Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Remove index.php from logo link Details »
Remove index.php from logo link
Mod Version: 1.00, by Golzarion (Coder/Designer) Golzarion is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (7 votes - 4.57 average) Installs: 53
Released: 16 May 2008 Last Update: Never Downloads: 11
Not Supported Template Edits  

Remove index.php from logo link :

For better SEO we redirect all the similar addresses to one standard address . For example in my forum, all similar addresses like :

http*://forum.golzarion.com/ index.php
http*//www.forum.golzarion.com/index.php
...
all redirect to : http://forum.golzarion.com

but the link of logo still was :www. my site.com/index.php

What does this mode do ?

It removes " index.php" from logo link . Now when users click on logo the logo links them to the address of "www*.your site.com " with out any "index.php" on the link.

To remove " logo index.php " link :

go to header template ( admin cp =>Styles&Templates=>style manager=>all style option+>> header )

in header find :


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and replace it with :


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

then save the changes. and refresh your forum pages and see logo link without " index.php "

Please click installed if you use this mode . thanks

For more information see Post#4 .

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 16 May 2008, 15:46
Golzarion's Avatar
Golzarion Golzarion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Mohsen
First post . I hope it would be useful .
Special thanks to my best friend Shahed.

Last edited by Golzarion; 05 Jun 2008 at 15:50.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16 May 2008, 17:44
Magnumutz's Avatar
Magnumutz Magnumutz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Real name: Alex
And... this is better for SEO?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16 May 2008, 20:04
Golzarion's Avatar
Golzarion Golzarion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Mohsen
Originally Posted by Magnumutz View Post
And... this is better for SEO?
Yes,I believe it !
As you know vBulletin has the addresses as :
"yoursite.com "& "yoursite.com/index.php" .

That's theoretically bad .That's bad because it dilutes your incoming links. some people link to " yoursite.com" others link to " yoursite.com/index.php"

You can fix it by using .htaccess codes and redirect 301. but it is better to correct all the internal links too. and prevent duplication addresses.

Last edited by Golzarion; 05 Jun 2008 at 15:43.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05 Jun 2008, 15:52
Golzarion's Avatar
Golzarion Golzarion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Mohsen
It works fine with all versions : 3.6.8 / 3.7.0 / 3.7.1 or higher .
And it is xhtml valid.

Last edited by Golzarion; 06 Jun 2008 at 15:47.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07 Jul 2008, 02:43
RHWiRED RHWiRED is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 Jul 2008, 15:18
mesdar's Avatar
mesdar mesdar is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
thanx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20 Jul 2008, 07:17
dadoc's Avatar
dadoc dadoc is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Does it effect any links that I now have with the index.php already listed?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20 Jul 2008, 08:23
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
it should be default

and to dadoc's question.. you and everyone should 301 redirect the index.php to the root/

actually,, if you just add a redirect in your htaccess, you don't even need this template edit
__________________

Love and support one another #vote2020
I offer Managed IT Services in Kansas
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21 Jul 2008, 16:45
Golzarion's Avatar
Golzarion Golzarion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Mohsen
Originally Posted by dadoc View Post
Does it effect any links that I now have with the index.php already listed?
It just affect logo link ! but you can use the idea for other links too , ... and as said you can use redirect 301 for all links ....


Originally Posted by Loco.M View Post
....
actually,, if you just add a redirect in your htaccess, you don't even need this template edit
I'm Not agree ! Although it is completely correct that .htaccess redirects all the links, but it is more better that you improve and correct your internal links too !
why should we have an internal link to " index.php " ?? in logo or else where ?
I think it is an improvement but you can uninstall / never install if you think it is something useless !!!
but as I believe :
Originally Posted by Golzarion View Post
You can fix it by using .htaccess codes and redirect 301. but it is better to correct all the internal links too. and prevent duplication addresses.
and all said on post #4



Last edited by Golzarion; 21 Jul 2008 at 17:04.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21 Jul 2008, 16:50
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Loco, how should it be default? No offense, but you say everything should be "default".
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21 Jul 2008, 16:58
Golzarion's Avatar
Golzarion Golzarion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Mohsen
Originally Posted by mesdar View Post
thanx
It would be appreciated if :
click installed if you use this mode . thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 23 Jul 2008, 13:36
Tidal Wave Tidal Wave is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I'm going to use this mod. Thank you I can't click install though yet because my website is still setting up and I can't install my vBulletin.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 23 Jul 2008, 16:57
cheat-master30's Avatar
cheat-master30 cheat-master30 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Information Classified
Real name: cheat-master30
Thanks, and installed.
__________________
Proud vBulletin supporter (cheat-master30 at official forum)
DS Ultimate- A Great Nintendo DS forum-
My Nintendo DS forum covering Mario Kart DS, Super Mario 64 DS and the like. Powered by the amazing vBulletin 3.7 software.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23 Jul 2008, 17:07
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
Originally Posted by Jase2 View Post
Loco, how should it be default? No offense, but you say everything should be "default".
That all links that have /index.php on them, should just be to the root/
I don't know how to explain it any clearer

btw.. I've maybe said 3 hacks/threads on the org, should be implemented as default.. I'm not sure what your talking about
__________________

Love and support one another #vote2020
I offer Managed IT Services in Kansas
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:55.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: