Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Thread Thumbnail Details »
Thread Thumbnail
Mod Version: 1.1, by jasonmerchant (Member) jasonmerchant is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2009 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (21 votes - 4.81 average) Installs: 208
Released: 21 Sep 2007 Last Update: 21 Sep 2007 Downloads: 1391
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

This plugin is the newest version of the Thread Thumbnail plugin

This plugin will display the first attachment as a thumbnail on forumdisplay.php

New Features:
  • If there are attachments that are not images, it will skip them and go to the first image attachment.
  • Optional - you can now display thumbnails on search results.



Installation:

In your AdminCP, go to Plugin System, Download/Upload Plugins and import the xml document.

Be sure to change the forum ids in the $thumbsforums array to the forum ids you want to enable thumbnails in.

The plugin comes with the Search Thumbnails enabled. If you do not want to have thumbnails show up in the search results, make sure you deactivate it.

If you would like thumbnails to display in the search results, you will need to replace your search.php page with the one in the zip file. Unfortunately vBulletin forgot to include a hook variable where it is necessary for this to work. I have added 1 line to search.php with the hook variable. There is no way around this until vbulletin adds it themselves.

Next you will need to modify your threadbit template:

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace With:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You will also need to upload an image to display if there are no image attachments here: $stylevar[imgdir_misc]/nothumb.jpg(ex: http://www.mysite.com/forums/images/misc/nothumb.jpg). I've made a simple one you can use or you can make your own. By default thumbnails are confined in a 100x100 px area, I found that it looks good to make the "no image" image about 100x83 px.

_____________________________________________________

Add-ons (Optional)

UserCP option to turn the thumbnails on/off on a per user basis

Go into your admincp and click User Profile Fields->Add New User Profile Field.

Select "single selection radio buttons", click continue.

For title put "Thread Thumbnails", for description put "This will allow you to turn the thumbnails of threads on and off."

For options, enter "On" and "Off".

Skip down to Display Page and choose "Options: Thread Viewing".

In your threadbit template(assuming you already applied the template changes above):

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You need to replace field5 with the field name of the profile field you created earlier.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment.jpg
Views:	5493
Size:	36.5 KB
ID:	70123  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Thread Thumbnail jasonmerchant vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 196 04 Jan 2009 09:26

  #301  
Old 03 Apr 2009, 16:37
Arkham's Avatar
Arkham Arkham is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Finally installed and got it working.

Now, I really need the thread thumb to show up above the thread itself on showthread.

I already have a spot for the thread title above the first post, that works, but I can't get the thumbnail to show up.

I copied and modified the template code from the threadbit, and inserted this where I want it to show up:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Nothing show up. Is there something else I need to do? Like add jason's hook code to showthread.php or something?
Reply With Quote
  #302  
Old 04 Apr 2009, 01:06
bmckain bmckain is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Originally Posted by KevinL View Post
Yeah this is a great mod.

I actually started using one made by Gio that creates thumbs like this and also gives you a lot of flexibility and options within all your forums. It's a great product.
What's the name of the mod or a link to it?
Reply With Quote
  #303  
Old 04 Apr 2009, 01:20
KevinL KevinL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Originally Posted by bmckain View Post
What's the name of the mod or a link to it?
It is Advanced Forums. It really is one of the best products I have used. Lot's of flexibility when it comes down to things. The link is Provb

I used this mod here to begin with, then found provb AF and haven't turned back
Reply With Quote
  #304  
Old 05 Apr 2009, 21:11
Arkham's Avatar
Arkham Arkham is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by KevinL View Post
It is Advanced Forums. It really is one of the best products I have used. Lot's of flexibility when it comes down to things. The link is Provb

I used this mod here to begin with, then found provb AF and haven't turned back
I've been looking at another ProvB product and was wondering if their Advanced Forums product would assist in this regard as well.

Does it let you show the first attachment of the first post of a thread in the thread (and search, and tag listings)? If there's a commercial product that we can use instead of this I'd be willing to go that route.

Right now the last piece of the puzzle is being able to display the image thumbnail above the thread, near the top of the showthread template. Do you know if that's possible?

Thx!
Reply With Quote
  #305  
Old 05 Apr 2009, 21:42
KevinL KevinL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
PM sent instead of posting in this thread anymore
Reply With Quote
  #306  
Old 05 Apr 2009, 23:00
Arkham's Avatar
Arkham Arkham is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by KevinL View Post
PM sent instead of posting in this thread anymore
Thanks for the reminder. I with all the searching I've been doing between standard changes, mods, and other options, I got sidetracked.
Reply With Quote
  #307  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 03:35
kyle1745 kyle1745 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Anyone running this with the latest release?
Reply With Quote
  #308  
Old 21 Apr 2009, 14:24
Arkham's Avatar
Arkham Arkham is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by kyle1745 View Post
Anyone running this with the latest release?
I'm running it on 3.8.1, if that helps. I haven't tried 3.8.2 but I doubt anything should break between such minor version changes.
Reply With Quote
  #309  
Old 25 Apr 2009, 02:28
kyle1745 kyle1745 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
No luck here with 3.8.1.
Reply With Quote
  #310  
Old 25 Apr 2009, 14:16
theOZer's Avatar
theOZer theOZer is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Real name: Dennis "theOZer" Osborne
kyle1745,
Thread Thumbnails in (your selected) forums works in all vB38x versions so far. You should not need to make any changes/tweaks to this mod's base thread thumbnails plugin after a vB update.
To display thread thumbnails in your Search lists and/or your Tags list you need to tweak search.php and/or tags.php (like we have had to for all previous vB version updates since 368).
If you have the 'Thread Thumbnail - Search' plugin turned ON - Did you change, add the TT code to the vB3.8.x search.php file? (see Post # 112 on Page 8 or do a Search this Mod looking for search.php, whatever)
If you have the 'Thread Thumbnail - Tag Search' plugin turned ON - Did you change, add the TT code to the vB3.8.x tags.php file? (see Post # 169 on page 12 or do a Search this Mod looking for tags.php, whatever)
In my testvb instance I successfully upgraded to vB3.8.x, after adding the TT code to both search.php and tags.php, and both plugins work for me.
~theOZer
Reply With Quote
  #311  
Old 25 Apr 2009, 15:00
kyle1745 kyle1745 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I am installing this into a 3.8.2 forum.

I added the plugin, and set the forum id. I do not see any thumbnails in the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #312  
Old 25 Apr 2009, 15:02
kyle1745 kyle1745 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I also start gettign database errors when I add this plugin:

Database error in vBulletin 3.8.2:

Invalid SQL:

SELECT post.pagetext AS preview,
thread.threadid, thread.threadid AS postid, thread.title AS threadtitle, thread.iconid AS threadiconid, thread.dateline, thread.forumid,
thread.sticky, thread.prefixid, thread.taglist, thread.pollid, thread.open, thread.lastpost AS postdateline, thread.visible,
thread.hiddencount, thread.deletedcount, thread.attach, thread.postusername, thread.forumid,

thread.replycount, IF(thread.views<=thread.replycount, replycount+1, thread.views) AS views,
thread.lastpost, thread.lastposter, thread.lastpostid
,

user.userid AS postuserid
, NOT ISNULL(subscribethread.subscribethreadid) AS issubscribed
, threadread.readtime AS threadread
, attachment.thumbnail_filesize AS thumbsize , MIN(attachment.attachmentid) AS attachmentid
FROM thread AS thread
LEFT JOIN user AS user ON(user.userid = thread.postuserid)


LEFT JOIN threadread AS threadread ON (threadread.threadid = thread.threadid AND threadread.userid = 3987)
LEFT JOIN subscribethread AS subscribethread
ON(subscribethread.threadid = thread.threadid AND subscribethread.userid = 3987 AND canview = 1)
LEFT JOIN post AS post ON(post.postid = thread.firstpostid)

LEFT JOIN attachment as attachment ON(attachment.postid = thread.firstpostid AND (attachment.extension = 'jpg' OR attachment.extension = 'gif' OR attachment.extension = 'png'))
WHERE thread.threadid IN
(39376, 38257, 38448, 38193, 3995, 14622, 18630, 34509, 32167, 32602, 31931, 30799, 30551, 30116, 29978, 28987, 28840, 27922, 28231, 28168, 28124, 27529, 26890, 26171, 26085);
Reply With Quote
  #313  
Old 28 Apr 2009, 09:43
6piston's Avatar
6piston 6piston is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
hi theOZer

thank you for supporting this mod, was using this mod for sometime only on the forumdisplay

i am now ready to integrate into search, so i tried doing it last night by activating the plugin for search and then applying your codes in post #112 to my search.php for 3.7.2

But no thumbnails shows in search, it looks like default.
is there some further template mods i should be doing?

as you can see here, my forumdisplay tt's are working perfectly:
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cars-for-sale/

Thanks!
Tom

Last edited by 6piston; 28 Apr 2009 at 09:57.
Reply With Quote
  #314  
Old 21 May 2009, 19:29
NNJJ NNJJ is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
hope we can get upgrade for this mod for 3.8.2 its great!
__________________
We are not Creators, but we have the Magic of Creation
Reply With Quote
  #315  
Old 21 May 2009, 20:24
mindhunter77 mindhunter77 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Anyone had any issues with this when using vBSEO ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:58.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: