Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down Menu System Details »
UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down Menu System
Mod Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive (Designer) UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.0 Rating: (14 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 154
Released: 29 Jan 2009 Last Update: 23 Feb 2009 Downloads: 1899
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down Menu System

You wanted Drop down Menu's that were easy to install and edit, Well now you've got it

Live Demo

http://www.aboxcafe.com/index.php

http://www.wheelsbd.com/

Compatible with almost ALL Browsers.

Hi Guys, i've had so many messages about My "Easy Menu Tabs" and when was i going to do Dropdown Tabs, Well i've listened and now i can happily add UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down menu's to our list of modifications.

This is just so easy to edit and install, as long as you feel confident with a few simple edits and uploading a graphics file to your images directory or even your photobucket account, if you don't want to mess about uploading to your server.

UKBL ~ Quality Drop Downs sit quite happily on top of your forums accessable from all pages of the forum



They look like any bog standard Menu Nav bar but when you hover the mouse over it you'll see the dropdowns, I've uploaded a test version to my forum, Take a look for yourselves http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum

I've left the Top White Easy Men Bar in place also so you can compare both of them.

When you go over the menu bar the dropdowns should appear like in the picture below



See how the chosen links are highlighted

So now we come to the installation stage.

Download the dropdown.zip file below and open the VBOrg_Menu.txt file in notepad or any other text editor, as we need to edit a few files.

The first one we need to edit is the url of our Graphic File, So to cut a long story short we'll upload our graphic file to our Photobucket account, or any other account or image directory on your server, So firstly find


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and this is the line we need to edit, so that it gives us a nice gradiant blue acdcross the menu bar


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Just replace the url within the brackets ( ) and thats it

Then we go and do the menu edits, You don't want your members click on your forum menu and ending up on my site So what we need to do now is change the menu links for yours, It take about 15 min's but its not hard to do, so lets do it.....

First find where our menu starts, This will be right at the bottom of the code, The HTML part of this and the first bit we need to change starts from here...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Basically each tab is made up of a block like what you see above, You have the Main Tab Description which looks like this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and you have all the sub links underneath and they look like this...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and its this one which we need to edit, basically if you want to keep the same link, all you need to do is to chasnge my url http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum to your forums URL, and thats it, your link should work for your site.

If you want to change the link altogether and put your own, then replace the full URL with one that you want and don't forget to edit the end part "Edit Avatar" as that is the title thats shown on the dropdown.

When you've finished all your editing, we need to upload this whole code to your Header Template of the Style that your Currantly using on your forum, So once you've saved your edited code, Just copy and paste directly to your Header, Go right to the end and click paste, save the template and thats it, The Graphic File which you need to upload to your server or image host is also in the zip file.

So easy and a great improvement to any VBulletin Forum

This is a Freebie for all you members on VB.org with my compliments

If anyone wants any custom menus made, Just PM me I'll help where i can, Just bear in mind a menu like this takes a good couple of hours or so, so a donation is more than welcomed

Oh almost Forgot guys,

If you like it, Please Click on Installed, as this really does motivate me to improving these hacks

UPDATE 09.02.09

Uploaded a New Zip File, Black Menu.Zip This is the same as this original except that its black for darker Websites and Forums, Instructions are the same as above, and comes complete with customised Graphics which will need to be uploaded to your /images/ directory.



UPDATE 23.02.09

For some of you Admins who prefer menu Buttons as opposed to a menu bar, i've made some buttons based on the above menu formate, You can install it by following the same instructions as the main install, Just upload the graphics and edit your menu links and thats it.

Experiment with the css to change colors width of boxes etc, Add more or as little as you want, the important thing is to have fun learning.



UPDATE: 26th April 2009

Centering the Menu so that it appears central


There has been much debate about trying to centralise the menu tabs, I didn't want to edit the code too much as this would make a mess of it in different browsers, However i've found that there is a way

The easiest way to center menu content is to place it inside of a center aligned table, as shown below:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This way the menu tabs will appear central in all browsers.

Hope this helps



Enjoy

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	menu1.png
Views:	683
Size:	19.0 KB
ID:	93665   Click image for larger version

Name:	menu2.png
Views:	631
Size:	19.9 KB
ID:	93666   Click image for larger version

Name:	black.png
Views:	519
Size:	11.0 KB
ID:	94464   Click image for larger version

Name:	blue button.jpg
Views:	422
Size:	15.5 KB
ID:	95383  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 86 29 Apr 2011 14:30
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 81 03 Aug 2009 15:33
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 17 17 Feb 2009 06:01
Post Quality Points System Addon: Top Quality Posters Page N9ne vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 21 28 Jun 2003 03:24

  #61  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 15:48
Tauhid Tauhid is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
you are the best! I will reply back with my sites link with the menu setup once I am done.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 15:51
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by Tauhid View Post
you are the best! I will reply back with my sites link with the menu setup once I am done.
Thanks, You can replace the yellow with your sites Green, Its just that i didn't get much time to copy your hex colors.

You've got a great site, hope the menu's work for you

Don't forget to click installed if your happy

Take care


Last edited by UKBusinessLive; 09 Feb 2009 at 15:57.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 18:39
Tauhid Tauhid is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
thanks for this great hack, my members are absolutely loving it. no complaints so far. even in the cell phone, this seems like a better navigation system. I would recommend vbulletin to adapt this feature in the near future for their default menus. love it!
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 20:55
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by Tauhid View Post
thanks for this great hack, my members are absolutely loving it. no complaints so far. even in the cell phone, this seems like a better navigation system. I would recommend vbulletin to adapt this feature in the near future for their default menus. love it!
Thanks It does look great on your site, have added your site to my demo list on the first post. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 18:29
Powlo Powlo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Paul
Installed

I would recommend this to anyone that wants to add a dropdown menu, its dead easy to use and pure genius how it works.

Great work UKBL!
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 18:56
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by Powlo View Post
Installed

I would recommend this to anyone that wants to add a dropdown menu, its dead easy to use and pure genius how it works.

Great work UKBL!
Thanks Powlo,

Glad you enjoyed it
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 16:14
Powlo Powlo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Paul
One thing though... How can i center the tabs on the page? They are currently left justified which looks great on a 100% width style but not so great if its a fixed width style with a full width header.

Hope that made sense.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 16:43
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by Powlo View Post
One thing though... How can i center the tabs on the page? They are currently left justified which looks great on a 100% width style but not so great if its a fixed width style with a full width header.

Hope that made sense.
Its best not to center the tabs as thios will mess up on different screen resolutions, I did a menu for a guy who wanted his tabs centrered and in Firefox he was showing two rows of tabs.

I will tell you how to do it but you need to tell me which one your using the blue or the black, then you can test it yourself
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 18:05
Powlo Powlo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Paul
It was the blue that ive used. Thanks UKBL
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 13 Feb 2009, 17:32
a marked man 70 a marked man 70 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
i am using the black one and i must say it is a brilliant hack.

but i would also like to know how to center the tabs as when you look at my site, www.uwclan.co.uk, you can see a space on the right hand side. if i put another tab in there to attempt to fill the space on the right, it goes on a new line underneath on the left hand side, under the first one.

so i would like to get it so the spacing on either sid of the first and last tab is the same.
many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 13 Feb 2009, 19:02
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by a marked man 70 View Post
i am using the black one and i must say it is a brilliant hack.

but i would also like to know how to center the tabs as when you look at my site, www.uwclan.co.uk, you can see a space on the right hand side. if i put another tab in there to attempt to fill the space on the right, it goes on a new line underneath on the left hand side, under the first one.

so i would like to get it so the spacing on either sid of the first and last tab is the same.
many thanks
Thanks

You will need to edit the Padding in the CSS part of the code, Try changing in steps of 10px, Not sure which one it woiuld be without looking at the code, but a quick way would be to do a printout of the code you have and go through the css and change the padding dimensions, ifit don't work change it back.

The reason i don't do them central is the fact that if someone is viewing with a differnt resolution, then it will throw the menus out, likewise in a different browser.

The way they are made makes them fully compatible with all browsers and resolutions and fully validated, by editing you could lose one or more of those.

Just take it easy, do what you think you would be happy with
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 14 Feb 2009, 14:21
SashaCPF SashaCPF is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Excellent add-on!

I'm getting only one "complaint" from my members though. They would like to reduce the "hang time". I have to admit it is currently annoying me a bit as well. Moving the cursor over the tabs triggers the drop down menu (which is great!) but then the menu "hangs" for a few seconds longer once the cursor is moved away. Any way to adjust the code so the drop down menu goes away as soon as the cursor is moved off of it? I know... it seems petty and truly, I am already almost used to it but some of my members can't seem to get past it.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 14 Feb 2009, 15:09
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by SashaCPF View Post
Excellent add-on!

I'm getting only one "complaint" from my members though. They would like to reduce the "hang time". I have to admit it is currently annoying me a bit as well. Moving the cursor over the tabs triggers the drop down menu (which is great!) but then the menu "hangs" for a few seconds longer once the cursor is moved away. Any way to adjust the code so the drop down menu goes away as soon as the cursor is moved off of it? I know... it seems petty and truly, I am already almost used to it but some of my members can't seem to get past it.

Thanks in advance
Hi SashaCPF

Thanks for the kind words, i understand that perhaps member may get a bit funny about the menu delay but depending on how complicated menus can be i've set the default speed at half a sec (500 millisec's) you can adjust this at the end of the menu code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Just change the red 500 for 200 or even 100, that will make it quicker, let me know how you got on

Remember, Lets keep them Members happy

Have a Great Weekend
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 14 Feb 2009, 15:44
SashaCPF SashaCPF is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
SWEET!! Adjusted to 100 and even *I* am happy now!!!

Thanks MUCH!!
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 14 Feb 2009, 15:58
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by SashaCPF View Post
SWEET!! Adjusted to 100 and even *I* am happy now!!!

Thanks MUCH!!
No worries buddy, Now the whole world can be happy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: