Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Set forum-language automatic to browser-language for first-visitors Details »
Set forum-language automatic to browser-language for first-visitors
Mod Version: 2.00, by JoergZ (Member) JoergZ is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.2 Rating: (4 votes - 4.75 average) Installs: 73
Released: 14 Oct 2006 Last Update: Never Downloads: 588
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

Short-description

This Hack detects the browser-language automatic and shows the board in the language of the user, if the user has never been at your board before or has no cookie for your board.

The part of automatic-detection of the browser-language was realised by WildChild


Requirements
  • vB 3.6 (Tested with 3.6.2)
  • Of course more than one installed and selectable language, otherwise this modification makes no sense
Installation-time

about 1 minutes


PLEASE CLICK THE INSTALL BUTTON IF INSTALLED!


------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you want to test the hack after installing, do it like this:

- Log out of your forum. Dont klick any of the displayed links after logging out !
- Close your browser-window
- Open a new browser-window
- Set your language preferences in the browser
- Go to your forum homepage

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Set forum-language automatic to browser-language for first-visitors JoergZ vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 47 22 Jan 2009 00:14

Comments
  #2  
Old 14 Oct 2006, 19:38
Klaymen TK's Avatar
Klaymen TK Klaymen TK is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: [Italy]
Real name: Norman
Really really great! Thanks man!

*Installed*
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14 Oct 2006, 21:12
Robru's Avatar
Robru Robru is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Marvelous hack, thank you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15 Oct 2006, 17:55
Ajavas's Avatar
Ajavas Ajavas is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Smile

Thanks nice modification.

**Installed**
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16 Oct 2006, 00:40
oberheimhaven's Avatar
oberheimhaven oberheimhaven is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Mark Anthony
will this work 3.6.0 thxs m8 great hack also i couldnt find her after install to check her in adminp
thxs
MArkAnthony

nope nothing?? Im missing something here correct??

Last edited by oberheimhaven; 16 Oct 2006 at 00:43.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16 Oct 2006, 06:56
JoergZ's Avatar
JoergZ JoergZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Real name: Jörg
I have not tested it with 3.6.0, but it works for all 3.5.x versions and for 3.6.2, so it should work for 3.6.0 and 3.6.1 too.

After you have installed the plugin, there will be not new points in the settings. You have to go to the plugin-area and edit the plugin-code direct. So click on "Plugins & Products" in the left menue in the Admin-CP, then select "Plugin Manager".

There you click on "Edit" at the plugin "Set automatic forumlanguage to browserlanguage". To have a better overview increase the size of the edit-box 3 or 4 times. Scroll to the end of the plugin-code. There you find direct above the edit-description the lines, where you can assign the language-code to your language ID.

If you still have problems to find it, I can provide some screenshots.


Best regards

Jörg
__________________
.

Last edited by JoergZ; 16 Oct 2006 at 06:58.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16 Oct 2006, 11:59
oberheimhaven's Avatar
oberheimhaven oberheimhaven is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Mark Anthony
Originally Posted by JoergZ
I have not tested it with 3.6.0, but it works for all 3.5.x versions and for 3.6.2, so it should work for 3.6.0 and 3.6.1 too.

After you have installed the plugin, there will be not new points in the settings. You have to go to the plugin-area and edit the plugin-code direct. So click on "Plugins & Products" in the left menue in the Admin-CP, then select "Plugin Manager".

There you click on "Edit" at the plugin "Set automatic forumlanguage to browserlanguage". To have a better overview increase the size of the edit-box 3 or 4 times. Scroll to the end of the plugin-code. There you find direct above the edit-description the lines, where you can assign the language-code to your language ID.

If you still have problems to find it, I can provide some screenshots.


Best regards

Jörg
Ok I found what are we suppose to do to get this to work tho????? I have installed is there suppose to be a drop down menu? anything I aint getting it??
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16 Oct 2006, 13:30
uspange uspange is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Ok I found what are we suppose to do to get this to work tho????? I have installed is there suppose to be a drop down menu? anything I aint getting it??
1.) Open Admin Panel
2.) Check Languages (with my board German is ID1 and English ID2)
3.) Go Plugins & Products
4.) Manage Plugins
5.) Click "edit" for "Set automatic forumlanguage to browserlanguage"
6.) Check code at the end. If you only run German and English, you might want to delete French or set it to German/English.

Do your testing with your browser, delete cookies and stuff ...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16 Oct 2006, 19:39
JoergZ's Avatar
JoergZ JoergZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Real name: Jörg
Originally Posted by oberheimhaven
I have installed is there suppose to be a drop down menu?
No, there is no visible change. Please look at the top, there is the short-description what this hack do.

To give an example:

You have installed the following languages on your board: English, German, French.

A visitor, that has never been bevore on your forum comes to your website with the board. Without any modification the user see the board in the language, you have defined as default. Let's say English. To change the language the user has to select it from the drop-down menu at the bottom.

With this hack, a first-time visitor from France would see the board immedeately in French, without changing the language manually.

That's what the hack is doing.

How you set the hack correct to the languages you have installed, is described in the downloadable installation-description.

How to get there, has uspange described in the post above very good.


BR

Jörg
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17 Oct 2006, 04:03
oberheimhaven's Avatar
oberheimhaven oberheimhaven is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Mark Anthony
thxs mates great hack!!!!1
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18 Oct 2006, 10:39
Greek76's Avatar
Greek76 Greek76 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I installed but doesnt seem to work. Where it says x or xx I forget I replaced it with the language I would like. I added tha language on my browser did what you said but no good. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18 Oct 2006, 10:54
JoergZ's Avatar
JoergZ JoergZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Real name: Jörg
Hi Greek76 !

The only idea I have is the following: After you have added a different language-preferenz to your browser, have you changed the order, so the new language is on top ?

And it is important, that you logout from your board, and do not click anything after logging out, otherwise again a cookie would be set. So logout, and then close the browser window, then start your browser again.

What browser are you using ? I admit, I have tested it only with IE 6.0. But it should work with all browsers.


Best regards

Jörg
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19 Oct 2006, 15:38
lapinkulta's Avatar
lapinkulta lapinkulta is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
wonderfull hack, very usefull.

one question: can i assign a specific style together with the language? will this work also for guests or for users only?

greetings,
lapinkulta
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19 Oct 2006, 19:06
JoergZ's Avatar
JoergZ JoergZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Real name: Jörg
Originally Posted by lapinkulta
one question: can i assign a specific style together with the language? will this work also for guests or for users only?
Never thought about that. I will check this. If it works, then it would be also only for first-time visitors with no cookie. The user is always able to change the style.


BR

Jörg
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19 Oct 2006, 20:44
lapinkulta's Avatar
lapinkulta lapinkulta is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
yes, would be nice for replacement variables in different languages. i am using something like that which works only for logged in users, not for guests:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:07.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: