Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Rotating Banner System Details »
Rotating Banner System
Mod Version: 2.4.2, by y2ksw (Coder) y2ksw is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (141 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 1238
Released: 16 Aug 2008 Last Update: 09 Sep 2013 Downloads: 11082
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

With the Rotating Banner System software, you may publish literally anywhere standard banners and advertising, with no restriction but your imagination. Unlike many other products, it allows to show an unlimited amount of banners and advertising, which are randomly shown at the places you choose, and you may refer generically to an Ad by using specific placeholders.

Also the management is straight-forward and simple to use. Forum administrators with maintenance rights may add, edit and delete records from the Administration Control Panel (ACP), one of each representing a banner. After saving the new banner settings, they are immediately visible at your board.

Compatibility: from vBulletin 3.6.5 onwards

By the way, I do also install the hack on your boards, but since I am very, very busy, it may take some time (weeks) until it gets done.


Tutorials:Updates:
  • 2.0.1: Simple click tracker added, HTML help included.
  • 2.0.3: Small bug fixes; additional banner list, navigation bar, E-Mail field for banner event notifications and automatic save on scroll setting; absolute URL to rbs_banner.php in order to allow click tracking on non-standard pages; supported languages: English, Italian; Help file clean-up.
  • 2.0.5: Small bug fixes; additional details in banner list; email notification for epired banners.
  • 2.0.6: vbCMS compatibility bug fix; additional banner lists.
  • 2.0.7: Usergroups filter: now it is possible to define a list of usergroups which may show a banner; additional vbCMS compatibility bug fix.
  • 2.0.8: Various fixes and most of all, inclusion of the right files: admin_rbs.php, cpnav_rbs.xml
  • 2.0.9: Extra comma fix in new record creation.
  • 2.1.0: Fix for an occasional banner type selection bug, when the sample banners have been deleted or disabled.
  • 2.2.0 (Major upgrade): Up to 10 different banner locations. Requires changes to your existing placeholders in your templates, since a more generic format has been chosen. If you don't need more than 2 different locations, you don't need to upgrade. Changed files: rbs_banner.php, admin_rbs.php
  • 2.2.1: Minor bug fix in files: admin_rbs_h_banner_list.php, admin_rbs_v_banner_list.php
  • 2.2.1: Hotfix for Max Clicks saving bug.
  • 2.2.2: More listings and less files. PDF Help. Separate Italian add-ons and help. Duplicate button.
  • 2.2.3: Minor bug fixes. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.2.4: Flash Banner support (beta). Changed files: product-rbs.xml, rbs_wrapper.swf, admin_rbs.php, English Help.
  • 2.2.5: Hotfix for vBulletin 4.0.2 compatibility bug.
  • 2.2.6: Checking for installed Flash Wrapper rbs_wrapper.swf; A few English FAQ; Help files. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.3.0 (Major upgrade): New modules: Delete Expired Banners, Disable Expired Banners; Detail Banner Statistics with unique access key for your customers; Updated help; Changed files: all.
  • 2.3.1: Hotfix for missing field in rbs_hist table. Changed files: none, just update product.
  • 2.3.2: Added: Unsupported option for setting any number of available positions between 1 and big bang. Fixed: Small bug and speed issues. Removed: Italian translation. Italians may now request support at www.vbulletin.it. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.3: Fix: Copy selected forum ID's during banner duplication. Changed: start and end hours for new banners are set to 0:00 and 23:59 respectively. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.4: Option: Send Mail Before. This option allows to schedule expiring banners differently. New variables for emails: $rbs_enddate: This variable holds the formatted banner ending date and time based on the standard formats for date and time in vBulletin settings; $rbs_name: This variable holds the banner name. EMail Notifications option description: Added direct links to the email phrases for quick changes. Changed files: rbs_mail_cron.php.
  • 2.4.0 (Major upgrade): Removed: Option to enable or disable mailing. Banners with email addresses to notify are handled. Setting to reset mailing in single banners. Now, if mailing should be repeated, you will have to edit the banner from phpMyAdmin. Added: Order links in lists. The initial state is ordered by ID, as before. By clicking the titles, the other voices can be ordered. Clicking twice inverts the order. This works in all lists. Options to prevent counting and reducing thus a tiny bit of load. A new bunch of demo banners for new installations. Demo banners are locked into database in order to avoid 30% of the questions because of the 'experts' deleting them before trying the product. They can be disabled and modified though. The true experts can delete them after all testing from the database by using phpMyAdmin without side effects. Changes: Phrase for emailing about expiring banners, now also with direct links to the phrases. Demo banners. Our old publisher ID is replaced with the new ones, and old demo banners are updated with the new ones, if found. The functions have been exported to includes/functions_rbs.php. This makes the product code smaller and easier to maintain, and runs faster on sites where caching/acceleration is enabled. Changed Files: all *.php
  • 2.4.1: Option Likelihood. This new option adds a weight to banners and allows thus to show one banner more often than another. The default weight is 100%. We also make sure that the final date of the default banners falls into a valid range. Changed files: includes/functions_rbs.php and rbs_stats.php.
  • 2.4.2: Workaround for update sequence problems.
Hacks and unsupported add-ons:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	banner.png
Views:	13209
Size:	27.7 KB
ID:	123711   Click image for larger version

Name:	style.jpg
Views:	7588
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	123714   Click image for larger version

Name:	navigation.png
Views:	8198
Size:	4.9 KB
ID:	123715   Click image for larger version

Name:	estatistics.png
Views:	10798
Size:	14.7 KB
ID:	123716  

Click image for larger version

Name:	options.jpg
Views:	3692
Size:	123.7 KB
ID:	137954  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #2221  
Old 02 Mar 2013, 23:54
Melodym Melodym is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Can I stack 2 smaller ads, say 340 x 60 on the right side in the header?

I saw it on another site but couldn't figure out how they did it.

I tried putting stuff in the template ad_global_header1 and ad_global_header2 but I'm not sure how to align them so they are on the right and not running into the top login links.
Reply With Quote
  #2222  
Old 03 Mar 2013, 23:01
fxdigi-cash fxdigi-cash is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Originally Posted by Melodym View Post
Can I stack 2 smaller ads, say 340 x 60 on the right side in the header?

I saw it on another site but couldn't figure out how they did it.

I tried putting stuff in the template ad_global_header1 and ad_global_header2 but I'm not sure how to align them so they are on the right and not running into the top login links.
ok, make two divs say <div align="center" ></div> in the first ad block and another div say <div align="center"></div>, but need to add class and style for the following reasons:

1- to know what each div goes.
2- to add border style to know exactly the edges of the div

so the codes will be like this (ad_global_header1):


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And for code 2 (ad_global_header2):


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I believe you know that you need to add the banner position code between the div tag, right!! wither it is vbseo or vb http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=272725

so in this case you will have two divs with two different borders; red and blue, respectively.

if you want to add style to that, you have two options:

1- to add more styling to style in the div,
2- or remove style from the div and write your own style based on the classes in each div.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2223  
Old 13 Mar 2013, 15:41
flussmitteldj flussmitteldj is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
an it be that the statistic does not work 100% ? where and how you can read the banners yet ?

the clicks do not change, remain on zero

impressionen 13,520,978
Clicks:1


http://www.overclockingstation.de/rb...44e078cbee3bbf

What is that?
__________________
www.OverclockingStation.de

Last edited by flussmitteldj; 13 Mar 2013 at 16:07.
Reply With Quote
  #2224  
Old 13 Mar 2013, 22:36
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by flussmitteldj View Post
an it be that the statistic does not work 100% ? where and how you can read the banners yet ?

the clicks do not change, remain on zero

impressionen 13,520,978
Clicks:1


http://www.overclockingstation.de/rb...44e078cbee3bbf

What is that?
It may not work, if you are normal scripts. You may however craft special scripts which explicitly call the rbs_banner.php script and thus count also clicks, but it is not guaranteed to work with all scripts. For example you may not craft Google Adsense scripts that way.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2225  
Old 14 Mar 2013, 17:12
tacklebox joe's Avatar
tacklebox joe tacklebox joe is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
help please, i downloaded all the files to my root directory however, when i go to import product i am getting this message

Please upload the files that came with the product before installing or upgrading!

Missing files:


I put all the files from the rbs 2.4.0 includes and admincp folder into the includes and admincp folders in my root directory. did i miss something? where do i insert the rbs_iframe.php file?

does not tell me what files are missing any helpis appreciated thanks guys, Joe

Last edited by tacklebox joe; 14 Mar 2013 at 17:23.
Reply With Quote
  #2226  
Old 14 Mar 2013, 22:11
tacklebox joe's Avatar
tacklebox joe tacklebox joe is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
NEVERMIND...I figured it out.
Reply With Quote
  #2227  
Old 15 Mar 2013, 16:59
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
oki
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2228  
Old 17 Mar 2013, 21:20
tacklebox joe's Avatar
tacklebox joe tacklebox joe is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
y2k...i see how you can stack two ads but can you stack banners the same too? your hack works great i'm just figuring it out as a noob but i want the banners to align on the same line so to speak and not be under each other as on my site www.njfishreports.com

<div align="right"><!--@vbbanners:0@--></div>
<div align"left"><!--@vbbanners:0@--></div>
<div align="center"><!--@vbbanners:2@--></div>
Reply With Quote
  #2229  
Old 17 Mar 2013, 23:42
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
If all I'm looking for is something to rotate banner images with no ads, is this mod a bit to much just for doing that?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2230  
Old 18 Mar 2013, 01:19
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by GaryT View Post
If all I'm looking for is something to rotate banner images with no ads, is this mod a bit to much just for doing that?
Compared to what? Coding a rotation in an ad slot yourself? Actually, this mod doesn't do 'rotation' - it only does 'random' - which will often display the same image several times in a row.
Reply With Quote
  #2231  
Old 18 Mar 2013, 01:33
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Well actually what I'm looking for is an add on that will rotate fairly large images on the article page with links for each image to a particular article. More like a slider widget I suppose.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2232  
Old 18 Mar 2013, 11:44
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by tacklebox joe View Post
y2k...i see how you can stack two ads but can you stack banners the same too? your hack works great i'm just figuring it out as a noob but i want the banners to align on the same line so to speak and not be under each other as on my site www.njfishreports.com

<div align="right"><!--@vbbanners:0@--></div>
<div align"left"><!--@vbbanners:0@--></div>
<div align="center"><!--@vbbanners:2@--></div>
The solution is in your example. If you need to show the same banner two times, you will have to use two different locations (and thus, two separate banners). Otherwise you may use the text field pand paste there your HTML code directly.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2233  
Old 18 Mar 2013, 11:45
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by GaryT View Post
Well actually what I'm looking for is an add on that will rotate fairly large images on the article page with links for each image to a particular article. More like a slider widget I suppose.
It is not a carousel
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2234  
Old 19 Mar 2013, 01:16
tacklebox joe's Avatar
tacklebox joe tacklebox joe is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
thanks y2k...have another issue....i can see all the banners i place in position '0' however, when i plae another banner in a different position i.e. '2' '3' and etc they seem not to be showing up on the site...would you know why that would be?

also can you stack more than two banners across, say like four? i.e.

<!--@vbbanners:0@-->&nbsp;<!--@vbbanners:0@--><!--@vbbanners:0@-->&nbsp;<!--@vbbanners:0@-->

Last edited by tacklebox joe; 19 Mar 2013 at 02:13.
Reply With Quote
  #2235  
Old 19 Mar 2013, 10:35
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by tacklebox joe View Post
thanks y2k...have another issue....i can see all the banners i place in position '0' however, when i plae another banner in a different position i.e. '2' '3' and etc they seem not to be showing up on the site...would you know why that would be?

also can you stack more than two banners across, say like four? i.e.

<!--@vbbanners:0@-->&nbsp;<!--@vbbanners:0@--><!--@vbbanners:0@-->&nbsp;<!--@vbbanners:0@-->
Do you have banners for locations 2 and 3?

You may stack any number of banners, as long as you have that many banners in the database. All missing banners are discarded silently, as there is nothing like a default banner in case there are none available.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:23.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: