Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 17 Jul 2015, 23:39
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
That would be in the actual apache httpd.conf or your vhost conf file.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18 Jul 2015, 03:17
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks, I found that whilst I was looking around.
I will try it now.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18 Jul 2015, 03:27
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I found it but have no idea. I see Allowoveride occurs twice in the attached file.

Could you spend a minute please. Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: txt httpd.conf.txt (19.8 KB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 18 Jul 2015, 03:52
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Give this a try.
Attached Files
File Type: txt fixed-maybe.txt (19.8 KB, 10 views)
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 20 Jul 2015, 01:35
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Nope. Nothing going with that one either.
Tell you what. If I give you the creds for my host, would you be willing to take down my old site and replace it with the new vb 5?
I have made a copy of all the files on the site and db and uploaded the necessary files so no worries, the whole lot can come down, I don't care that much, I just want to test it out.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 28 Jul 2015, 08:53
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I guess that will be a no then.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 28 Jul 2015, 13:02
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Sorry, I don't mind helping doing basic stuff, but upgrades and server transfers are not something I can really do for free.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 30 Jul 2015, 15:19
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Okay, I will leave it at that.
Thanks anyhow.
I am not disappointed, just perplexed.
The older versions were a piece of pee to install compared to the latest user friendly effort.
I gave up weeks ago.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03 Aug 2015, 03:18
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Story so far.

I found my clear headed PHP chap, bought him a drink and watched him for 30 minutes.

He browsed localhost/vb/core/install/install.php and go the same result I did.



He then renamed the .htaccess and made another attempt.
The result found the install folder but stopped here.



Not sure why in the picture vB doesn't know what the Mysql version is.

Anyway, with the new query, he opened the .htaccess file to this bit.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


He commented some stuff and checked the apache error log.



He concluded by asking me to go to apache modules and enable filter_module.

I then had vB5 installed and bought another round of drinks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg attachment.php.jpg (38.4 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg query.JPG (40.0 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg 1query.jpg (16.3 KB, 27 views)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06 Aug 2015, 00:01
awana awana is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
When I want to install, I got this error:
mysite/public_html/includes/vb5/frontend/routing.php on line 197

WHat is this???
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 14 Dec 2015, 22:53
Gamelobby's Avatar
Gamelobby Gamelobby is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Originally Posted by Mark.B View Post
5.1.7 is absolutely NOT broken, I'm unsure why people like to put nonsense like this in as if it were fact - it does nothing but confuse and misinform people who are trying to get help.

The official installation guide is here:
https://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/install

I have written my own basic instructions:

1. Download the newest vB5 release from the members' area. https://members.vbulletin.com

2. Unzip the files and go to the "upload" folder.

3. You need to rename this file:

/config.php.bkp

To:

/config.php

Then, you need to rename this file:

/core/includes/config.php.new

To:

/core/includes/config.php

Then, in that file, you need to complete the following fields:

$config['Database']['dbname'] = 'forum';
Change forum to whatever your database name is.

$config['Database']['technicalemail'] = 'dbmaster@example.com';
Change the email address to your own.

$config['MasterServer']['username'] = 'root';
Change root to the database username

$config['MasterServer']['password'] = '';
Enter the database password inside the '' marks.

All other fields should be left as default, unless your database is on a separate server, in which case this will need changing:

$config['MasterServer']['servername'] = 'localhost';

4. Upload all files to your server/webspace/whatever and browse to yourforumpath.com/core/install/install.php.
1. The two config files (in RED) do they end up in the same folder.?


2. And in step 5 of the read me, it says..
---
Important: If you are upgrading from vBulletin 3 or 4, backup your existing files and delete the files off your server before proceeding. vBulletin 5 needs to be installed in an empty directory. Do not delete your attachments, customavatar, customprofilepic, or signaturepics folders.
----

So do i delete off of the server (completely off server), like it says, or does it mean vB5 just needs a fresh folder.?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:46.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: