Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB Database Backup Pro (Lite) for vb 3.6 Details »
vB Database Backup Pro (Lite) for vb 3.6
Mod Version: 2.12, by Paul M (Member) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (41 votes - 4.66 average) Installs: 583
Released: 18 Sep 2006 Last Update: 10 Oct 2006 Downloads: 3334
Not Supported Auto-Template Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

This modification is no longer available or supported.

When vb 3.5 first came out I was using this backup system on my vb 3.0 - and having nothing better to use - I converted it to work on vb 3.5 (here) and since then I have cut it down and adapted it for vb 3.6.

The original version was by Trigunflame and the rights to the code were bought by Zoints (D.Chapman) in January. A while ago David gave me permission to release my adaption, but until now I haven't got round to it. Trigunflame did mention a few months ago he was working on a new version, but nothing ever appeared.

I have stripped out much of the extra stuff that I do not use (or indeed, could not get to work). This is a simple (lite) version that does a php based dump of your database either as one file, or one file per table. It's been in use on our forum since the day 3.6 was installed.

Notes:
* I will not add anything new to this, or spend vast amounts of time supporting it.
* This is a Lite version to allow people to use the basic 3.0 backup functionality on 3.6.


History:

v2.10 : First internal version.
v2.11 : Bug fixes, some code changes.
v2.12 : Initial Public Release.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 15:03
rainyleaves rainyleaves is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Install!!
Thanks Paul~~^^
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 15:15
rezapci's Avatar
rezapci rezapci is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
thanks so muchhhhhhhhh

awesome plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 16:00
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Hi m8, just installed this version seen as the other version stopped working..

I get this error when i run it manually to check it...

An error occured during the MySQL backup. Details (Could not open Destination SQL file for writing.)

What have i forgotten please

I take it

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Is what we need to edit, if so would this be right, e.g.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

or have i got it totaly wrong?

Or is it sommat else i forgot, sorry m8 but me aint 100% clued up on stuff like this yet!!
__________________
Bashy

Bashys Place ~ Bashys Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 16:15
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Only you know where on your server you are going to store the backups.

DIR is the path to your forum root folder (without the trailing '/') - so what you have is probably wrong, I would guess you are trying to use a folder called mydbbackup in your forum folder, so it would be DIR.'/mydbbackup/' .

JFYI - Storing backups in your forum folder is a very bad idea, as anyone could download them.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 17:11
seany1 seany1 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 17:17
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
nah its ok m8 that was just an example so that i i had an idea as to what to put...its not gonna be in my forum folder, its actually going in the root

Thanks again

Ps you said without the trailing, yet you added a trailing in ya post, also the config file says with trailing as well
Which is it please?
__________________
Bashy

Bashys Place ~ Bashys Hosting

Last edited by bashy; 18 Sep 2006 at 17:21.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 17:48
voteforbird's Avatar
voteforbird voteforbird is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Will this work on large boards? (300,000 posts)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 17:52
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by bashy
Ps you said without the trailing, yet you added a trailing in ya post, also the config file says with trailing as well
Which is it please?
I suggest you read it again. I said DIR is the path to your forum, with no trailing '/' in it.

Originally Posted by voteforbird
Will this work on large boards? (300,000 posts)
We have over 3/4 million posts.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 18:06
KoC KoC is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Is there any option for upload the file automaticly via ftp
__________________
http://www.payidar.net

More and more..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 18:10
Neal-UK's Avatar
Neal-UK Neal-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Neal
I have my backup off the root, but when I enter the same settings as when I do a manual backup I get the same error bashy gets.

In the config file, it does say DIR for the backup with trailing "/"

I've entered it like "/site/user/whatever/isit/dbbackup/"
__________________
talkGEEK | Burnley Online
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 18:17
phpdevrus's Avatar
phpdevrus phpdevrus is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
you just need to chmod the directory to make it writable. ;-) also remember to keep it out of public_html so that it is not viewable to the web.

also keep the directory within your sites dirs and not off of / but rather a local dir for that particular site ie. /site/user/what/backups/ or /home/whatever/backups.

your script will run as the user nobody or your account user, which will not allow it to write files off of root ie. /dbbackups

hope that helps.


----


i forgot to mention... nice... :-) works fine for me and i have 900k post. it might cause a load issue but it seems the same compared to when i run mysqldump from ssh.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 18:21
Neal-UK's Avatar
Neal-UK Neal-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Neal
It's all set right then, the directory is chmod to 777 as i normally do a manual backup. It's one above public_html also for security reasons.

Can't get it to work.

EDIT: Replaced file with directory
__________________
talkGEEK | Burnley Online

Last edited by Neal-UK; 18 Sep 2006 at 18:28.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 18:22
phpdevrus's Avatar
phpdevrus phpdevrus is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
no i meant chmod the directory and not the file. let me know if that works or not.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18 Sep 2006, 18:28
Neal-UK's Avatar
Neal-UK Neal-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Neal
Yes the directory is chmod to 777, as I normally do a manual backup.

Weird, useful mod this too.
__________________
talkGEEK | Burnley Online
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: