Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Rotating Banner System Details »
Rotating Banner System
Mod Version: 2.4.2, by y2ksw (Coder) y2ksw is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (141 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 1239
Released: 16 Aug 2008 Last Update: 09 Sep 2013 Downloads: 11083
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

With the Rotating Banner System software, you may publish literally anywhere standard banners and advertising, with no restriction but your imagination. Unlike many other products, it allows to show an unlimited amount of banners and advertising, which are randomly shown at the places you choose, and you may refer generically to an Ad by using specific placeholders.

Also the management is straight-forward and simple to use. Forum administrators with maintenance rights may add, edit and delete records from the Administration Control Panel (ACP), one of each representing a banner. After saving the new banner settings, they are immediately visible at your board.

Compatibility: from vBulletin 3.6.5 onwards

By the way, I do also install the hack on your boards, but since I am very, very busy, it may take some time (weeks) until it gets done.


Tutorials:Updates:
  • 2.0.1: Simple click tracker added, HTML help included.
  • 2.0.3: Small bug fixes; additional banner list, navigation bar, E-Mail field for banner event notifications and automatic save on scroll setting; absolute URL to rbs_banner.php in order to allow click tracking on non-standard pages; supported languages: English, Italian; Help file clean-up.
  • 2.0.5: Small bug fixes; additional details in banner list; email notification for epired banners.
  • 2.0.6: vbCMS compatibility bug fix; additional banner lists.
  • 2.0.7: Usergroups filter: now it is possible to define a list of usergroups which may show a banner; additional vbCMS compatibility bug fix.
  • 2.0.8: Various fixes and most of all, inclusion of the right files: admin_rbs.php, cpnav_rbs.xml
  • 2.0.9: Extra comma fix in new record creation.
  • 2.1.0: Fix for an occasional banner type selection bug, when the sample banners have been deleted or disabled.
  • 2.2.0 (Major upgrade): Up to 10 different banner locations. Requires changes to your existing placeholders in your templates, since a more generic format has been chosen. If you don't need more than 2 different locations, you don't need to upgrade. Changed files: rbs_banner.php, admin_rbs.php
  • 2.2.1: Minor bug fix in files: admin_rbs_h_banner_list.php, admin_rbs_v_banner_list.php
  • 2.2.1: Hotfix for Max Clicks saving bug.
  • 2.2.2: More listings and less files. PDF Help. Separate Italian add-ons and help. Duplicate button.
  • 2.2.3: Minor bug fixes. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.2.4: Flash Banner support (beta). Changed files: product-rbs.xml, rbs_wrapper.swf, admin_rbs.php, English Help.
  • 2.2.5: Hotfix for vBulletin 4.0.2 compatibility bug.
  • 2.2.6: Checking for installed Flash Wrapper rbs_wrapper.swf; A few English FAQ; Help files. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.3.0 (Major upgrade): New modules: Delete Expired Banners, Disable Expired Banners; Detail Banner Statistics with unique access key for your customers; Updated help; Changed files: all.
  • 2.3.1: Hotfix for missing field in rbs_hist table. Changed files: none, just update product.
  • 2.3.2: Added: Unsupported option for setting any number of available positions between 1 and big bang. Fixed: Small bug and speed issues. Removed: Italian translation. Italians may now request support at www.vbulletin.it. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.3: Fix: Copy selected forum ID's during banner duplication. Changed: start and end hours for new banners are set to 0:00 and 23:59 respectively. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.4: Option: Send Mail Before. This option allows to schedule expiring banners differently. New variables for emails: $rbs_enddate: This variable holds the formatted banner ending date and time based on the standard formats for date and time in vBulletin settings; $rbs_name: This variable holds the banner name. EMail Notifications option description: Added direct links to the email phrases for quick changes. Changed files: rbs_mail_cron.php.
  • 2.4.0 (Major upgrade): Removed: Option to enable or disable mailing. Banners with email addresses to notify are handled. Setting to reset mailing in single banners. Now, if mailing should be repeated, you will have to edit the banner from phpMyAdmin. Added: Order links in lists. The initial state is ordered by ID, as before. By clicking the titles, the other voices can be ordered. Clicking twice inverts the order. This works in all lists. Options to prevent counting and reducing thus a tiny bit of load. A new bunch of demo banners for new installations. Demo banners are locked into database in order to avoid 30% of the questions because of the 'experts' deleting them before trying the product. They can be disabled and modified though. The true experts can delete them after all testing from the database by using phpMyAdmin without side effects. Changes: Phrase for emailing about expiring banners, now also with direct links to the phrases. Demo banners. Our old publisher ID is replaced with the new ones, and old demo banners are updated with the new ones, if found. The functions have been exported to includes/functions_rbs.php. This makes the product code smaller and easier to maintain, and runs faster on sites where caching/acceleration is enabled. Changed Files: all *.php
  • 2.4.1: Option Likelihood. This new option adds a weight to banners and allows thus to show one banner more often than another. The default weight is 100%. We also make sure that the final date of the default banners falls into a valid range. Changed files: includes/functions_rbs.php and rbs_stats.php.
  • 2.4.2: Workaround for update sequence problems.
Hacks and unsupported add-ons:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	banner.png
Views:	13209
Size:	27.7 KB
ID:	123711   Click image for larger version

Name:	style.jpg
Views:	7588
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	123714   Click image for larger version

Name:	navigation.png
Views:	8198
Size:	4.9 KB
ID:	123715   Click image for larger version

Name:	estatistics.png
Views:	10798
Size:	14.7 KB
ID:	123716  

Click image for larger version

Name:	options.jpg
Views:	3692
Size:	123.7 KB
ID:	137954  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #2416  
Old 28 Nov 2013, 18:29
bazookajoe's Avatar
bazookajoe bazookajoe is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Is there a way to disable banners just on the CMS Articles pages?
Reply With Quote
  #2417  
Old 29 Nov 2013, 11:04
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by New Joe View Post
Setting this up for the vb sidebar.
I have one block in the sidebar with say 6 clickable banners.
My co admin who does the banners wrote me this::


I think he means as I said, we have one main block within the sidebar with around 6 banners in it, each one goes to a different url when clicked, we need to have each one tracked separately.

Any ideas?
you would insert 6 lines like this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and then insert at least 6 banners in location 0 and you are done. Each banner is tracked separately and the number of banners in your database decide how randomly these banners appear in the given space. If you have 6 or less banners available, the just would flip in the given space (sidebar I guess).
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2418  
Old 29 Nov 2013, 11:10
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by bazookajoe View Post
Got it ..thanks!


Will posting this code as an ad work on any banner ad location like postbits? Do you have to post it in each section?
For postbits you must change the placeholder format in the options, since the vbulletin editor removes html tags. However before going on that adventure I suggest to try first other options, such as the standard ad locations, some of which show in the first and last post of a thread.

Also, having too many banners on one page may penalize you inadvertedly (Google allows up to 3 on each page).
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2419  
Old 29 Nov 2013, 11:36
Toorak Times's Avatar
Toorak Times Toorak Times is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Giovanni, it is identifying the standard ad locations that has me tricked.

I have successfully fluked putting 2 ads in Position 0 a while ago, gone now, but it just wont sink into my head how the RBS interfaces with the standard ad locations.

I'm trying to write an advertising rate and was thinking of limiting each to 5 rotations but putting this down in a way I can sell is doing my head in mate, its mainly trying to decide what shape ad goes where...
Reply With Quote
  #2420  
Old 29 Nov 2013, 12:39
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
A couple days ago I was trying to debug an error I had in vB (ended up non-related to this mod). But in debugging I disabled this mod through the admincp for a few minutes, found out it was not the issue, reenabled it and since then it has not worked. All occurrences of the position code are now just displaying the code.

Prior to disabling / re-enabling it had been working fine for well over 18 months (as long as I had it installed).

Any idea of what might have occurred and why it seems it is just not re-enabling?
Reply With Quote
  #2421  
Old 29 Nov 2013, 13:14
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by bzcomputers View Post
A couple days ago I was trying to debug an error I had in vB (ended up non-related to this mod). But in debugging I disabled this mod through the admincp for a few minutes, found out it was not the issue, reenabled it and since then it has not worked. All occurrences of the position code are now just displaying the code.

Prior to disabling / re-enabling it had been working fine for well over 18 months (as long as I had it installed).

Any idea of what might have occurred and why it seems it is just not re-enabling?
Magic?

I never heared about such an issue ... however it can be a (post) cache issue, if the banners are embedded in posts or CMS widgets, forum blocks and so stuff. The cache can be cleaned partially from the Maintenance area in ACP. For the post cache it needs a query.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2422  
Old 29 Nov 2013, 13:43
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
Magic?

...For the post cache it needs a query.
That's probably it, the code is within a sidebar block - off to figure out a query...
Reply With Quote
  #2423  
Old 30 Nov 2013, 00:14
New Joe's Avatar
New Joe New Joe is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
I searched through this Thread but it's o long and so many different posts I thought i'd ask again.

I have my banners set up, they are image banners, no matter how many times I click them the click counter stays at '0'
How can I make it so it will start to count the clicks?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2424  
Old 30 Nov 2013, 15:51
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by New Joe View Post
I searched through this Thread but it's o long and so many different posts I thought i'd ask again.

I have my banners set up, they are image banners, no matter how many times I click them the click counter stays at '0'
How can I make it so it will start to count the clicks?
Thanks
Could you please indicate me a page where this banner appears?
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2425  
Old 01 Dec 2013, 00:30
New Joe's Avatar
New Joe New Joe is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
Could you please indicate me a page where this banner appears?
All ok now, got it sorted, everything working fine
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2426  
Old 11 Dec 2013, 08:09
dariyos dariyos is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
is it possible to have more than 10 banner positions?

ok, found it in settings.
Reply With Quote
  #2427  
Old 13 Dec 2013, 15:21
GeorgeB85 GeorgeB85 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Can anyone tell me if there is an option for this mod to choose how many seconds it displays an ad before changing it?
Reply With Quote
  #2428  
Old 13 Dec 2013, 15:33
GeorgeB85 GeorgeB85 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Also can anyone tell me, if there is a way that this mod can be used in multiple locations? Meaning, if I want to show one set of ads in one part of the forum (like under the navbar), but show a completely other set of ads above the footer?
Reply With Quote
  #2429  
Old 13 Dec 2013, 17:08
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Originally Posted by GeorgeB85 View Post
Can anyone tell me if there is an option for this mod to choose how many seconds it displays an ad before changing it?
No this is not possible with this mod. It is also against the policy of most advertising companies and can get you banned quickly from their programs for attempting to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #2430  
Old 13 Dec 2013, 17:13
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Originally Posted by GeorgeB85 View Post
Also can anyone tell me, if there is a way that this mod can be used in multiple locations? Meaning, if I want to show one set of ads in one part of the forum (like under the navbar), but show a completely other set of ads above the footer?
Yes, this mod allows for 10 different locations (more is possible but not supported). Positions are 0-9. When inserting an ad into the mod you will assign it to one of those positions.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: