Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 17 Sep 2010, 19:02
Hell Bomb's Avatar
Hell Bomb Hell Bomb is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Tom Thorton
if condition based on thread prefix

Does anyone know if vBulletin already has a if condition that will activate based on a single threads prefix?
__________________
http://www.trinityentertainment.net/
vBulletin 3.8 stylist - Temporarily unavailable (Anything from Small Edits to Full Skins)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21 Sep 2010, 01:24
Hell Bomb's Avatar
Hell Bomb Hell Bomb is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Tom Thorton
-= bump =-
__________________
http://www.trinityentertainment.net/
vBulletin 3.8 stylist - Temporarily unavailable (Anything from Small Edits to Full Skins)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21 Sep 2010, 04:13
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Probably something like:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change $threadinfo to be the appropriate variable for template you are using it in.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24 Sep 2010, 16:20
Hell Bomb's Avatar
Hell Bomb Hell Bomb is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Tom Thorton
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Probably something like:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change $threadinfo to be the appropriate variable for template you are using it in.
well I am trying to change the information that displays on the forumhome depending on the prefix of a thread in my forum
__________________
http://www.trinityentertainment.net/
vBulletin 3.8 stylist - Temporarily unavailable (Anything from Small Edits to Full Skins)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24 Sep 2010, 18:25
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
What hook location are you using? Go find it in the code and see what variable is appropriate to use in there.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25 Sep 2010, 03:13
Hell Bomb's Avatar
Hell Bomb Hell Bomb is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Tom Thorton
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
What hook location are you using? Go find it in the code and see what variable is appropriate to use in there.
hmm honestly no clue, i have a post lets say www.example.com/forum/showthread.php?view=1 or something and it has the prefix "prefix" and the id of it is 2, on the forum home page if i change the prefix to something else say prefix id1 then i want it to change the display on the forum home page, I will be searching in the vbmanual for the right hook location or w/e you call it but any tips or advice would be much apperciated, sorry for seeming so useless, i am mainly a visual coder sticking to only themes, but this one has been getting me.
__________________
http://www.trinityentertainment.net/
vBulletin 3.8 stylist - Temporarily unavailable (Anything from Small Edits to Full Skins)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07 Oct 2010, 18:21
Hell Bomb's Avatar
Hell Bomb Hell Bomb is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Tom Thorton
-= Bump =-
__________________
http://www.trinityentertainment.net/
vBulletin 3.8 stylist - Temporarily unavailable (Anything from Small Edits to Full Skins)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07 Oct 2010, 18:31
cad2go cad2go is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by hellbomb View Post
hmm honestly no clue, i have a post lets say www.example.com/forum/showthread.php?view=1 or something and it has the prefix "prefix" and the id of it is 2, on the forum home page if i change the prefix to something else say prefix id1 then i want it to change the display on the forum home page, I will be searching in the vbmanual for the right hook location or w/e you call it but any tips or advice would be much apperciated, sorry for seeming so useless, i am mainly a visual coder sticking to only themes, but this one has been getting me.
have you tried rebuilding the counters in maintenace @admincp. vb does ^^^^. Sometimes it takes a while for the preview on forumhome to update to the new prefix is all.

I want to hide threads from guests that have the prefix NWS: (not work safe) so something like Lynne posted would be the direction I'd start with but that's a different case.

Can you show us visually? i.e. a pic of the forum and a pic of forumhome how you'd like it. Maybe we can figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18 Oct 2010, 16:44
Hell Bomb's Avatar
Hell Bomb Hell Bomb is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Tom Thorton
The image should give you all the information you need
http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/6753/helpoq.jpg
__________________
http://www.trinityentertainment.net/
vBulletin 3.8 stylist - Temporarily unavailable (Anything from Small Edits to Full Skins)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18 Oct 2010, 18:17
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I have no idea what I am supposed to be looking at in that image and what it is you want to change/add in there.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements Different Postbit on first post based on prefix (news thread) tpearl5 vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 19 16 May 2013 18:16



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:22.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: