Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Your Current Alexa Rank (Integrated With VB) Details »
Your Current Alexa Rank (Integrated With VB)
Mod Version: 2.337, by Mr Chad (Member) Mr Chad is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2009 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.5.4 Rating: (2 votes - 4.00 average) Installs: 30
Released: 09 May 2006 Last Update: 10 May 2006 Downloads: 6
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

If you like it click


Installation Time: <2 mins
Template Edits: 1
Uploads: 1
VB Version: This actually works on 3.5.0 - 3.5.4
Live Example (Look at my footer): http://beasttoast.com

Description:
This hack will make your site go to alexa.com once a day and grab your current alexa rank. You can place your rank anywhere by using $alexarank.

Installation Instructions:
  1. Open your 'includes/config.php' and Find:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    Replace With:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  2. Upload Product!
  3. Now add this in any template where ever you want to show the rank:
    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


    For example in footer page:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  4. Run the schedulted task:
    'Alexa Rank'
Screen Shot:




FAQ:- NONE
If you like it click

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Board Optimization Alexa Toolbar Users Rewarding System - Boost your Alexa rank Milad vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 52 27 Jul 2011 17:40
Miscellaneous Hacks Your Current Alexa Rank (Integrated With VB) Mr Chad Modification Graveyard 14 06 Apr 2007 08:06

  #16  
Old 09 May 2006, 03:26
SMO's Avatar
SMO SMO is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Real name: Geoff
Ok, I'll bite...what is AlexaRank?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09 May 2006, 03:30
Mr Chad's Avatar
Mr Chad Mr Chad is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Your alexa rank is your traffic rank.

http://www.alexa.com (Sponsored by Amazon.com)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09 May 2006, 04:01
Oddjob Oddjob is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
screenshot anyone????
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09 May 2006, 04:15
Mr Chad's Avatar
Mr Chad Mr Chad is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
added, its just text



Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09 May 2006, 06:34
COBRAws's Avatar
COBRAws COBRAws is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Real name: Jack
Originally Posted by Smiry Kin's
is this right?

File Name: './alexarank_update.php.txt'
It should be

File Name: './alexarank_update.php'
__________________
cobraws
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09 May 2006, 07:28
Aurous Aurous is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Is storing the result in a txt file better than storing in database? (most preferably datastore). If interested, I can help you convert this hack to store the results in db instead of a txt file. It wont even cost you a query as it will be stored in datastore. Will wait for your reply. Plus large sites with multiple webservers that deserve to show off their Alexa rank wont be too happy with storing text in a file.

Last edited by Aurous; 09 May 2006 at 08:56.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09 May 2006, 10:00
murrtex's Avatar
murrtex murrtex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Murat
try this in the footer


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09 May 2006, 12:48
Developer's Avatar
Developer Developer is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Real name: Ahmed || Devo.
nice hack m8,
btw: many users use the same avatar
__________________
Developer,,
"Know thing about everything ... Know everything about thing"

I was here as a coder, and i am there as a student
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09 May 2006, 13:26
Mr Chad's Avatar
Mr Chad Mr Chad is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Originally Posted by Aurous
Is storing the result in a txt file better than storing in database? (most preferably datastore). If interested, I can help you convert this hack to store the results in db instead of a txt file. It wont even cost you a query as it will be stored in datastore. Will wait for your reply. Plus large sites with multiple webservers that deserve to show off their Alexa rank wont be too happy with storing text in a file.
Yea but then on every page view it has to pull it from the database im scared lol :P
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09 May 2006, 13:37
Mr Chad's Avatar
Mr Chad Mr Chad is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Originally Posted by murrtex
try this in the footer


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
I like once i actually release a template edit ill prolly use your if you dont mind
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09 May 2006, 13:52
Aurous Aurous is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
As I said earlier, you can store it in datastore and it will not affect the number of queries on your database (it will remain the same for all pages). Let me update your hack to work with database real quick and then you can see the results.

Also, larger sites using rsync or different filesystem on multiple webservers will have to update the text file too, which is quite unnecessary.

Last edited by Aurous; 09 May 2006 at 13:54.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09 May 2006, 14:03
Mr Chad's Avatar
Mr Chad Mr Chad is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Wow this sounds good now, cant wait to see what you come up with

(this will eliminate the text file)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09 May 2006, 15:49
Aurous Aurous is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Ok, created product this time instead of plugin and can be uninstalled easily.

Product file adds scheduled tasks automatically and also adds row in datastore for alexarank.

You can edit the files anyway you like and update your script in this thread if you wish.

Also, I was thinking, instead of asking users to add website url, why not use bburl stored in database? I didnt test this yet, but you can try it out.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Aurous

ps. file updated. added instructions in zip.
Attached Files
File Type: zip alexarank_modified_by_aurous.zip (3.1 KB, 19 views)

Last edited by Aurous; 09 May 2006 at 15:54.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09 May 2006, 16:06
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
nice mod, thx
__________________

Love and support one another #vote2020
I offer Managed IT Services in Kansas
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09 May 2006, 20:37
firstrebel's Avatar
firstrebel firstrebel is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Robert Isaac
chatbum and Aurous, very nice. *clicks install*

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:03.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: