Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 22 Nov 2016, 23:43
XYZ500 XYZ500 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
HTTP 500 error when trying to create new thread

Moved to a new VPS.
Everything else seems to be working fine. Whenever I try to post a new thread, it gives HTTP error 500 on Chrome. On Firefox, it just displays a blank (white) page.

On Chrome, the error is:
The website.com page isn't working
website.com is currently unable to handle this request.
HTTP ERROR 500

When I try to reply to a thread from 'Go Advanced' option. Same error. However, the 'quick reply' option is working.

The host says they cannot help with this (can't diagnose the problem) as this is not covered by the support. Until I can tell them what exactly is wrong in the VPS.

What is causing this? And how to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23 Nov 2016, 00:19
Dave Dave is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Take a look at the PHP or Apache/nginx error logs (somewhere in /var/logs on the server), that will tell you exactly why it's causing the 500 internal server error.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23 Nov 2016, 00:29
XYZ500 XYZ500 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Take a look at the PHP or Apache/nginx error logs (somewhere in /var/logs on the server), that will tell you exactly why it's causing the 500 internal server error.
Thank you. Can you tell me in a little bit more detail what exactly I should be looking for in the logs directory?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23 Nov 2016, 00:34
DivisionByZero's Avatar
DivisionByZero DivisionByZero is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Chris
the reason text of the error.
__________________
Professional vB development since 2002.
References & Praise: 1|2|3|4|5|6|7|8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23 Nov 2016, 00:40
XYZ500 XYZ500 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Take a look at the PHP or Apache/nginx error logs (somewhere in /var/logs on the server), that will tell you exactly why it's causing the 500 internal server error.
Found two error log files in /var/log/httpd.
No file that contains the word 'error' found in /var/log/

The two files found in /var/log/httpd are named "error_log" and "error_log-20161121". I downloaded them. Changed the extension to .txt so I could open them. They have the following text in them.

error_log file:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

error_log-20161121 file:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I purchased the server on November 20th 2016 so any errors dated before that can be ignored I guess. After looking at these logs, can you tell me what exactly is wrong so I can tell my host to fix it?

P.S. I crossed out some IPs as this is a public forum.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23 Nov 2016, 00:42
DivisionByZero's Avatar
DivisionByZero DivisionByZero is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Chris
ok so what's the timestamp closest to when you encountered the error?
__________________
Professional vB development since 2002.
References & Praise: 1|2|3|4|5|6|7|8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23 Nov 2016, 00:51
XYZ500 XYZ500 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Originally Posted by DivisionByZero View Post
ok so what's the timestamp closest to when you encountered the error?
I am not sure what time zone the server is using. But I encountered this error 10 minutes before I created this thread. So you can say I encountered this error at 12:30 PM Melbourne time. I really can't tell you what the closest time of the server would be. But I think you can assume that the server is in CST time zone as the host operates in CST time zone as well.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23 Nov 2016, 00:58
Dave Dave is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Do you use some kind of control panel to manage your server? Maybe there's a PHP error log viewer somewhere.
The log files you pasted here don't really contain anything related to your error.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23 Nov 2016, 01:10
XYZ500 XYZ500 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Do you use some kind of control panel to manage your server? Maybe there's a PHP error log viewer somewhere.
The log files you pasted here don't really contain anything related to your error.
zPanel is used on the server.

I just created a new user account and tried creating a thread. This account is being able to create threads without any problem. But at the same time, the admin account is giving the error I mentioned. Seems like this error is exclusive to the admin account. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23 Nov 2016, 14:09
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Enable debug more and then try, see if any error is displayed.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23 Nov 2016, 20:26
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
What version of vBulletin is installed? What version of PHP and MySQL are on the server? Do you have suhosin or mod_security enabled (you will probably need to ask your host this question)?

Also, if only the admin account is having the problem, try disabling your modifications/plugins and see if you still have this problem.
Note: To temporarily disable the plugin system, edit includes/config.php and add this line right under <?php


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25 Nov 2016, 21:03
XYZ500 XYZ500 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Now its working. All of a sudden today its working. I didn't do anything, didn't make any changes. Isn't it weird?
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:41.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: