Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Additional navbar with dropdowns Details »
Additional navbar with dropdowns
Mod Version: 1.02, by attroll (Coder/Designer) attroll is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.5 Rating: (26 votes - 4.69 average) Installs: 304
Released: 26 Dec 2007 Last Update: 30 Jun 2008 Downloads: 1707
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

After upgrading and supporting my 3.0.0 and 3.5.3 version of this hack, I have decided it was time to step into the plugin world to make this easier for people to use.

Despite what category this is in it works with vBulletin 3.0 up to the most recent version of 3.8.

What this does is create another navbar with drop down menus by typing $navbar2 in any of your templates. It is just like the navbar that comes with VB.

I put a lot of description tags in the navbar2 template that gets installed to help explain what everything does. Once you understand what is going on here you can removed these. With very little modifications you can add to, remove or move items around in this additional navbar.

Upgrade
To upgrade you will want to reimport this XML file and edit your options accordingly.



1.02
  • Tweak it a bit to get the border on the top of the navbar. There was not boarder on the top of the navbar in the previous version. It was not really noticeable unless you have the navbar directly below the header area.
1.01
  • removed the plugin with the Hook "parse_templates" because it was not need.
  • Added plugin with the Hook “global_start”, this will work with, PhotoPlog, vBAdvanced, Arcade. This will alleviate having to manually add code in the php files as was required in the past.
1.00
  • Initial release.
To install the this
1. Download the zipped file.

2. Unzip the file.

3. Import the product-navbar2.xml into your Plugins & Productsŕ Manage Plugins.

4. Next you will have to decide where you want the navbar2 to be displayed. I have included a few options below.

5A. Under current (original) Navigation bar:
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that place:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

5B. On top of forums tables:
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that place:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

5C. Top of current navbar:
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Above that add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

5D. Under your header:
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

5E. Under VB navbar:
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Note:
This should now work with vBAdvance CMPS, Arcade, PhotoPlog with no other modifications. Many thanks to Mike-D for his help with this.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	5A.jpg
Views:	5467
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	73782   Click image for larger version

Name:	5B.jpg
Views:	3171
Size:	66.0 KB
ID:	73783   Click image for larger version

Name:	5C.jpg
Views:	2572
Size:	66.6 KB
ID:	73784   Click image for larger version

Name:	5d.jpg
Views:	2988
Size:	65.2 KB
ID:	73785  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Additional Navbar 3.5.3 and up attroll vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications 91 26 Dec 2007 02:12
Additional Navbar attroll vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 235 24 Feb 2006 04:51

  #106  
Old 26 Jun 2008, 09:55
RedeemedWarrior's Avatar
RedeemedWarrior RedeemedWarrior is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Richard R
love this mod
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 26 Jun 2008, 12:58
wwolf27 wwolf27 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I have looked through and I can't find the answer without bothering someone. I keep getting this when I go to import the product file. I appreciate any and all help in advance.
XML Error: XML_WAR_UNKNOWN_VERSION at Line 118
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 26 Jun 2008, 23:10
Scarface Claw Scarface Claw is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Importing XML produces:

XML Error: XML_WAR_UNKNOWN_VERSION at Line 118

Trying to install on vB 3.7.1 Patch Level 2
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 27 Jun 2008, 05:01
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by Scarface Claw View Post
Importing XML produces:

XML Error: XML_WAR_UNKNOWN_VERSION at Line 118

Trying to install on vB 3.7.1 Patch Level 2
I tried this and could not duplicate this problem. Someone else had this problem before and here is what someone suggested http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...8&postcount=25. I never heard whether it worked out not though.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 27 Jun 2008, 07:08
Scarface Claw Scarface Claw is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Sorted, cheers bro.

You should probably make that part of the original XML
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 27 Jun 2008, 07:35
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by Scarface Claw View Post
Sorted, cheers bro.

You should probably make that part of the original XML
Yeah. I need to look into that to see what it actually does because like I said I had not problem with it. Yet some people have. it does not make sense.
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 27 Jun 2008, 07:42
wwolf27 wwolf27 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Originally Posted by attroll View Post
I tried this and could not duplicate this problem. Someone else had this problem before and here is what someone suggested http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...8&postcount=25. I never heard whether it worked out not though.
I looked at the first line of code in the XML file and mine say 3.7.0 like that person suggested in the link you submitted. Unless I was looking at the incorrect thing. I am new to this..I fired the person who normally does this and now doing it on my own, a whole 8 days now.
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 27 Jun 2008, 08:11
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by wwolf27 View Post
I looked at the first line of code in the XML file and mine say 3.7.0 like that person suggested in the link you submitted. Unless I was looking at the incorrect thing. I am new to this..I fired the person who normally does this and now doing it on my own, a whole 8 days now.
Yeah, I just changed the XML file to reflect that so it should not happen to anyone again.
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 27 Jun 2008, 08:27
wwolf27 wwolf27 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
o..ok, well I guess I will check back. I tried to go through it again tonight, still isn't working. Thanks for your time I greatly appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 27 Jun 2008, 11:32
Scarface Claw Scarface Claw is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
wwolf, attroll has updated the XML to reflect the new change, so you need to download the new XML and try that one.

The new one should work for you.

I was vB newbie only a month ago dude, and now I know a bit, its pretty easy to learn, just hang in there.

EDIT:
Bloody good mod BTW, it's just what I have been needing, nominated for MotM.
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 27 Jun 2008, 19:25
wwolf27 wwolf27 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Originally Posted by Scarface Claw View Post
wwolf, attroll has updated the XML to reflect the new change, so you need to download the new XML and try that one.

The new one should work for you.

I was vB newbie only a month ago dude, and now I know a bit, its pretty easy to learn, just hang in there.

EDIT:
Bloody good mod BTW, it's just what I have been needing, nominated for MotM.
I appreciate you clarifying that to me. Yes, it works now. Soon as I figure out how to change it to what I need it to say and do I will be good. LOL!! Thanks for the help and I do nominated for MotM.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 30 Jun 2008, 02:22
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by Fireproof View Post
Strange. At least it's not just me. Maybe someone else will have an idea.

But at least it doesn't look bad that way - I would just prefer it if they were the same size.

Thanks for trying to help. It's really nice to see people support their mods and add-ons.
I have done some more research and found a fix to your problem. I have updated the xml file now to replect that. If you just want to fix this without reinstalling the xml file you can do it by changing the first two lines of the navbar2 template to the following:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 30 Jun 2008, 04:38
Fireproof Fireproof is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Originally Posted by attroll View Post
I have done some more research and found a fix to your problem. I have updated the xml file now to replect that. If you just want to fix this without reinstalling the xml file you can do it by changing the first two lines of the navbar2 template to the following:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Aha - that is so awesome! Worked like a charm - thank you so much for following up with this.

Much appreciated!!
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 30 Jun 2008, 19:02
vbboarder's Avatar
vbboarder vbboarder is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Thanks for this great mod! I have a feature request: can you start incrementing your mod version # whenever you update the mod - this would help us keep track of the versions. Even if it's a small change, adding a suffix would help, like 1.02b, 1.02c, etc. Also, can you add a changelog to your first post so that we can know what changed between versions without having to read through several posts. I think both of these small enhancements would be time-savers whenever updating. Thanks attroll for your fast & helpful support!
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 01 Jul 2008, 08:16
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by vbboarder View Post
Thanks for this great mod! I have a feature request: can you start incrementing your mod version # whenever you update the mod - this would help us keep track of the versions. Even if it's a small change, adding a suffix would help, like 1.02b, 1.02c, etc. Also, can you add a changelog to your first post so that we can know what changed between versions without having to read through several posts. I think both of these small enhancements would be time-savers whenever updating. Thanks attroll for your fast & helpful support!
Very good idea. I will do that from now on. I just posted the last two change logs in the description. Thank you for mentioning that.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:05.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: