Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Thread Thumbnails Details »
Thread Thumbnails
Mod Version: 3.1.0, by Null Parameter (Member) Null Parameter is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (29 votes - 4.76 average) Installs: 240
Released: 03 Mar 2010 Last Update: 30 Apr 2010 Downloads: 1646
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

Thread Thumbnails
Created By: Null Parameter

The Thread Thumbnails mod allows users of a forum to specify, in several possible ways, a thumbnail for their thread to be displayed on Forumdisplay thread list.

I had created the mod for vB 3.8, but people we're crying out for a ported version to vB4, and, thanks to help from several of the members, here it is!


Description of Features

Thumbnails are displayed on the Forumdisplay next to the threadicon.
In the ACP Options, assuming you are using the Auto-Template Edits, you can choose which side of the icon to display it on.

Forum Display Screenshot


When submitting a new thread or editing the first post of a thread, a thumbnail can be specified directly if the User Entered URL option is chosen in the ACP. Another option is to Require the thumbnail. If the thumbnail isn't required, it may be left blank by the user, and it can either not be shown at all on forumdisplay or be replaced by a default thumbnail image specified in the ACP.

New Thread Screenshot

Edit Post Screenshot


All available options in the ACP include...
  • Turn Off/On Thumbnails
  • Turn Off/On Auto-Template Edits
  • Which forums to use thumbnails in
  • Turn Off/On thumbnails on sticky threads
  • Require thumbnails (doesn't work with attachment option)
  • Choose to retrieve thumbnails from one of the following
    • User Entered URL
    • First Attachment
    • First Image in Post
  • Choose where thumbnail is displayed in threadbit (relies on Auto-Template Edits)
  • Thumbnail CSS Style
  • Specify No Thumbnail Replacement Image
ACP Options Screenshot


This version is also now using phrases, so it can more easily be translated!


Installation

Install the product XML file. That's it!

If you have a highly customized style, there is a chance that the auto-template edits will not work. In that case, you will need to make the template edits manually. See the included README for more details.


Thumbnail Style

The style for thumbnails is specified in the ACP. It is used to choose exactly how thumbnails will be displayed, including width, height, margins, borders and many other attributes.

The style is specified in CSS, and is applied directly to the HTML img tag.

Here are some examples of possible thumbnail styles, along with a description of what they will do. If you don't know much about CSS, you can learn more here.
  • Every thumbnail will have a width of 100 pixels, but be constrained to being a maximum of 150 pixels in height
    • width:100px;max-height:150px;
  • Every thumbnail will have a width of 120 pixels and have a margin of 3 pixels around the thumbnail, so that it doesn't touch any of the other elements in the threadbit
    • width:120px;margin:3px;
  • Thumbnails aren't allowed to exceed 150 pixels in either dimension, and are also mildly transparent
    • max-width:150px;max-height:150px;opacity:0.8;filter:alpha(opacity=80);
Note: Using CSS positioning attributes (i.e. position, float, clear, etc.) could mess up the threadbit structure, so beware.


FAQs

The version of this mod for vB 3.8 showed thumbnails in the search results. Where did they go?
The search system between vB 3.x and vB4 changed significantly. I didn't have the time to figure out the complexity of it, and was unable to find any examples of other mods that integrated into the search results.

If you know how this is done, feel free to contact me and we can work to get this feature back in!
Does this mod work for RTL Languages, such as Arabic?
There is a separate product XML file available for download that has the appropriate changes to support RTL languages.
When I choose the First Image in Post option, no thumbnails show up in my current threads. Why?
Thumbnails are only updated when a new thread is created or when the first post is edited. Parsing through every forum/thread whenever the options are changed could be disastrous for performance.

Luckily, a user of this mod, megamoose, created a script that you can use to help this out. I want this method to be known, but because I didn't write this, I make no promises that it will work.

Originally Posted by megamoose View Post
This should enable batch processing. I have tested it.
Change the $STEP_AMOUNT at the top to something lower if you still get errors
Remember this is for vB version 3.8
Always backup your data before running scripts like these

TO THOSE WHO HAVEN'T BEEN FOLLOWING THE CONVERSATION:
This script will go through all your existing posts and give them thumbnails, based on the First IMG in post option.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Translations

Arabic

Versions

v3.1
  • Fix for Required Thumbnails
  • New feature to automatically use ALL Forums
v3.0
  • Support for vB4!
  • Use Phrases
  • Option to make Thumbnails Required
  • Option to select where to show the thumbnail on Forumdisplay
  • Option to specify the CSS Style of thumbnail images
Mod Support

I am fully willing to support this mod and continue to add new feature to it when they are desired enough to make them applicable to the product as a whole. The issue is that I do not have access to a vB4 installation, and therefore cannot develop.

Several people were gracious enough to offer up a test installation for me to use, and that is how this mod exists today. If any new features/fixes are wanted, other people will need to be just as gracious.

Also, since I don't own a vB4 instance, I'm supporting this strictly out of the kindness of my heart. So, if you wish to Support me as a developer, it would be much appreciated.

Enjoy!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	forumdisplay.png
Views:	8121
Size:	148.2 KB
ID:	113497   Click image for larger version

Name:	editpost.png
Views:	2995
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	113498   Click image for larger version

Name:	newthread.png
Views:	2918
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	113499   Click image for larger version

Name:	adminoptions.jpg
Views:	2390
Size:	121.5 KB
ID:	113500  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
New Posting Features Thread Thumbnails Null Parameter vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 349 14 Feb 2015 02:53

  #196  
Old 06 Jan 2011, 21:53
megamoose's Avatar
megamoose megamoose is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Real name: Mark Wylde
Null, thanks for this mod. It is perfect.

The thumbnail generator I created in the previous version had a bug in it which would cause a great server load. This new version should run a lot quicker and more efficient. Remember if it does hang on your server decrease the STEP_AMOUNT variable.

Create a file on your server called threadthumbupdate.php with the following in the file and open it in your browser.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 09 Jan 2011, 15:43
DavidMatus DavidMatus is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Originally Posted by megamoose View Post
Null, thanks for this mod. It is perfect.

The thumbnail generator I created in the previous version had a bug in it which would cause a great server load. This new version should run a lot quicker and more efficient. Remember if it does hang on your server decrease the STEP_AMOUNT variable.
And now is even better Thank you so much! now it work so perfect
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 14 Jan 2011, 03:16
fxwoody's Avatar
fxwoody fxwoody is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Well Moose! You made my day my friend
Just reinstalled the new 4.1.1 for my forum and used your Script.......you're the man !!!!

Works like a charm
No more overload nor crash of anything.

I think you should take over this mod and reorganize it for every one.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 14 Jan 2011, 06:24
AlexisMedia AlexisMedia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
If your using the upload 1st attachment option and a user accidently uploaded the wrong image 1st... is there a way I can admin change which image is the thumbnail? Other then having the user redo the post?

Is there a way I can maybe access the users attachment and change the image for that attachment name or something?

Does that make sense?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 14 Jan 2011, 23:22
AlexisMedia AlexisMedia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
My users were too frustrated with this so I had to uninstall. I would REALLY like it if this can be either editable by admin OR a separate specified attachment option when the user is writing their post. It can be attached and changed as the user pleases... I'll keep my eye out because I REALLY want this feature but the 1st attachment thing just doesn't work out. Img tags don't work about because not all are using image tags over attachments. And user entered URL doesn't work if the user is doing it as an attachment. So many options but not 1 solution that works for everybody and is easily changeable : (
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old 14 Jan 2011, 23:39
Athena1984 Athena1984 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I have the settings to pull the first image in the post as the thumbnail and for some reason, it will not show up after initially posting. I have to post the thread then edit for the thumbnail to show up. Could this be because of another modification? Initially, I thought it was because of the MOD System, like vbulletin.org has so, I disabled it but, it's still giving me the same issue.
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 18 Jan 2011, 11:49
DaPike DaPike is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I'm using 4.1.0PL2. I can only see the NO THUMB COVER!
All used links to the right covers are not shown. There is also only the NO COVER to see!

What to do to get this mod working??
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 20 Jan 2011, 20:09
megamoose's Avatar
megamoose megamoose is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Real name: Mark Wylde
Going to repost this as it works the exact some for this version as the old:

Okay next fix:

If you are using the First Image in Post option, you will notice you only get a thumbnail when you update the post, and not when you create a new one. To fix this:

Goto the Manage Plugins tab in your ACP and edit New Thread - Save Thumbnail, Datamanager

You will then want to replace the Plugin PHP Code with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 24 Jan 2011, 18:09
Chris Ober Chris Ober is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
How can I enable this to work with First Attachment AND First Image in post?

Right now, if set to First Attachment, it doesn't display thumbnails for images hosted outside of the site (entered in IMG tags).

If it's set to First Image in Post, then the external image thumbnails are displayed but not the attachment ones.
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 25 Jan 2011, 21:01
bybart's Avatar
bybart bybart is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Working for 4.0.1? If not there for 4.1.0;
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 25 Jan 2011, 23:50
james shadle's Avatar
james shadle james shadle is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by Chris Ober View Post
How can I enable this to work with First Attachment AND First Image in post?

Right now, if set to First Attachment, it doesn't display thumbnails for images hosted outside of the site (entered in IMG tags).

If it's set to First Image in Post, then the external image thumbnails are displayed but not the attachment ones.

Great question Chris.
I could use that feature on my board as well.
James
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 03 Feb 2011, 14:03
fxwoody's Avatar
fxwoody fxwoody is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Ok guys! i manage to make the thumbnail to work perfectly with the "User Entered URL"
function !!

The way i work on my forum, is, i have sections that i want to display the thumbnails for each thread, so, in the option menu, i use "User Entered URL" and "Thumbnails Required" set to yes.
Now, u can also put the option "Thumbnails Required" to NO and it will also get automatically the thumbnail image you set up in the "No Thumbnail Replacement Image".

The way i made it work in my V4.1.1 is like this:

In New posting Templates / newthread

Find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and paste after:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


in editpost

find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and paste after:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


In plugin manager for "Product : Thread Thumbnails"
in the : "New Thread - Save Thumbnail, Datamanager"

replace everything with this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Hope it helps a few of you
Attached Images
File Type: png newthread.png (32.7 KB, 42 views)
File Type: png edit.png (39.9 KB, 42 views)
File Type: png no url.png (43.1 KB, 41 views)
File Type: png threadlist.png (130.9 KB, 78 views)
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 06 Feb 2011, 19:27
dirk2103 dirk2103 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Originally Posted by megamoose View Post
Okay next fix:

If you are using the First Image in Post option, you will notice you only get a thumbnail when you update the post, and not when you create a new one. To fix this:

Goto the Manage Plugins tab in your ACP and edit New Thread - Save Thumbnail, Datamanager

You will then want to replace the Plugin PHP Code with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Thanks ,this fix Works Perfect for 4.1.1

Last edited by dirk2103; 06 Feb 2011 at 19:33.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 16 Feb 2011, 22:48
TCB's Avatar
TCB TCB is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Thanks (y)

Would it be possible to have this custom icon INSTEAD of the threadicon, instead of having it left or right to it?
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 16 Feb 2011, 23:40
solohdes solohdes is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Does not work on vB 4.1.2, the thumbnail URL bar does not appear.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: