Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 16 Nov 2009, 21:06
testebr testebr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Insert content on footer

hook: parse_templates

code: $vbulletin->templatecache['footer'] .= 'content added to footer';

Work fine on 3.x, how to I can do same on 4.x?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16 Nov 2009, 22:37
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Cellarius wrote a really good article that you may be interested in - [vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide

You could do a str_replace for whatever is at the bottom of the footer. (You know there is an ad_location there, right? You could just use that, I think.)
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 10:37
testebr testebr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
I tried...

$ad_location[ad_footer_end] .= 'this insert text fail';

And the article is about fech template to insert in other or add var manually. Sorry if I'm wrong, but it still a little hard for me yet.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Mar 2010, 10:52
TalkVirginia's Avatar
TalkVirginia TalkVirginia is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Real name: Jim
I'm trying to do this too. For the life of me, I can't understand why it is so hard to do. Or why it's so hard to get a straight answer. If someone knows how to do this, then there should be a specific and to the point article on how to append text to the footer without using a template.
__________________
Jim - Webadmin 3:33am Paranormal Research - History will always repeat itself but sometimes the past never leave
vb4.x Email Reminders for Inactive Users, Add Mass Child Forums for vb3.8.6 & vb4.1.2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04 Jan 2011, 03:12
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by testebr View Post
hook: parse_templates

code: $vbulletin->templatecache['footer'] .= 'content added to footer';

Work fine on 3.x, how to I can do same on 4.x?

Thanks
Bumping this because I know I've googled/searched for this a bunch of times and always see this unanswered question.

Follow the instructions the op mentions but use the hook: cache_templates instead and it's working for me. On parse_templates I'd get an error.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:00.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: