for the admin to set a custom filename and URL attributes.

Live Demos:
VB4 Demos-
Photo Editor - Qapla.com Forum by BOP5 - Photo Editor
Radar Map - Qapla.com Forum by BOP5 - Radar Map

VB3 Demos-
321 Cheese - JUOT - Joe's Ultimate Off Topic - 321Cheese.com (Take your own photo)
Photo Editor - JUOT - Joe's Ultimate Off Topic - Photo Editor

About:

The IFRAME tag is a powerful tag that lets you embed any webpage in any other webpage. It is used all over in places you'd never expect like "Like Buttons" and even in vBulletin's Human Verify templates.

This mod is designed to provide the admin with one large IFRAME on a vBulletin powered page that the admin can easily assign and setup via the Admin CP.

This will allow admins to provide a familiar and local interface for external content.

PLEASE BE AWARE NOT ALL WEBSITES "ALLOW" YOU TO FRAME THEM. Please read the site's "Terms of Service" before you place their content into an IFRAME on your page. Some sites specifically forbid this, though it is mostly through the "honor system." Very few use JavaScript code that can detect them being framed and "break out" of them automatically. Still, please do your due diligence before framing anyone else's content. There a number of sites you are allowed to frame such as the photo editor in the demo links (a popular choice), usually any scientific/government sites like weather maps, forecasts, or NASA sites. Wikimedia/Wikipedia allow for framing as well.

This mod also allows you to choose if you want to link to each or any of the IFRAME pages via the "Quick Links" drop-down forum menu. However, this mod is intended to create the FRAME pages- linking to them in a better way is up to you. May I suggest a (Free) Qapla.com ExQlusive mod : Navbar Buttons Builder by BOP5 - For easy inclusion of IFRAME links in the navbar or drop-down lists.

You must give each IFRAMEr page a title, a navbits title, and an optional extended description. Each of these options may be entered directly into the IFRAMEr manager OR can instead be created as phrases to allow translation to multiple languages for multi-language sites. In the latter case you specify the "use phrases" and enter the phrase name in the settings box instead. A convenient link is included to the Phrase Manager pre-loaded to show your custom IFRAMEr phrases (if any.)

Finally the mod also allows you to choose which usergroups can see each IFRAME link and page. By default all usergroups can see each IFRAME page, but you can restrict it to specific groups or member's only (preventing guest access.)

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
Donations always appreciated.
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	iframer_acp_manager.jpg
Views:	660
Size:	140.3 KB
ID:	137898   Click image for larger version

Name:	iframer_acp_settings.jpg
Views:	543
Size:	93.2 KB
ID:	137899   Click image for larger version

Name:	iframer_vb4_frame1.jpg
Views:	1152
Size:	116.6 KB
ID:	137900   Click image for larger version

Name:	iframer_vb4_links.jpg
Views:	915
Size:	138.1 KB
ID:	137901  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 13 May 2012, 02:33
CaneInsider CaneInsider is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Is there a way to auto size the site you are trying to view so it fits in the frame? Mainly I am seeing that a site I want to use is creating a horizontal scroll bar although I have the Width of IFRAME set to 100%
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 13 May 2012, 13:14
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Cane,

If you have width set to 100% and still size the horizontal scrollbar it means that the page you have in the iframe is natively wider than the available width you have on your page.

It is likely someone with a higher resolution screen won't see the scrollbar.

You could try using a set width instead of a percentage but quite frankly it will look ugly and possibly put a horizontal scrollbar on your site instead.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02 Jun 2012, 05:07
ProFifaLeagues's Avatar
ProFifaLeagues ProFifaLeagues is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Rob
Will This work on 4.2 Joe???

Handy mod to have
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02 Jun 2012, 11:22
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
It will work aside from the quick links- You can use the nav manager to make your own links now.

I have a fix for the Quick Links too, just haven't put it into this free version yet since it didn't seem necessary with the new nav manager.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 13 Jun 2012, 19:10
Mr_Running Mr_Running is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Fantastic
May we have an option to change the
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to a different name.

Example

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 14 Jun 2012, 11:29
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by Mr_Running View Post
Fantastic
May we have an option to change the
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to a different name.

Example

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
That is already an option but only in the Gold version.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 04 Jul 2012, 17:18
victorvu victorvu is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Hi BOP5:

I just purchased the GOLD and have a few questions on this IFRAME. Using it with Forum, I have no issue, but using with Blog and CMS I am confusing on this. Show me how to use IFRAME with CMS and BLOG. Thanks.

Victor
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 04 Jul 2012, 17:28
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
If you mean you need to create a link to the IFRAME pages from the CMS or the Blog then you will need to create those links yourself in the Navigation Manager in Admin CP.

Are you using vBulletin 4.2.0?
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 04 Jul 2012, 18:24
victorvu victorvu is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
If you mean you need to create a link to the IFRAME pages from the CMS or the Blog then you will need to create those links yourself in the Navigation Manager in Admin CP.

Are you using vBulletin 4.2.0?
BOP5:

Yes. I installed 4.2.

Give me the example of the links to CMS and Blog. Thanks.

Victor
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 04 Jul 2012, 19:49
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
To add a direct link-

Go to Admin CP -> Settings -> Navigation Manager -> click on the drop down menu for Blogs (Add Link)

Now fill it out like this...



From the Product list choose "IFRAMER" mod.

Give it a title

The Target URL will look something like what is there... you can get it by going to actual iframer page in your browser and copying the last part of the URL.

Save it and the link will appear along with the other links on the sub-bar.


If you prefer to make a drop down menu with multiple links then start by going to Go to Admin CP -> Settings -> Navigation Manager -> click on the drop down menu for Blogs (Add Menu)

Create a menu...

Then go to Navigation Manager -> click on the drop down menu for the new menu (Add Link)

And then follow the same instructions as above to add links to the menu.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg iframer-nav-link1.jpg (37.7 KB, 144 views)
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 11 Jul 2012, 21:12
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Minor update to 1.3.1- A fix was added in case you accidentally add HTML into the URL field- previously the HTML entered would likely corrupt the IFRAMEr Manger page display in admin cp.

The only file actually changed is the bop5_iframer.php file in the /admincp/ directory. No need to re-install if you don't want to.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 12 Jul 2012, 10:15
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
Minor update to 1.3.1- A fix was added in case you accidentally add HTML into the URL field- previously the HTML entered would likely corrupt the IFRAMEr Manger page display in admin cp.

The only file actually changed is the bop5_iframer.php file in the /admincp/ directory. No need to re-install if you don't want to.
With the paid Gold version, do we need to update as well?

Also, any luck with fixing IE9 display issues?

Thanks for your work... excellent products ...

Regards,
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12 Jul 2012, 11:51
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by BadgerDog View Post
With the paid Gold version, do we need to update as well?

Also, any luck with fixing IE9 display issues?

Thanks for your work... excellent products ...

Regards,
Doug
1) No one NEEDS to upgrade but yes the Gold version was also updated. I suggest people subscribe to the thread on Qapla.com to stay informed about updates.

2) What IE9 display issue? I don't see any mention of IE9 before your post in this thread?
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 12 Jul 2012, 11:59
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
2) What IE9 display issue? I don't see any mention of IE9 before your post in this thread?
We've been exchanging emails on the problem we've been experiencing with the "paid" version? I sent a follow up yesterday?

You tested it and verified there's an issue with IE9 in reference to the drop down box and the small "carrot" symbol overflowing into the next line? You were busy in the last few months and indicated you would have a look and address it as soon as you had more time.

Thanks...

Regards,
Doug

Edit: Sorry... doh!! I got confused with the NavBar Button drop down mod which we have a paid version of... doh !!!

Ignore my comments .... Give me a coffee break and you have to retrain me ...

Last edited by BadgerDog; 12 Jul 2012 at 12:04.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 12 Jul 2012, 19:11
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Badger- yes it's the navbar buttons mod but that is a free mod, there is no paid version of it. But yes I am aware of that issue and will continue to work on it.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: