Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Dynamically Linked Source - Speed Up Your Multiple Site Network & Upgrades Details »
Dynamically Linked Source - Speed Up Your Multiple Site Network & Upgrades
Mod Version: 1.00, by Jafo232 (Coder) Jafo232 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.2 Rating: (11 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 51
Released: 14 Aug 2008 Last Update: Never Downloads: 305
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files  

For the purposes of this documentation, "Network" refers to a group of forums on a single server or cluster of servers.

When 3.7.1 PL2 was released, I posted over at vbulletin.com lamenting the fact that I had 15 upgrades to perform and how it would be nice to have a multiple site license to lighten the burden of downloading each install separately. In the end, I spent much more time coming up with this system.

Dynamically Linked Source or DLS allows operators of two or more forums on the same server or cluster, for all intents and purposes, to use one set of source code instead of multiple sets. By using one set of source code, Op code caching is much more efficient as only one copy of the source is cached. This greatly reduces the amount of memory used caching the source code, and also makes it more efficient. It will lead to less fragmentation for systems using APC, XCache, eAccelerator, or other such methods of caching Op code.

The method uses symbolic links to a central repository of the source code. Therefore, upgrades to all sites on the network can be done quickly by just replacing the source. For patch level releases, this means the entire network can be patched with one upload. Upgrades to a new version can be done this way, or a new repository can be created and each site can be upgraded one at a time.

The issue of licensing has also been addressed. Once the product file is installed, and assuming the installation instructions were followed, each installation will report the proper license key when salting cookies, or reporting back to Jelsoft as Vbulletin does from time to time (mostly in the AdminCP).

I contacted the development team at Jelsoft and discussed this method before releasing it, and got the OK from Mike. I was initially concerned that it may break licensing or perhaps give away too much of the license reporting methodology, but now that I look back, it really does not do either.

In tests on a rather large network that contains seven forums with about 7 million posts, hundreds of thousands of registered users, and uses three load balanced servers the load has been reduced by almost 40%. You can see in the graph attached to this thread for the particulars.

I have tried to make the readme as clear as possible, but honestly that was never one of my strong points. I cannot emphasize more that before you implement this method, TEST it first in your sandbox. Also, make sure you backup your software and database before you use this.

I also have included a PDF that explains what is happening in greater detail.

Updates:

8/20/08 - This will work with the latest version of VBSEO (3.2.0 at this time). Add all the files to the DLS except the config file, and run the php-clone.php script.

This product was developed for Andy R from Social Knowledge and released here for others to enjoy.


Please don't forget to click install as I have worked quite a while on this.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Web Server Cacti.jpg
Views:	881
Size:	61.2 KB
ID:	85447  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 14:18
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Reserved...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 14:26
Zacarias Zacarias is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
This is very interesting. I'll be testing this one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 15:19
GrendelKhan{TSU's Avatar
GrendelKhan{TSU GrendelKhan{TSU is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
awesome. exactly what I need. will test. thank you!!


ps. er... how do I sandbox test this for multiple boards? do I ahve to set up a multi-board test as well?
__________________
Unreal Addicts: The Ultimate UT Fraggin Fix
Unreal Tournament Sniper Clan and UT Gaming Community.
Serving frags and fun to the UT Community Since 1999
www.UnrealAddicts.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 15:22
nirvana43's Avatar
nirvana43 nirvana43 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune, India
Real name: Aditya Hajare
Installed and rated! thanks a million man.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 15:28
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by GrendelKhan{TSU View Post
awesome. exactly what I need. will test. thank you!!


ps. er... how do I sandbox test this for multiple boards? do I ahve to set up a multi-board test as well?
Well, you don't HAVE to setup multiple boards in the sandbox, but if you want to test how it works with multiple boards (which is the whole point) then yes. But if you want to see how it works, one will be enough. Once you get it working on one site, you should not have problems getting it to work on multiple sites.

Just remember, BACK UP EVERYTHING! The php-clone.php script DELETES your forum source code files and then replaces them with symbolic links. Should you configure it wrong, you could find yourself with no forum software. A quick backup of the source files will correct that quickly.

I also recommend backing up the database, not that this product/method does anything to the database, it is just for prudence sake...

Last edited by Jafo232; 14 Aug 2008 at 19:39.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 16:37
AzzidReign's Avatar
AzzidReign AzzidReign is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Wow, this is a great idea. I'm going to check this out once I get some free time.
__________________
Xbox 360 Mods
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 16:49
Reeve of shinra's Avatar
Reeve of shinra Reeve of shinra is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
This looks great and its going to be a blessing for those running multiple forums. I assume each sites keeps its own DB? How are mods and plugins handled? I assume they are excluded?

Last edited by Reeve of shinra; 14 Aug 2008 at 17:04.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 17:17
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by Reeve of shinra View Post
This looks great and its going to be a blessing for those running multiple forums. I assume each sites keeps its own DB? How are mods and plugins handled? I assume they are excluded?
Yes, each site still keeps its own DB, and mods/plugins are handled the same way as they always were or you can include them in the DLS and make them available to the entire network.

You can link any file just by adding it to the DLS source and running the php-clone.php script.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 17:42
djr's Avatar
djr djr is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Jean-Paul
*VERY* interesting and I love the out-of-the-box thinking. Truly impressed. Do you know whether this will impact vbSEO? Would it be possible to also include vbSEO in the DLS or isn't that necessary?
__________________
- highly ill, but always intelligent -


- User Age in CP (together with the_sisko)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 17:49
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
The sites we tested on were using VBSEO and VBACMPS with no affect. You just have to make sure that you have the latest version of VBSEO..

I will be working on including VBSEO into the DLS. Initial work on it has yet to be of any success..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 17:53
djr's Avatar
djr djr is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Jean-Paul
Originally Posted by Jafo232 View Post
The sites we tested on were using VBSEO and VBACMPS with no affect. You just have to make sure that you have the latest version of VBSEO..

I will be working on including VBSEO into the DLS. Initial work on it has yet to be of any success..
Thanks Jafo! Again, much much respect for this idea. Now off to discuss with my fellow webmaster
__________________
- highly ill, but always intelligent -


- User Age in CP (together with the_sisko)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 18:20
TheInsaneManiac TheInsaneManiac is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Wait does this mean I only need one VBulletin license for all my domains now or no?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 18:57
briansol's Avatar
briansol briansol is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Real name: Brian
not at all.. you still need your proper licenses.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14 Aug 2008, 19:13
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by TheInsaneManiac View Post
Wait does this mean I only need one VBulletin license for all my domains now or no?
No, you still need all the license #'s. If you read the readme, you will see where you insert the license number(s) (NOT THE CUSTOMER #).
__________________
Become a Lampwright today at www.lampwrights.com!

Last edited by Jafo232; 14 Aug 2008 at 19:40.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:42.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: