Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Extra Threadfields Lite(Add Text, Radio, Drop Down, & Checkbox Fields To Threads!) Details »
Extra Threadfields Lite(Add Text, Radio, Drop Down, & Checkbox Fields To Threads!)
Mod Version: 1.00, by Gio~Logist (Coder) Gio~Logist is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (3 votes - 4.33 average) Installs: 87
Released: 29 Oct 2008 Last Update: 31 Oct 2008 Downloads: 489
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Brought To You By
ModernvB - Vbulletin Solutions & Services
http://www.modernvb.com
Premium Modification:
http://www.modernvb.com/vb_products....fo&productid=1



**Before Making An Add on **
Please consult with me before making an add on to this hack. As it is my work and such, the add ons that you are trying to make for it may be in the next release and/or premium version.

What does this do?
This hack allows you to add more fields to your threads besides just the title and message. This is extremely usefull in order to specify certain things in a thread in a way that people are more aware of it and such. There are several types of fields you can add and several features for the hack.

What features does this hack provide?
  • Add extra fields to threads. These include:
    • Text fields
    • Select Drop Down Fields
    • Radio Fields
    • Checkbox Fields
  • Enhanced extra threadfields manager - Premium Only *new
  • Search through fields within forums (forumdisplay.php) - Premium Only *new
  • Search through fields in search.php - Premium Only
  • Control order in which fields are displayed
  • Edit thread fields via the "edit thread" page
  • Edit thread fields via the "edit post" page - Premium Only *new
  • Set the forums in which you want fields to appear in - Premium Only (light version may set forumid's, but are a tad more limited as to how many)
  • Show fields automatically in thread
  • Show fields automatically in forumdisplay
  • Make a field required - Premium Only
  • Control what forums the field is shown in
  • Enable/Disable system
  • Enable/Disable automatic showing fields in thread
  • Enable/Disable automatic showing fields in forum
  • Make the field only editable by staff - Premium Only
  • Control what usergroups can edit staff-only editable fields - Premium Only
  • Show extra fields in subscriptions - Premium Only
  • Show extra fields in forum index - Premium Only
  • Show extra fields in search results - Premium Only
  • Control what fields are searchable - Premium Only
  • Enable/Disable automatic showing fields in forum index - Premium Only
  • Enable/Disable automatic showing fields in search results - Premium Only
  • Style how your extra fields appear in threads (using html) directly from your admincp! - Premium Only *new
  • No template edits required! - Premium Only *new
What does this hack require?
Template Edits: 4
Products Imported: 1

5 Easy Steps
Step 1. Import the following product: product-extra_threadfields.xml
Step 2. Upload the files in the upload folder.
Step 3. Do the edits located below
Step 4. Edit the newly added options in admincp as you please
Step 5. Enjoy the hack.

F.A.Q
Q. How do i get extra fields to show in the "edit post" page?
A. This is only available in the premium version.

Q. If i do not want the fields to be shown automatically, can i do it manually?
A. You can manually show fields in threads or posts by using $thread[fieldx] in the postbit or showthread template. Replace x with the ID of the field you want. To find the ID of the field go to admincp >> Extra Threadfields >> Extra Fields Manager, and hover over a field. The number after fieldid = will be the id of your field.

Q. I updated all of the options, i installed it perfectly, i did all edits, and still the options are not showing when i go to add a new thread. What do i do?
A. It is believed that you have a hack interfering with this one. Take away the edit that you did for putting $extrathreadfields inside the newthread template, and do this instead:

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add below:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Enjoy the hack.

Credits:
CMX_CMGSCCC - Big thanks! Could not have done it without you!

Don't forget to click INSTALL

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Extra Threadfields Lite(Add Text, Radio, Drop Down, & Checkbox Fields To Threads!) Gio~Logist vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 646 11 Oct 2011 14:18

  #61  
Old 10 Oct 2010, 01:34
SpanishHarlem SpanishHarlem is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Real name: Sheryl
I just installed this on 3.8.6 and purchased the premium version.. Having problems getting it the way I want

When I make the extra fields they show up on top of each other. I am hoping to do it side by side..

I run a freebie forum and want it this way

Month Day Year

Not

Month
Day
Year.

Can you please help me figure this out.
__________________
CANADIAN FREEBIES N STUFF
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10 Oct 2010, 08:35
SpeedyHire SpeedyHire is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Phil
Try reading within this thread is a good start it is only 5 pages.

change in template showthread_extra_fields
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10 Oct 2010, 17:46
SpanishHarlem SpanishHarlem is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Real name: Sheryl
Originally Posted by SpeedyHire View Post
Try reading within this thread is a good start it is only 5 pages.

change in template showthread_extra_fields

If it told me I wouldn't have posted.. Pro version is different then lite.
__________________
CANADIAN FREEBIES N STUFF
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 11 Oct 2010, 04:59
SpanishHarlem SpanishHarlem is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Real name: Sheryl
Ok.. I am not able to do the fields the way I want like this..



So I had to do a text box.. But when it's active I get double outside of the thread and inside as well. How do I get rid of the double..



Can anyone please help me. I have the premium version and would like to get this active for my members.. Thanks in advance.
__________________
CANADIAN FREEBIES N STUFF
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 12 Oct 2010, 00:13
SpanishHarlem SpanishHarlem is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Real name: Sheryl
Nobody can help?
__________________
CANADIAN FREEBIES N STUFF
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 11 Feb 2011, 19:10
ShackMaster ShackMaster is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Since you are using the premium version, have you tried asking them directly? I would be interested in knowing how good their service is if I were going to spend the money on it.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 18 Nov 2011, 22:12
N8's Avatar
N8 N8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Real name: Nathan
Is this fully working with the latest VB 3.8?
__________________
N8
Used Oilfield Equipment | Hydraulic Catwalk
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 18 Nov 2011, 23:00
Hellmaster Hellmaster is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Originally Posted by 1Unreal View Post
Perfect. Running on vB 3.8
Cool, I'll install it soon
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 27 Feb 2012, 01:54
Ov3rrun Ov3rrun is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
is there a way to add select fields with an blank option as first on select???
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 18 Mar 2012, 09:40
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
Hi can someone help with a small issue, i have set the extra fields as a dropdown list and so that the first in the list isn't selected if they forget to chose one i have set the first field as "Please choose one of the following" but i dont want that to be used as a field either, so can someone help modify this
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to check if the field says "please choose one of the following" that they get sent back to choose one? i have also set up an error phrase 'field_not_chosen'
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!

Last edited by Simon Lloyd; 18 Mar 2012 at 09:55.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 12 Apr 2012, 17:01
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
I've completed the above now thanks!
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 22 Apr 2012, 22:13
Crimdog Crimdog is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by Simon Lloyd View Post
I've completed the above now thanks!
And what did you do to get it completed?
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 14 May 2012, 20:36
Crimdog Crimdog is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Bump for solution sharing...

I'm looking for something similar (default is not-selected blank, and not an allowed field)
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 05 Oct 2013, 13:23
IMPho IMPho is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I have a minor problem...How can I show a particular field in a template???

I tried everything. Basically I want to show field no #5 in the thread title by editing the THREADBIT template.

Can anyone please help?
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 17 Feb 2014, 11:40
blind-eddie's Avatar
blind-eddie blind-eddie is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Real name: Tim
For those that install this and receive a database error...
Open the product,


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

re-upload product
__________________
LONG LIVE 3.8 SERIES
National Arcade Competition Club- NACC All arcade edits will work on vb4.
Check out my heavily modified ibproarcade with over 50,000 games for you, free of charge!
Exclusive arcade addons, edits and skins were made by stangger5 owner of Next Level Arcade
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: