Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
United-Forum Nivo Slider Widget Details »
United-Forum Nivo Slider Widget
Mod Version: 1.1.0, by Mooff (Member) Mooff is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.4 Rating: (19 votes - 4.89 average) Installs: 145
Released: 18 Jul 2011 Last Update: 19 Jul 2011 Downloads: 1274
Not Supported Additional Files  

Based on the Nivo Slider - all credit for slider awesomeness goes to them.
vB4 implementation goes to me.


What it is:
A slider for cms articles, it gets the articles via database, uses (if possible) the previewimage there and resizes it to slider size *update 1.1.0 cropping function included.

Livedemo on a Big Board (>2.000.000 posts)
the nivo slider on our site is customized to fit our heavily customized cms. Default look of this addon is shown in the picture below


facts about the nivo slider
Originally Posted by nivo slider homepage
- ~ 600.000 downloads
- 16 transition effects
- a ton of options
- different available themes
- ...
Installation
  • upload all files (attached zip file) in the folder where you do need them - this has to be the same folder you will set via $slider_img_filepath (see picture)


  • create a new php-widget and insert the following code:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  • set refresh time to something big!
  • save - add the widget to your layout - enjoy


Custom settings:

At the top of the php-widget code you can see the following:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you change $maxwidth and $maxheight you need to edit the nivo-slider_uf_theme.css file, here:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Width and height have to be the same value in your php-widget and in the css file.

In additon to these settings i also included a "value/relevance function". Meaning the slider doesn't show your latest 5 articles, but instead weights them based on age and comments.

As older an article is the less likely it will show up in the slider.
More comments make it more likely.

This behaviour can be easily changed. I didn't include an if condition cause every board has different needs and i don't know whats best for you.
In addition conditions like "articles just from this section - or these sections, or this category, with a minimum of 10 posts" can be included via one single if condition. Again, i don't know what your board needs or what your category names are.

You can also modify the preview length (more words, less words), the preview style (color fontsize, fontweight .... Again different forums different needs. It's highly customizable.
Support:

Support and requests for the slider itself should be asked here http://nivo.dev7studios.com/
Same goes for different slider themes - a lot is possible, even thumbnails - again this is part of the nivo slider and not the vb4 implementation.

If you have any questions regarding the settings - or want different settings (which have to do with vb4) - ask, and i'll try to come up with some code // show you where you have to put what.


Slider not working. No idea why?

You will find a FAQ in the first comment, which will be kept up to date:
FAQ


The widget here is completely free. No charge, no branding.
But, we do not mind donations either. If you want to give us something. Since we are advertising free and fan based we are happy about every small donation.
( On Forumhome bottom right paypal button: http://www.united-forum.de/forum.php )



That's all
Hope it works for you.
Regards Mooff

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	install.jpg
Views:	12983
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	131195   Click image for larger version

Name:	uf_nivo_slider_promo.jpg
Views:	13448
Size:	119.2 KB
ID:	131394  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vBulletin CMS Widgets Slider Widget s3slider CrazyProgrammer vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 56 20 Aug 2015 19:00
vBulletin CMS Widgets [WIDGET] Slider cory_booth vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 318 11 Jun 2013 11:29

  #121  
Old 10 Aug 2011, 23:58
Sm1th146 Sm1th146 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Hmm I'm still having problems. I changed the file folder to the one of my personal computer but not everything is completed. Only 2 articles show up on the slider even though on the custom settings it is set for more and I read this message with the debug on...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 11 Aug 2011, 00:00
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
We are using the following modifikation:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=230417

All our articles are forum threads and comments show up in both the thread and the article.
(In my opinion that should be a basic vbcms function, but isn't)

Anyway. That does work very well for us.


The slider doesn't pick a random picture, it does use the article previewpicture which is selected by the vbcms system (which can be a http-picture or an attachment).


If it doesn't show images from your articles something is wrong. Please follow the steps in the faq. And yes, that thumbnail view in your slider link is possible with the nivo slider.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 11 Aug 2011, 00:05
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
@Sm1th146

please use the newest version, it has more debug.

In default mode the slider uses only articles which are not older than 40 days. Could that be a problem? That could be easily changed.
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 11 Aug 2011, 00:49
Sm1th146 Sm1th146 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I just re-installed the newest version and still running into a similar problem. The articles are with in the last 2 weeks so that isn't a problem. Here is the error I am receiving...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 11 Aug 2011, 00:53
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Debug shows that you have 4 articles within the last 40 days.
Out of those 4 articles 2 have a previewimage. And since you set 'show_articles_without_image' to false it does show the two articles which do have a previewimage and not the other 2.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 11 Aug 2011, 01:45
andycaps andycaps is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Originally Posted by Mooff View Post
The slider does use the pictures which vb4 stores in the databasefield "previewpicture" and resizes them. You do not need to manually add images except 1.
You need a fallback image if your article does not have a previewimage (or something goes wrong during resizing), then the fallback is shown.
Hi - I still cannot get the slider to show my images, the fall back image displayed no problem - any ideas?
thanks
Andy
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 11 Aug 2011, 02:07
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Please go through the faq in post two and see if that does help.

If it doesn't please post the debug (last faq question).

Regards Mooff
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 11 Aug 2011, 02:11
andycaps andycaps is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Hi - I do not get any error messages, just my fall back image. I have gone through FAQ and everything appears to be set correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 11 Aug 2011, 11:12
tintin74 tintin74 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Great MOD! Thank you!

I've tried to develop a module for Vbadvanced CMPS but with no luck. I'm not a programmer. Does anyone could build this for us?

I think it's not so difficult for people with programming experience.

After building this I get this error:

Class 'vb_Types' not found


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



Thank You
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 11 Aug 2011, 13:11
croft croft is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Ulric Spaak
I dont have an error per say but it shows up all wrong.
Check the image.

__________________
Dark Angel Battalion
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 11 Aug 2011, 13:20
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I received a question via private message about slider timings. Since that might interest other site owners aswell.

How do I slow down the image timings, at the moment its a bit fast?

Answer:
That is a setting for the nivo slider: http://nivo.dev7studios.com/#usage
There you can see what you can change. I'll give an example for the timings.

Search:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This changes the pause Time between slides from 3 seconds to 6 seconds.


@croft
please go through the faq and post the debug you get (last question) if the other questions do not help.
It does look like a combination of a jquery (either to many jquery files or old jquery version or no jquery at all) issue and some problems with saving the resized image to file. Debug will help with the last one. If you can't find the jquery problem a link to the site where the slider is implemented would help.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 12 Aug 2011, 01:47
CharlieDelta CharlieDelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Hi Mooff. I have this installed and looks good. I have one problem the link to the article when clicked takes me to my index page. When you hover over the link it shows the proper URL however.

Last edited by CharlieDelta; 12 Aug 2011 at 16:04.
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 12 Aug 2011, 17:24
CharlieDelta CharlieDelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Originally Posted by CharlieDelta View Post
Hi Mooff. I have this installed and looks good. I have one problem the link to the article when clicked takes me to my index page. When you hover over the link it shows the proper URL however.
I ran a debug and there were no errors.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 12 Aug 2011, 17:52
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Hi,

i need a live demo of that redirect bug. Doublecheck if the hover urls really are correct. If they are i can't think of a reason why it shouldn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 12 Aug 2011, 18:47
CharlieDelta CharlieDelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Originally Posted by Mooff View Post
Hi,

i need a live demo of that redirect bug. Doublecheck if the hover urls really are correct. If they are i can't think of a reason why it shouldn't work.
www.canadianriflesregiment.com. Bottom of content.php page.

I just checked the hover URL's and they are correct.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:31.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: