Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Move and or Rename config.php Details »
Move and or Rename config.php
Mod Version: 1.0.1, by Protoman (Member) Protoman is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.x Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 11
Released: 07 Nov 2005 Last Update: 18 Apr 2006 Downloads: 50
Not Supported Code Changes  

What does this do?
This mod allows you to move your config.php file for added security.

Version Compatibility
3.5.4+, 3.6.0 Gold+


4/18/2006 - 1.0.1 update
fixes for file changes in the newest version of diagnostic.php, no other changes

I take no credit for this mod by Zachery and have ported it with permission.
vb 3.0.x version here

file edits:2


Originally Posted by Zachery
Downsides?

At the moment, during the install / upgrade sequence you will need to move config.php back.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Move and or Rename config.php Zachery vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 10 25 Apr 2008 08:55

Comments
  #2  
Old 07 Nov 2005, 03:15
Cole2026 Cole2026 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Cole
I don't know why you would want to do this, as long as you have the config file's permissions decently set, there is no need for this. I mean, I would do this if I could without file edits, but doing all those edits is not worth my while.

:\
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07 Dec 2005, 15:55
o1dirtydog o1dirtydog is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
i think this is a great idea... anything to stump someone trying to hack your web site.

thanx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07 Dec 2005, 17:51
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
If your webserver is setup correct, nobody can download (or alter) and .php file. So i also don't really see the use of this.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08 Feb 2006, 13:54
dead7 dead7 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Well for those who might not know if its setup correctly, or even shared hosts, this seems like a fairly sane thing to add a bit more assurance.... Fair enough everyone?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08 Feb 2006, 17:58
Watson's Avatar
Watson Watson is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
dont blame proto, blame Zach, he made it 1st
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23 Mar 2006, 18:15
Hoojie Hoojie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
So . . . for those people who think this is overkill . . . why don't you list the steps a novice Unix/Linux board owner should take to ensure that the config.php (containing the DB name, DB user name, Password) cannot be ripped by a hacker?

Or point to a post that details the nuts and bolts.

As for me, I keep all my sensitive stuff behind the scenes as a matter of course.
Most tools, like automated backup scripts for example, enable you to reference your settings away from the publicy accessible areas.

Who the heck knows when some warped genius will publish/sell techniques that invalidate access settings that we currently set up via chmod.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29 Jun 2006, 17:14
futuredood futuredood is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
this only takes 2 file edits.. shall do
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30 Jun 2006, 07:00
almqdad's Avatar
almqdad almqdad is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Hello

what happens during upgrade do I have to move back config.php

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30 Jun 2006, 17:25
Protoman's Avatar
Protoman Protoman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
yes, you need to move back the config.php to includes. then after you've upgraded, completed the file edit, you can move it back to wherever
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30 Jun 2006, 17:55
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Anton Kanevsky
How exactly does this contribute to security? If your server is correctly configured then noone would have access to the file anyway.
__________________
I can no longer support any of my hacks. Please do not contact me for that. Feel free to create and post new versions of my hacks, as long as you give me credit for the original work.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30 Jun 2006, 21:16
Protoman's Avatar
Protoman Protoman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
exactly. and when they decide to upgrade your server and php wont start for some BS reason it just spits out the source code of any files, which has happened to me before.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30 Jun 2006, 21:18
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Anton Kanevsky
Well, in that case, it would still be possible to identify where config.php is located, just by looking at the source. The only solution is to change the host.
__________________
I can no longer support any of my hacks. Please do not contact me for that. Feel free to create and post new versions of my hacks, as long as you give me credit for the original work.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01 Jul 2006, 16:31
raramomo raramomo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
hello thank you very much I just try it but there are some errors


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01 Jul 2006, 17:38
Protoman's Avatar
Protoman Protoman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
CWD would only be useful if you are renaming the config.php and not moving it. otherwise CWD would cause errors because you're calling the file from outside the current directory.

you can add the CWD if you want to keep the /file/path shorter, but if outside of /includes/ it will cause problems.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:52.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: