Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
T-VBhoroscopes Addon -daily updated content Details »
T-VBhoroscopes Addon -daily updated content
Mod Version: 1.00, by lebanon (Member) lebanon is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.1 Rating: (4 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 74
Released: 24 Sep 2006 Last Update: Never Downloads: 464
Not Supported  

This is a quick vb-horoscopes feature to add to your forum.
I just made this and tested it on my forum, working fine as shown demo below

Requirements:
php fopen on
ADDED : IF fopen is not ON on your webserver , download the second zip file called gethoroscopes.php and replace the one in your cron folder with this one that uses Curl instead of fopen.
Installation :
-Upload the files to their respective locations
-Install the product using the VBulletin product manager
Your done !

You can test your script directly by going to your scheduled task
and using "RUN NOW" you should see the script output and then you
can go check your page at http://urforum/dailyhoroscopes.php


License :
- Your are allowed to query our website using the cronjob once everyday
Leave on default installation and you will not be breaking any rule, or only change the HOUR and MINUTE of runtime.
- You can freely modify the template the way you wish, all you need is
to leave the $result reference where you want it for the script to function
I will also appreciate if you share us with your modified template !

- You are required to keep the copyright text in your template, however if
you prefer to remove it, you can only do that after contacting me and recieving permission to do so ( free of charge ofcourse )

DEMO
http://www.tchatting.com/forum/dailyhoroscopes.php
or choose a sign
http://www.tchatting.com/forum/daily...php?sign=aries

If you use this and wish to recieve support please click INSTALL

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Major Additions Advanced Daily Automatic Updated Horoscopes Hack v2.0.1 Hasann vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 150 17 Jan 2014 14:23
Pre-defined content for newthread/reply. (UPDATED) waza vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 55 31 Oct 2013 08:49
futureal vBProArcade and Lesane Store hack addon (updated) Dark Jim vBulletin 2.x Beta Releases 29 17 Sep 2002 10:32

  #31  
Old 27 Sep 2006, 22:35
oberheimhaven's Avatar
oberheimhaven oberheimhaven is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Mark Anthony
I did still nothing to read???? I click on the scope nothing comes up to read??? next> thxs

cron_horoscopes

Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/aries.txt)Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/taurus.txt)Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/gemini.txt)Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/cancer.txt)Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/leo.txt)Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/virgo.txt)Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/libra.txt)Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/scorpio.txt)Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/sagittarius.txt)Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/capricorn.txt)Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/aquarius.txt)Success, wrote () to file (./dailyhoroscopes/pisces.txt)
Done
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 01:51
Zowners Zowners is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I had the same problem with having to chmod several files before it would work...so I hope I didn't hit your site more than once. And also the cron didn't work today. Will I have to do this manually once a day? And finally...what does this mean: php fopen on? How would I go about this? Maybe if I do or fix this the cron will work? Otherwise I love astrology/this mod. :=)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 02:16
lebanon lebanon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
oberheimhaven , try chmodding the files in dailyhoroscope/*.txt to 755 or 777 , depending on ur host configuration, i have em 755 but are writable by user so it works fine .
fopen , to check for it , either put a php file with this is it :
<? phpinfo(); ?>
and open it in browser , go to allow_url_fopen and see if its On or Off .
Or if u dont want to create the file , in ur admincp , and in the last tab u will find a php info page ready for you, check there.

Zowners : am not counting hits not, it doesnt really bother me for now, but if this had too many subscribers it will start to , because the files are updated one time aday so its useless to grab them more than once a day ! , while for testing porpuses its accepted and it will show on my logs that they are not repeated daily ( cron times will appear as same times repeatedly )
__________________
More than 3000+ Live Games Per Month And Exclusive Community Forums
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 02:55
oberheimhaven's Avatar
oberheimhaven oberheimhaven is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Mark Anthony
????????

Originally Posted by lebanon
oberheimhaven , try chmodding the files in dailyhoroscope/*.txt to 755 or 777 , depending on ur host configuration, i have em 755 but are writable by user so it works fine .
fopen , to check for it , either put a php file with this is it :
<? phpinfo(); ?>
and open it in browser , go to allow_url_fopen and see if its On or Off .
Or if u dont want to create the file , in ur admincp , and in the last tab u will find a php info page ready for you, check there.

Zowners : am not counting hits not, it doesnt really bother me for now, but if this had too many subscribers it will start to , because the files are updated one time aday so its useless to grab them more than once a day ! , while for testing porpuses its accepted and it will show on my logs that they are not repeated daily ( cron times will appear as same times repeatedly )

Or if u dont want to create the file , in ur admincp , and in the last tab u will find a php info page ready for you, check there.


Im so sorry What am I checking for?? I chmod still nothing They are there but nothing opens Im running 3.6.0 this will work correct?? I will keep working on her thanks for the reply

Is there no control for this in admin cp???? I have done everything i know to do and nothing it comes up however when clicked on for horoscope ziltch??

http://www.musiciansquarters.com/for...sign=capricorn Nothing???

Last edited by oberheimhaven; 28 Sep 2006 at 03:27.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 03:16
bada_bing's Avatar
bada_bing bada_bing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by lebanon
if the cron have not been ran yet, you might want to run it manually the first time, go to scheduled tasts and on cron_horoscope click run now.
also if there is an error it will show when u run the cron.
After that you wont need to do it.
I looked several times and there is not con job called cron_horoscope I tried to add a cron manually but when I do that I get an error
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 03:19
bada_bing's Avatar
bada_bing bada_bing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by lebanon
Well , yes ur fetching a feed from my feeds , now depending on the nature of the feeds and that its only 1 time per day its not a problem for me or my server . Yet , if you want to fetch ur own feed, ill be glad to explain it and set the feed directly on your feed when u prvt msg me with the feed u want to adjust the horoscopes to , it wont take more than 10-20 minutes to set it for a different source .

- ang2el : no the cron will auto update the horoscopes for you daily, thats what is it for .

- kofoid : it should run without a problem, the template and custom page coding are almost the same since there are no advanced requests so i havent tested it but am positive it should work fine.

- bada_bing : The cron is called cron_horoscopes it runs daily 1 time.

as for vbadvanced i havent implemented this to it , but i suppose it would be fine to do so with minimal work , we have the source and we have the signs each in a seperate txt , so what are you suggesting exactly ? Random Sign ? or links to signs or ...?
oberheimhaven : you have to link it anywhere you link to , the file to link to is www.yourforum.tld/dailyhoroscopes.php

hope i didnt miss any question ... regards
As to vbadvance I would like a miniture version of all the signs contained withing a block so I can display this hack on my portal
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 03:37
Zowners Zowners is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Originally Posted by lebanon
Zowners : am not counting hits not, it doesnt really bother me for now, but if this had too many subscribers it will start to , because the files are updated one time aday so its useless to grab them more than once a day ! , while for testing porpuses its accepted and it will show on my logs that they are not repeated daily ( cron times will appear as same times repeatedly )
Well I don't think it went through until I had all the dir chmod...so that's good. But I added it yesterday & checked on it all day...it never updated itself. I did so manually not long ago. Will I have to do this manually once per day? It's ok if I do I just need to know so I don't do it manually then it suddenly work/do it twice on you. I'm trying very hard to respect your wishes.

And I never knew what php fopen on meant. I did everything else & this thing seems to be working fine other than the cron. Did the fact I didn't do anything about this php fopen on cause the automatic cron to fail?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 09:15
Sarver Sarver is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Yea, i'm havin the same problem.. no horoscope is showing up. I'm just wondering.. do i have to manually type in the horoscopes myself? .. i hope not lol.

Anyways, hope someone can help out lol.

Dave.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 19:31
oberheimhaven's Avatar
oberheimhaven oberheimhaven is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Mark Anthony
same deal huh??? Hey it loaded fine No horoscopes I croned I have done everything I possible know how to do?? Still no horoscopes any ideal let me know If i find out will do the same I have installed 3.6.0 but nothing ;-(

From my host
The PHP option allow_url_fopen would normally allow a programmer to open, include or otherwise use a remote file using a URL rather than a local file path. For security reasons, DreamHost has disabled this feature; however, a feature-rich alternative exists in the form of the bundled cURL library, and you can always get around the problem by compiling your own version of PHP.

Last edited by oberheimhaven; 29 Sep 2006 at 03:20.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 20:42
lebanon lebanon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
oberheimhaven,
please check the link
http://www.yousite/urforum/admincp/index.php?do=phpinfo
in PHP CORE section
find value of
allow_url_fopen (should be) On On

as for the rest of questions, ofcourse you should not update anything daily, if the first time u run the cron manually it succeeds , then surely next time it will succeed with no doubt and nothing ever u should do from ur side after that ! ....
There is no reason at all for the cron to run manually successfully and not run in background successfully too !
Yes also the horoscopes should run on vb 3.6.0 too ,

bada-king if u dont see the cron , are u sure u did import the xml product file ? it should create the cron for u automatically ...
__________________
More than 3000+ Live Games Per Month And Exclusive Community Forums
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 20:53
oberheimhaven's Avatar
oberheimhaven oberheimhaven is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Mark Anthony
Its off Awwwwwwwww how do i fix that Im sorry I found that it is turned off???? Thanks for helping me you know u didnt but I do appreciate all the great effort, now how do i fix?? ANYONE lol
thxs mate
MarkAnrhony

Last edited by oberheimhaven; 28 Sep 2006 at 22:00.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 22:55
lebanon lebanon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
if you have a root access to your domain then u can edit it from php.ini
if you do not but still are allowed for custom php input in your htaccess
you could try adding :
php_value allow_url_fopen 1
(into your .htaccess file ) or try 'On' instead of '1'

if neither solutions worked, let me know, i can substitue the fopen usage with curl which could be as much good and should work too.
__________________
More than 3000+ Live Games Per Month And Exclusive Community Forums
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 22:59
oberheimhaven's Avatar
oberheimhaven oberheimhaven is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Mark Anthony
Nope didnt work Im so sorry mate for all the hassle
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 23:08
lebanon lebanon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
its okey, i didnt suppose u have permissions when u explained the problem,
Hopefully tomorrow ill rewrite the cron job file and send it to you .
regards
__________________
More than 3000+ Live Games Per Month And Exclusive Community Forums
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 28 Sep 2006, 23:09
oberheimhaven's Avatar
oberheimhaven oberheimhaven is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Mark Anthony
Well thank you very much appreciated!!!! Indeed!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:54.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: