Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Mod Options
Hide the IP of Super Admins (now it hides it at the online list as well) Details »
Hide the IP of Super Admins (now it hides it at the online list as well)
Mod Version: 1.00, by borbole (Coder/Designer) borbole is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.0.2 Rating: (15 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 142
Released: 24 Feb 2010 Last Update: 29 May 2010 Downloads: 751
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Translations  

This mod will hide the real Ip of the SuperAdmin in posts, in the MOD CP when searching for ip''s. After you install it, go to Settings-Options-Message Posting and Editing Options. And all the way to the bottom you will see 3 settings for the mod. You can enable and disable it, you can also enter a bogus ip for SuperAdmin which then will be displayed instead of the real ip. This is ideal for privacy. By default it affects those Super Admins whose userid is 1. If your userid is not 1 then enter at the third mod settings your own userid.

Things to consider 1: This mod it will hide the real ip of Superadmins for all the posts made before, present and all the time that the mod will be installed.

2: When you uninstall the mod, the past posts made from before, will still hide the ip of the superadmin. Whereas the posts made after the uninstall of the mod, will display the real ip of SuperAdmin normally.


After a request from a customer of mine I expanded it to hide the ip of Super Admin at the online list as well. The expanded version can be found at my forum but it is paid:

http://www.forumservices.eu/vb/showt...f-Super-Admins

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Forums_1267030903696.png
Views:	1090
Size:	35.5 KB
ID:	112946   Click image for larger version

Name:	Admin Control Panel_1267211680935.png
Views:	849
Size:	94.6 KB
ID:	113121   Click image for larger version

Name:	vb 4-Who's Online - Forum Services_1293281847157.jpg
Views:	430
Size:	78.8 KB
ID:	124821  

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements MARCO1 BBCODE Hide Tags [ hide] [/ hide] MARCO1 vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 372 01 Feb 2018 12:21

  #61  
Old 10 Aug 2010, 18:11
promet promet is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
works on 4.0.5 installed and confirmed.

thanks mate.
  #62  
Old 30 Aug 2010, 14:49
The Executioner The Executioner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Maybe I missed it somewhere in this thread....but can ya add more then one IP to the list...
I.E..1,5,2444??

I know you mentioned only SuperAdmins...but I have 3 Supers listed in the config file.


Also..I have this installed...works great...and instead of a fake IP..I used the words..."++++ Off"..lol
__________________
The Tavern
  #63  
Old 30 Aug 2010, 15:50
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by promet View Post
works on 4.0.5 installed and confirmed.

thanks mate.
You are welcome.

Originally Posted by The Executioner View Post
Maybe I missed it somewhere in this thread....but can ya add more then one IP to the list...
I.E..1,5,2444??

I know you mentioned only SuperAdmins...but I have 3 Supers listed in the config file.


Also..I have this installed...works great...and instead of a fake IP..I used the words..."++++ Off"..lol
If I will get some more free time later on I will look into it.
__________________
My mods.
  #64  
Old 10 Sep 2010, 00:22
whitedd's Avatar
whitedd whitedd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
is it posible to make this mod to working with 4 superadmins.
...i hope so that many forums have more than one superadmin...
  #65  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 22:30
whitedd's Avatar
whitedd whitedd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
yes or not?!
  #66  
Old 12 Sep 2010, 14:26
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by whitedd View Post
is it posible to make this mod to working with 4 superadmins.
...i hope so that many forums have more than one superadmin...
Atm not. But use my other mod to hide the ip of the admin group and/or any other group.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=250258
__________________
My mods.
  #67  
Old 14 Sep 2010, 14:46
aspen1018 aspen1018 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Great idea; however to me it seems worthless because you just have to go to "who's Online" to see the IP

or am I missing something here
  #68  
Old 05 Nov 2010, 16:22
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by borbole View Post

If I will get some more free time later on I will look into it.
If you had some time to permit this to be turned ON for multiple user ID's, that would be great for us.

Thank you ...

Regards,
Badger
  #69  
Old 25 Dec 2010, 12:02
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
After a request from a customer of mine I expanded it to hide the ip of Super Admin at the online list as well. The expanded version can be found at my forum but it is paid:

http://www.forumservices.eu/showthre...he-online-list
Attached Images
File Type: jpg vb 4-Who's Online - Forum Services_1293281847157.jpg (78.8 KB, 44 views)
__________________
My mods.

Last edited by borbole; 26 Dec 2010 at 11:52.
  #70  
Old 13 Apr 2011, 14:31
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by madkidz View Post
Can I add more than one super admin with this hack, or is it only one id that can be hiden?
As it is now it hides only one id but it would be a small change to add multiple id's.
__________________
My mods.
  #71  
Old 21 Jun 2011, 19:26
tareqbd tareqbd is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Not works with vbulletin 4.1.3! is there any sollution.

OK, It's working. I have 3 admins in forum. I want to hide all 3 admins ip from moderators. Can I! please help.

Last edited by tareqbd; 23 Jun 2011 at 21:28.
  #72  
Old 19 Aug 2011, 16:47
James T Brock James T Brock is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
This mod and the 3.8 version both add one additional query for EVERY post you have on a page. So if you normally have 15 queries per thread view and your forum is set to show 30 posts per page then when you view a page you will see that 45 queries are ran each time!! One query per posts in-order to change the IP if it matches the IP set in the admin panel.

You can check and confirm this yourself by going into your config.php file and turning debug mode on and then viewing a thread.

To fix this the query should ONLY be run after the superadmin writes a post and not for every single thread view. Is that possible?
  #73  
Old 25 Jan 2012, 01:38
FReeSTER FReeSTER is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
How can I change this to work with 2 super admins?
this will be great if it let you hide the userids you want to hide
  #74  
Old 28 Apr 2012, 22:21
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
The paid version can be found at this link:

http://www.forumservices.eu/vb/showt...f-Super-Admins
__________________
My mods.
  #75  
Old 14 Aug 2012, 22:18
Ideal Web Tech's Avatar
Ideal Web Tech Ideal Web Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Just to let everybody including the author know, this addon is extremely bad to use due to how its coded. It executes 1 query per post shown on the showthread page and the query is the exact same query with not a single alteration. Which if you want to use the query method like you are it can be done using only one query if you use a different hook since, as using the query on showthread_start would still yield the same results but using 1 query for the whole page. This query also only touches the post table, when the IP also gets saved into the user table on login for use in the admincp/modcp. This addon as it stands could be improved significantly by just fixing the fact it uses 1 query per post shown if nothing else. I mean think about it if you show 50 posts per page that would mean that same query gets run 50 times for each thread loaded that has reached the posts per page limit. Also with the hooks thats currently used the same problem exists on private messages which don't even show IP's. Also this query also run's even when there isn't a single post from the user who's IP is being hid. Honestly if you are going to use the query method it would make the most sense to overload and save a bogus IP at post creation time. This would prevent the need to waste 1 query per thread view, decreasing the total queries ran overall to hide the IP's. I believe it should be possible to overload the IP and save the bogus one without even requiring a query if done at post save time. The only issue with this is it wouldn't effect posts made before the addon was installed.

Also so you know IP's are viewable from posts, visitor messages, blogs, whos online, group discussions, admincp user editor, and modcp user editor, as well as the Search IP Address's tool (located in the admincp/modcp, also there is no hook in this tool so the only way to hide IP's there is a file edit, or else running a query to clear out the IP in the user table). Which basically means this addon doesn't even hide every IP so anybody who really cares to get your IP can get it pretty easily if you have ever posted a visitor message or participated in a group discussion. If the user who's IP is being hidden isn't a staff member it is then also possible to get their IP from the Search IP Address's tool as well (vbulletin only stores IP's in the user table for non staff members).

We have a private addon that hides IP's for selected users from every single page vBulletin has that can show an IP (besides the Search IP Address's tool as mentioned above), and it does this without using a single query, but leaves the IP's intact in the database in case you ever actually need them. So it is possible to accomplish hiding staff IP's without using a single query with almost no processing power being used.

I would imagine that IP's are also visible from the CMS article entries, but we don't use the CMS on any of our company sites to check quickly to verify for a fact that they are shown there as well.

- Brian
__________________
Ideal Web Technologies
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:20.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: