Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 30 Nov 2020, 08:35
Pitman's Avatar
Pitman Pitman is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Adding a vB5 Site-Builder Module to Display Certain Forums?

I love vBulletin 5, but it has a lot of downfalls...

I want to create a "New Page" in the Site Builder and use a module to display specific forums.

I know this can be done by simply linking to a category forum, but the display on the FORUM page does not work for me like I need for it to by default.

By default, I would need to do the following:
Main Category (link I would need by default for a new page)
Sub Category
Sub Forum (Shown as a "Sub Forum")
Sub Category2
Sub Forum2 (Shown as a "Sub Forum")
But I want the Forum page to show
Sub Category
Sub Forum
Sub Category2
Sub Forum2
AND the NEW page to show:
Sub Category
Sub Forum
Sub Category2
Sub Forum2
I would rather be able to create a new page and display a certain group of forums to display as a new forum page without using display order of 0 to hide the forums.

If that doesn't make sense, please let me know and I'll try to make a few screenshot examples.

Last edited by Pitman; 30 Nov 2020 at 08:51.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30 Nov 2020, 08:58
delicjous's Avatar
delicjous delicjous is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
That needs a little custom coding to tell the forums-template which templates you want to show.

Some new mods here use only sql to fetch stuff, without any permissions or caches been used. That will also show admin- / mod-stuff (like posts in a not user-permitted channel) and do not use cache so performance will decrease.

You could look into display_Forums_tab -> display_Forums -> display_Forums_list

And please do not change one of that templates... if you know what you could change, create your own tmeplates and show them with template-widget.
__________________
vBulletin-Forum.de closed!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30 Nov 2020, 09:10
Pitman's Avatar
Pitman Pitman is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Nice, you give me something to work on... I might be able to figure that out with a bit of work. I've not used vBulletin in 5-6 years, so I'm rusty on things. I just wish there was a better way, but I'll attempt what you suggested and try to get it to work

I'll definitely need some help getting started though :\

--------------- Added 30 Nov 2020 at 09:52 ---------------

If I do it that way, how could I pull $channesl?

Last edited by Pitman; 30 Nov 2020 at 09:53.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30 Nov 2020, 10:54
delicjous's Avatar
delicjous delicjous is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Depends and I have not the time to explain that fully. You could create an array by doing search for the needed channels or use your own api-class.
__________________
vBulletin-Forum.de closed!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02 Dec 2020, 05:32
Pitman's Avatar
Pitman Pitman is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
I've been able to only pull the display of categories using those templates. I've not yet figured out how to display the forums I want or the regular forum display of any forums.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02 Dec 2020, 12:06
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
It seems to me you're overcomplicating things.

Construct a JSON search string:

https://forum.vbulletin.com/articles...he-search-json
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02 Dec 2020, 20:20
yilmaz's Avatar
yilmaz yilmaz is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
The area marked in the Forum Home Module edit adjusts the depth of the forum.
__________________
Mark as installed = get support.
Donations always appreciated.
https://www.vbyilmaz.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: