Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Mod Options
[ITech] vBExternal Lite Details »
[ITech] vBExternal Lite
Mod Version: 1.00, by Inferno Tech (Member) Inferno Tech is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (8 votes - 4.63 average) Installs: 140
Released: 16 May 2007 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1237
Not Supported Additional Files  

PLEASE REFER TO THE FOLLOWING THREAD FOR HELP/SUPPORT: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=166791

----------------------------------
[ITech] vBExternal Lite
Created By Inferno Technologies (http://www.infernotechnologies.net)
Copyright 2004-2007
All rights reserved
Project Development Team: Zero Tolerance, Acid Burn
Project Lead: Iain "Decado" Kidd
----------------------------------

Ported from vBExternal 1.6 created by Zero Tolerance to work with vBulletin 3.6.x

Features:
  • Easy integration with your existing php scripts
  • No coding experiance needed to make it work
  • Full parsing for bbtags and emoticons/smilies + auto URL correction (no red-x's)
  • Lets you put forum information on your homepage/webpage
  • Users online
  • Latest Threads w/preview
  • More Information *Here*

Installation Information:
  • Template modifications: 0
  • Database changes: 0
  • Files added: 5
  • Files modified: 1 (website page)
  • Installation difficulty: 2/5
Installation Instructions:
1) Unzip the folder and upload the contents of UPLOAD into your root directory
2) Read Useage instructions.txt and then you are done

Version History:
None so far.

Frequently Asked Questions:
Q: So does this able you to put like phrases and stuff in external sites?
A: At the moment it allows you to Display Newest Members, Top Posters, Newest Threads, Newest Replies, News and Users Online onto a page outside of your vbulletin directory.

Q: I have a problem. My page is located at root/cms and my forum at root/forum. It's isn't possible for me to locate the forum in a subfolder of /cms.
Is there any solution for this problem?

A:Yes there is a solution try this piece of code instead of the one that the instructions says to use:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Q: How would i do this if theres 2 different domains involved
A: If the two domains are on both the same server and the same domain account then call you need to do is chdir out of your current account folder (www/public_html/testsite/) to the other domain folder (www/public_html/site2/)

Screenshot:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attac...4&d=1118677511
(Thanks to C.Birch)


Acid Burn - Inferno Technologies Developer

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases [ITech] [AJAX] Inferno vBShout Lite 2.5.0 Inferno Tech Modification Graveyard 1097 25 Aug 2012 13:13
Integration with vBulletin [ITECH] Inferno External Lite Inferno Tech vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 81 27 Nov 2010 14:59
Major Additions [ITech] RPG Inferno 2.4 Lite Inferno Tech Modification Graveyard 149 13 Jul 2007 09:05

  #121  
Old 09 Jan 2008, 16:06
Pacman15 Pacman15 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Hello, I have a problem. I want to show 2 news(Threads) and then the next 5 headlines from the same forum. How can I do that so that the first 2 threads don't show up on the list?? Thank You.
  #122  
Old 10 Jan 2008, 04:31
pewp pewp is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
anyone know how to get itemstats

http://forums.eqdkp.com/index.php?showtopic=7221

to work with this?
  #123  
Old 14 Jan 2008, 05:19
Jack Jones Jack Jones is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Can anyone help with this prob ... ?

It's working I guess, but stalls. I have it implemented on a CMS page, that uses the same db, but with a different prefix. My cms uses pro_ and vBExternal wants vb_ obviously.

The result is the following being displayed where is should be displaying data:

an error occured when executing the following SQL functions:

select username,posts,userid from pro_vb_user order by joindate desc limit 0,5
Error: Table 'localspace.pro_vb_user' doesn't exist
Any advice greatly appreciated.
  #124  
Old 14 Jan 2008, 11:45
marquisite marquisite is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Nice mod.

Will future lite versions of vBExternal include a feature to list the username that the person is currently logged into, or if not, the word 'Guest' ?

E.g. use $vbulletin->userinfo['username']

Previously I had a thing where it would say either 'Welcome, Guest | Register' or 'Welcome, {loggedinuser} | Logout'
  #125  
Old 15 Jan 2008, 07:36
Shanj Shanj is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
use on vb pages

All I want [ ] is to display who's online - the names as links - so the last one on this mod's list of options.
But I want to put it in a side column box on vb itself.
I have Ultimate Side Columns installed, and its stuff is at the end of the navbar template. I then have a nice little interface in VB adminCP Options to edit the side menu boxes.

I put

<?php
chdir('./XXX');
require_once('./vBExternal.php');
?>

into headinclude - wiith XXX as my vb dir

and put

<tr><td>
<?php
output_UsersOnline();
?>
</td></tr>

in my side column in its own row

My html all shows saying WHO'S ONLINE
but nothing shows under it where the code is

tried using gloabal start hook

Plugin Manager -> Add Plugin -> global_start
then put this code in the text:

require_once('./vBExternal.php');

anyone know how to make this work on all vb pages?
or is there another mod?
  #126  
Old 23 Jan 2008, 20:35
kevinpowertv kevinpowertv is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Is there a way to add attachments to this? I want to attach an image to a post and have it show up externally on my PHP website. Thanks!
  #127  
Old 24 Jan 2008, 16:46
andy91287 andy91287 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Is there any way to display CERTAIN posts from a forum (like adding a category/new post field)? This is probably a completely different thing all together. I maybe should ask somewhere instead of bothering you.
  #128  
Old 24 Jan 2008, 21:28
devilsmania devilsmania is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Hello there

i have a problem with Internet Explorer (6 and 7)

as you can see at http://www.devilsmania.com/ i am using 2 New Threads, 1 for english 1 for italian, the problem is that if i open the site with FIREFOX the 2 things are showing, BUT if i open it with IE (still used by most of people) only the first one is shown

how can i fix this problem on IE ? why doesnt he like 2 'output_NewestReplies'
  #129  
Old 24 Jan 2008, 21:57
devilsmania devilsmania is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by devilsmania View Post
Hello there

i have a problem with Internet Explorer (6 and 7)

as you can see at http://www.devilsmania.com/ i am using 2 New Threads, 1 for english 1 for italian, the problem is that if i open the site with FIREFOX the 2 things are showing, BUT if i open it with IE (still used by most of people) only the first one is shown

how can i fix this problem on IE ? why doesnt he like 2 'output_NewestReplies'


ignore this fixed, following some infos :
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=164003
  #130  
Old 24 Jan 2008, 22:48
Lombardo Lombardo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Do you need to have External v1.6 to use this?
  #131  
Old 26 Jan 2008, 20:16
Lombardo Lombardo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
anyone please?
  #132  
Old 26 Jan 2008, 20:47
devilsmania devilsmania is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
all you need is a full version of Vbulletin and perhaps this Add-On, nothing else....
  #133  
Old 30 Jan 2008, 09:58
Strafe Strafe is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
So basically what is the difference with vBExternal Lite and Zero Tolerance's vBExternal.

Whats a good reason for changing over to this one? Any added features?
  #134  
Old 30 Jan 2008, 14:01
Inferno Tech's Avatar
Inferno Tech Inferno Tech is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
this was ported from vbexternal to work with 3.6.4, the new version is Inferno External, which does have new features etc, but thats elsewhere
__________________

We're Hiring *PM for info*
  #135  
Old 30 Jan 2008, 14:26
Lombardo Lombardo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I really don't know how to install this and get it to work,i would love this for my site.

Its this i don't understand,i'm new to this

First the webpage you use it on must be php, if it is .htm/.html just re-name the extension to .php
Next step is to call the file, in this example we assume that your site is: http://hello.com, and your
forum is located at: http://hello.com/forums, so insert this code at the very top of our php file:

How do i go about creating a php file?

any instructions for begginers? lol
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:05.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: