Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Advertisement System V2.6 Aka Ad Management Details »
Advertisement System V2.6 Aka Ad Management
Mod Version: 2.6, by karim004 (Member) karim004 is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2009 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (58 votes - 4.36 average) Installs: 797
Released: 13 May 2008 Last Update: 15 Oct 2008 Downloads: 6008
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Additional Files Translations  

Many forums are using the Ad management system, however the coder has stopped supporting the script. Therefore I have decided to release this modification. I will give support to those who need it and continue to make updates to the system.

====>> Live Demo
The Advertisement System was designed with the intent that anyone with any level of experience could use the system. It is easy to install and once installed, the templates are easy to use on a site. The advertisement system has several features that sites will enjoy such as it can be used on versions 3.6.x as well as 3.7.x. The ads can be placed in the following areas: header , footer , below whats going on, below the navbar , postbit , postbit legacy, pms, announcement, archive, left & right column in forum home , left column in member info and full page , threadbit , as well as forumbit. Also, the ability to not display advertisement on certain pages such as login, registration & the search page. This system allows you to personalize the system to better suit their needs such as setting permissions like ads after first post on a page, ads after last post on a page, ads after X post on a page, and ads every X posts on a thread. You may also display ads by forum ID, as well as customize the full page for your site. The system comes with a feature for auto refresh ads as well as Google analytics. Besides the features,there is constant support given to those who need it and of course, updates are made to the system in order to better serve the sites using the system.

10/15/2008 version 2.6

** ability to tun on /off the autorefresh : check the screen below

Yes : will enable the autorefresh
No : will enable a simple rotation
** fixed 2 bugs in [left & right column ]
*******************




Features :
* works for v3.7.x and also v3.6.x
*advertisement in header , footer , below whats going on ? , below the navbar , postbit , postbit_legacy , pms , announcement , archive , left & right column in forumhome , left column in memberinfo and full page , threadbit , forumbit
* flash rotation
* do not display advertisement on certain pages Such as login , register & search
* google analytics
* permissions by area : display advertisement or not for usergroup x in :
... area 1 : header , footer
... area 2 : navbar , left & right column
... area 3 : forumbit & threadbit
... area 4 : postbit,postbit legacy , pms & announcement
* for postbit & postbit_legacy you have the ability to set more permissions like :
.... ad after first post on a page
.... ad after last post on a page
.... ad after X post on a page
.... ad every X posts on a thread
.... Minimum thread postcount
.... Maximum user postcount
..... Display Advertisements as User
*** Full Page
****Auto refresh ads
Please remember to click Mark as Installed if you use this modification.
Support questions from members who have not marked this as installed will be considered low priority.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	postbit.jpg
Views:	5720
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	80540   Click image for larger version

Name:	footer1-2.jpg
Views:	4703
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	80541   Click image for larger version

Name:	header-navbar.jpg
Views:	4464
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	80542   Click image for larger version

Name:	full.jpg
Views:	4575
Size:	43.9 KB
ID:	80773  

Click image for larger version

Name:	11.jpg
Views:	3263
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	80874   Click image for larger version

Name:	22.jpg
Views:	2602
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	80875   Click image for larger version

Name:	archive.jpg
Views:	2015
Size:	14.9 KB
ID:	80876   Click image for larger version

Name:	33.jpg
Views:	2155
Size:	61.7 KB
ID:	80877  

Click image for larger version

Name:	aut1.JPG
Views:	7418
Size:	80.4 KB
ID:	88173  

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #46  
Old 18 May 2008, 09:27
D.Baker D.Baker is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Hey Karim004,
Thanks for the help, I have it working now. I have a suggestion, although I think you are already working on it judging by your last post, but here it is anyway.

You could simply get rid of the different type of ad (eg. Adsense, Amazon etc) and just have the one box that allows you to put in any code. Allow the end user to specify a code separator (eg. ***CODE***) that allows your plugin to determine which code to use when displaying random banners. I would imagine this would be much easy to code for you, rather than having to cater to all these different ad types.

This is exactly what the plug in "Who Sees Ads" for Wordpress does, and it won awards. This would make the whole thing much more intuitive and allow complete control for ads. If you need some more information about Who Sees Ads, I am using it on my Wordpress Install and can help.

Otherwise, this seems to be the best for vBulletin and we should all be thanking you for your hard work.

Last edited by D.Baker; 18 May 2008 at 10:40. Reason: Clarification
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 18 May 2008, 09:43
redlabour's Avatar
redlabour redlabour is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: André
Ok thanks for your Work - and my last Request since all others are in progress - please don´t forget the Archive Ads.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 18 May 2008, 14:17
karim004's Avatar
karim004 karim004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Real name: TZ(Branden)
05/18/2008 Version 2.1
*******************

1= rotation work now for both banner (image+link ) and other scripts like google adsense , amazon
2= now you can use your Your html Codes Sperated By Commas ,
example :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

3 = Ads in archive
4 = Permission / section :
you can disable or enable the ads for a usergroups in each section : header , postbit , navbar , footer , forumdisplay
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 18 May 2008, 14:30
megawelle megawelle is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
hey man,

great mod! i also would love to see a Google Adsense Revenue sharing option.

thanks for your work!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 18 May 2008, 14:37
D.Baker D.Baker is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Hello Karim004,
Thanks for the update, its a big step forward. However, using a comma as a code separator will conflict with any type of flash banner a user would like to embed, as flash embed codes generally have commas in them.

For example, this is the code I have setup in Who Sees Ads, I thought it might help to show you what an end user like me is trying to do:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

As you can see, the first banner in the set is a plain JPEG with some Google Analytics tracking code, the second and third banners are Flash banners embedded using the swfobject.js embed method. As you can see from my code, using a comma will not separate the banners correctly. May I suggest you use a unique code separator instead of a comma (ideally this could be changed by the user) such as ***CODE*** or ***ROTATE***, that way a user could use your plugin to embed anything, even non ads!

And, doing it this way would mean the user could specify his own DIVs and CSS, thus removing the need to edit templates to center ads, or anything like that. As the users is placing their own DIVS, it would also allow ads to be embedded that are different sizes, so you wouldn't need the global size setting anymore. How awesome would that be!?

Thanks again and keep up the good work.

Last edited by D.Baker; 18 May 2008 at 14:48. Reason: Added link. Spelling. Added bit about CSS and DIV advantages.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 18 May 2008, 14:54
karim004's Avatar
karim004 karim004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Real name: TZ(Branden)
Originally Posted by D.Baker View Post
Hello Karim004,
Thanks for the update, its a big step forward. However, using a comma as a code separator will conflict with any type of flash banner a user would like to embed, as flash embed codes generally have commas in them.

For example, this is the code I have setup in Who Sees Ads, I thought it might help to show you what an end user like me is trying to do:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

As you can see, the first banner in the set is a plain JPEG with some Google Analytics tracking code, the second and third banners are Flash banners embedded using the swfobject.js embed method. As you can see from my code, using a comma will not separate the banners correctly. May I suggest you use a unique code separator instead of a comma (ideally this could be changed by the user) such as ***CODE*** or ***ROTATE***, that way a user could use your plugin to embed anything, even non ads!

And, doing it this way would mean the user could specify his own DIVs and CSS, thus removing the need to edit templates to center ads, or anything like that. As the users is placing their own DIVS, it would also allow ads to be embedded that are different sizes, so you wouldn't need the global size setting anymore. How awesome would that be!?

Thanks again and keep up the good work.
thank you D.Baker
let me see check if i can let users select a separator from the admincp
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 18 May 2008, 15:05
redlabour's Avatar
redlabour redlabour is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: André
Lightbulb Attention - don´t Upgrade!!!

Ehmmm...

before anyone Upgrades some Warnings to the Developer:


1. Where is the Feature Full-Page-Ad' after X Posts' gone?

2. And you write : "05/18/2008 Version 2.1" in the FirstPost - but it is only 2.0 ?

3. Archive-Ads still completely missing in AdminCP and in Forum.

4. You did mistakes in the AdminCP Descriptions:

Enable footer advertisements your forum?

footer end advertisement code

Enable footer start advertisements your forum?

footer end advertisement code
5. BTW - you forget Ads after X-Post in Postbit in your Description of Product here in the first Post but it still works.

6. My Random Code is deleted after Upgrading??

7. You entered absolutely useless Usergroups as Default in AdminCP Options.


Last edited by redlabour; 18 May 2008 at 15:15.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 18 May 2008, 15:20
karim004's Avatar
karim004 karim004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Real name: TZ(Branden)
Originally Posted by redlabour View Post
Ehmmm...

before i install/update:

1. Where is the Feature Full-Page-Ad' after X Posts' gone?

2. And you write : "05/18/2008 Version 2.1" in the FirstPost - but it is only 2.0 ?

3. Archive-Ads still completely missing in AdminCP and in Forum.

4. You did mistakes in the AdminCP Descriptions:



5. BTW - you forget Ads after X-Post in Postbit in your Description of Product here in the first Post but it still works.

???????????
redlabour i told you yesterday i am still testing the x post in full page !
for the version it s just a mistake typo ((thx )) !
for archive (( works with header & footer )) next version i am gotta add a option to turn it on or off !

and dont forgot it s just a free script i cant get millions features in 4 days come on !
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 18 May 2008, 15:23
redlabour's Avatar
redlabour redlabour is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: André
Originally Posted by karim004 View Post
for the version it s just a mistake typo ((thx )) !
There are a lot of Typo-Errors in the first Post.

installation :
you know in vb3.7 we already have a templates group for advertisement we gotta use them in this mod and make things easy for you because you dont have to edit any template just import the product go to admincp , vBulletin Options , Advertisement System and click yes to Enable advertisements on your forum?
and so on ......

Originally Posted by karim004 View Post
for archive (( works with header & footer )) next version i am gotta add a option to turn it on or off !
Ehmmm... nobody wants the same Ads in Archive as in the Forum.

GoogleAdSense and Amazon have different Codes for only Text. We need a complete own Ads in Archivefunction.


Ok - and what about the Points :

5 + 6 + 7

And sorry for my Post above - but you have told us yesterday that the lost Features will be in this next Update - sorry but this is irritating.

So in my Eyes it is 1.3 and not 2.0.

BTW - you can hit the Button for "Beta-Testing" in your First Post.

Last edited by redlabour; 18 May 2008 at 15:32.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 18 May 2008, 15:38
redlabour's Avatar
redlabour redlabour is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: André
Another Couples of Bugs:

Footer Start Ads are not centered. Footer End Ads are!
And before you forget it - in AdminCp you named both "Footer End".

Ads in Postbit are broken - not longer centered and at the End after Banner there is a readable Code :


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Clickend uninstall now and cleared MOTM Nomination. Sorry - but this Hack is Crap at this Time and not Version 2.0 - maybe Version 1.0 RC2. And i am very sorry to say that i think you are not knowing what you are doing.

I go back to vBAdManagement 4 since there is a working Ad-Product for 3.7 from anyone because the Core Functions are well working with 3.7!

Last edited by redlabour; 18 May 2008 at 15:44.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 18 May 2008, 15:41
karim004's Avatar
karim004 karim004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Real name: TZ(Branden)
Originally Posted by redlabour View Post
There are a lot of Typo-Errors in the first Post.





and so on ......



Ehmmm... nobody wants the same Ads in Archive as in the Forum.

GoogleAdSense and Amazon have different Codes for only Text. We need a complete own Ads in Archivefunction.


Ok - and what about the Points :

5 + 6 + 7

And sorry for my Post above - but you have told us yesterday that the lost Features will be in this next Update - sorry but this is irritating.

So in my Eyes it is 1.3 and not 2.0.

BTW - you can hit the Button for "Beta-Testing" in your First Post.
for ads in archive i said i gotta add the option in next update

for group 5 , 6, 7 come on man it s just a default usergroup to show the newbies how the option work you can enter your usergroup id you want enable or disable the ads for them so what s wrong with that ?

for the version i updated the mod in my forum test till i get v2 and relase it if you have prb with this i can change it for you !

a question :
did you find any prb (( not typo )) i am saying prb in this mod ?

anyway i am fixing the typo errors (thanks )) and it s not a big deal if you center the code in your footer
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 18 May 2008, 15:46
Chance4Today Chance4Today is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Real name: Vic
I put the code in as described by you and still nothing shows up am I missing something? I really would like to get a rotating banner on my sites

thanks
__________________
Just keep moving forward and don't look back
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 18 May 2008, 15:57
exetel exetel is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
karim004,

I've notice with the slideshow that there is a white box, i know this might be a dumb question however is there away to make the white box the same colour of the rest of the forum background?

Awesome script by the way

Regards

Cheyne
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 18 May 2008, 15:58
D.Baker D.Baker is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Hey Karim004,
Your doing good work, don't stress. If people want special requests, then I'm sure somebody over here could help, otherwise take your time and thanks again for the help. Don't forget, this is the best ad manager for 3.7 at the moment, so you're holding all the cards. Not to mention, that by the very nature of this plugin it helps people earn money, so it annoys me to see people getting on your case about it when your doing this for free.

Anyway, back to the plugin. Like I said above, if you just removed all alignment code, and let the users do this through DIVs and CSS, then it saves you the work of coding this. I removed the center code from your "header end" templates, but I think in the future you should just leave it up to the end user.

For an example (just so you know how I am using this & it might helps n00bs) I added this CSS to my style:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And my ad code is like this (as I can't ad the flash ones in yet due to commas):


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Another idea for the future, to be able to have different ads display depending on which Forum/Child forum you're in. This would let users have more targeted ads, which is just good strategy.

Keep it up,
D.Baker
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 18 May 2008, 16:06
LukaB LukaB is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chaps,

I appear to have it all working except, and I'm a little confused about this, but shouldn't I be able to have say, one ad (486x60) in the postbit part and have it rotate into other ads. Basically I'm trying to figure out how one would rotate several ads. No matter what I've tried the ads don't appear to rotae. Could anyone post a bit of code here showing how to rotate for the postbit part of it.

Much obliged
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: