Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Boolean Search as Default in Advanced Search Options Details »
Boolean Search as Default in Advanced Search Options
Mod Version: 1.00, by Neutral Singh (Member) Neutral Singh is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.1 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 2
Released: 12 Nov 2005 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1
Not Supported Template Edits  

Boolean Search as Default in Advanced Search Options
[Should work in all vB 3.5.x versions.]

All Thanks to Jake Bunce, vBulletin Team

Context: I found that Boolean search option returns much more accurate and relevant results as compared to natural search option, which returns so many irrelevant results in comparison to boolean. So, i wanted to set the Boolean Search as default option while doing Advanced Search.

Originally Posted by Jake Bunce

Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> -> Search Templates -> search_forums



Remove the red code:




Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



Add the red code:




Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thats it !!

Demo : http://www.sikhphilosophy.net

Click Install to encourage me to share such cute hacks with you all !! :nervous:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	boolean002.jpg
Views:	285
Size:	60.8 KB
ID:	37446  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Boolean Search in Search Drop-Down Menu Option in Navbar Neutral Singh vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications 9 03 Jul 2007 21:58

Comments
  #2  
Old 12 Nov 2005, 07:42
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Boolean Search causes higher load than natural language, so I wouldn't recommend doing that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12 Nov 2005, 13:21
Snake's Avatar
Snake Snake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Real name: Josh
Agreed!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13 Nov 2005, 05:24
Neutral Singh's Avatar
Neutral Singh Neutral Singh is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Aman Singh
Well, it depends on the type of forum and the type of results you want to present to your members. My forums are content oriented and finding heaps of irrelevant search results only confuse the person and make it rather hard to trace the most relevant thread.

eg. if in my forums i search for a word : Banda Singh Bahadur (dialect)

Now, this search under natural search option returns full 11 pages of search as it provides information about any thread that contains either of the three words present in that thead like Banda,Singh,Bahadur. And the most relevant result for the search was figuring in around 7-8 page of results... useless to members in my case as nobody ever bothers to go through 7-8 pages to find the most relevant result.

Now, if we make the same search under Boolean search option, it returns only 2 pages of search results for those threads which contain the complete phrase "Banda Singh Bahadur". And the most relevant result was the 5-6 topic in the first search results page itself!! How happy my members would be to find that topic, i can well understand.

You can test this example right on my forums --> http://www.sikhphilosophy.net


I have already suggested this to vb.com to make this option to be in the hands of the admin to allow boolean or natural search option. --> here :nervous:

Till then enjoy this mod !! :devious:
Regards

Last edited by Neutral Singh; 13 Nov 2005 at 05:37.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Feb 2006, 16:32
Spinball's Avatar
Spinball Spinball is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Apologies - works fine. My fault.
__________________
AVForums.com the UK's largest audio visual home consumer electronics forums. Now using Xenforo because vB5 is not suitable for large forums and vB3 and vB4 are no longer being developed.

Last edited by Spinball; 10 Feb 2006 at 22:45.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Feb 2006, 17:06
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Hmm ...

Originally Posted by Your search.php
Search: Key Word(s): panasonic, subwoofer
Showing results 1 to 6 of 6
Search took 0.05 seconds. Search:

Panasonic SCHT-520 Subwoofer Problem
Panasonic SAXR55 - Causes subwoofer boom when switching inputs
Panasonic subwoofer
Which subwoofer for Panasonic SCPM91D ?
HELP!!! Panasonic system cable (connects subwoofer/amplifier to dvd unit)
Subwoofer for Panasonic SC-AK77 Mini System
Looks correct to me
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12 Apr 2006, 07:01
dgerson dgerson is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Answered my own question...

A: Boolean search is enabled in the Usergroup settings and requires full text search to be on. See this post
Q:

Anyone using this hack with VB3.5.4 and MySQL Full Text Search? I edited Search_Forums and couldn't find the original code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

When I inserted the replacement code into the template, it appeared as it should on the Advanced Search Page, but didn't seem to work.

Last edited by dgerson; 12 Apr 2006 at 07:14.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:58.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: