Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04 May 2008, 20:08
kj_202 kj_202 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Smile SPF help needed if possible

Basically I was wondering how can I set up a spf record?

I have some ideas...
but stuck a bit...


Any ideas?
Ask for more details if you don't get what exactly I am asking for...

Edit: Problem Solved, host dealt with it after contacting them.

Last edited by kj_202; 29 May 2008 at 16:14.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04 May 2008, 21:54
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=176254
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04 May 2008, 22:10
kj_202 kj_202 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Snake Nice to see you again!

I seen that link earlier before I posted I tried that but it don't work.

If you can go through step by step, message back please.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04 May 2008, 23:11
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
I cant walk you thru it, i have no idea what you site name is or how your trying to add the spf record to your dns record, once you add it to your dns record you need to restart named or use ndc if your on a linux box.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05 May 2008, 01:40
wally's Avatar
wally wally is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
first link on google (search for spf records)

http://www.openspf.org/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05 May 2008, 13:08
kj_202 kj_202 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
I cant walk you thru it, i have no idea what you site name is or how your trying to add the spf record to your dns record, once you add it to your dns record you need to restart named or use ndc if your on a linux box.
My hosting company is on a linux server.

Shall I pm you details of my forum?
I am trying to add a spf record to prevent emails going to "junk".
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05 May 2008, 17:30
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
Sure, but if you dont have access to edit your dns records on the server, you will need the host to change the record and restart named, if you have root access or are a root reseller, they most likely gave you dns rights.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05 May 2008, 17:31
kj_202 kj_202 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
Sure, but if you dont have access to edit your dns records on the server, you will need the host to change the record and restart named, if you have root access or are a root reseller, they most likely gave you dns rights.
They gave access to change my domain record and spf record. To add them/remove them.

Is that okay?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05 May 2008, 17:33
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
It should be as long as you can either ndc or restart named so the changes take effect.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05 May 2008, 17:36
kj_202 kj_202 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
It should be as long as you can either ndc or restart named so the changes take effect.
Sorry to sound dumb but I ain't exactly an expert

What is ndc or restart named?

Is it something to do with servers?

Last edited by kj_202; 05 May 2008 at 17:50.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05 May 2008, 18:35
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
Yes, named is the program that helps resolve domain names.

You can use ndc reload to refresh the dns records that named is running on your server, it has to be ran fro ma command shell/ssh, basically does what a restart of named does.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05 May 2008, 18:49
kj_202 kj_202 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
Yes, named is the program that helps resolve domain names.

You can use ndc reload to refresh the dns records that named is running on your server, it has to be ran fro ma command shell/ssh, basically does what a restart of named does.
Oh I see...

It has shell/ssh, that okay?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05 May 2008, 21:31
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
Yes, that is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06 May 2008, 16:00
kj_202 kj_202 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
Yes, that is fine.
okay thanks snake...
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: