Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
[RELEASE] SQL Query Script: Run SQL Queries in your MYSQL Database
Logician
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4,449

MCSE, MCDBA, Coder

inside vb code
by Logician Logician is offline 05 May 2002

Hey there,

I release a small script of mine which allows you to run SQL queries in MYSQL database.

The Script can handle not only SELECT queries (and return them in sorted tables) but you can also run INSERT, DELETE, UPDATE, ALTER, CREATE TABLE etc. queries.

It's not intergrated to vbulletin so you can use it even if you dont have vbulletin. This is also why I didnt publish it in the "Full Release Hack" Section.

As a Hacker I dont think you'll use it much, because probably you all have PHP My Admin or other software to handle SQL queries. However I found this script useful when you release a hack that requires MYSQL database alteration.

So if your hacks require to run SQL queries, you can include the script with your hack and provide the users with the relevant SQL query and the users will be able to run the necassary query on their own. I used to write individual installation scripts to handle this, but then I found this method more useful.

Installation is very simple: Edit the first few lines of the script, upload it to ANY directory in your server and run it.

Enjoy.. \\=^))

Logician
Attached Files
File Type: php logician_query.php (11.6 KB, 270 views)

Last edited by Logician; 14 May 2002 at 16:21..
Views: 7527
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 05 May 2002, 10:01
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Here is a screenshot:
Attached Images
File Type: gif logician_query.gif (16.7 KB, 442 views)
__________________
Logician's Blog | WebTemplates for vb 4.x : VB Integrated Content Management System
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08 May 2002, 08:41
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
i was done by firefly, in a more extensive format. look at his hacks.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08 May 2002, 10:27
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally posted by nakkid
i was done by firefly, in a more extensive format. look at his hacks.
There is one hack I know which is "run SQL query from your Admin CP" (JamesUS?). However:
1- It's vb-integrated, this is not.
2- It can handle only SELECT queries (eg ALTER queries produces errors), this can handle all.

When you create a hack, you sometimes need to run SQL commands and IMHO it's not practical to ask the users to first install another hack to be able to install yours. This is why I published this small script. You can simply include it inside your hack and the users who install your hack can easily run the necassary SQL query.

As I mentioned in my message, you as a hacker would need neither this script, nor the other one, because you probably have MySQLAdmin etc. But before writing this script I felt obligated to code individiual installation scripts for my hacks which require SQL query runs but now I just add the script into my installation file and give the necessary SQL command in instructions and I'm done.

I'm sure the hack you mentioned is a nice and useful hack, so kudos to its author (Firefly?, JamesUS?) but I dont think the hack and this script serve to the same purpose, although what they do looks same. However if the author is offended in anyway, I allow this thread to be removed.

Regards,
Logician
__________________
Logician's Blog | WebTemplates for vb 4.x : VB Integrated Content Management System
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13 May 2002, 05:07
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
the easiest way for users is to include the .php query installer.
is extremly easy to make it.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27 Jan 2003, 05:29
Dan_UPC Dan_UPC is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
This is really nice Logician however it doesnt work with DESCRIBE queries :'(

Last edited by Dan_UPC; 28 Jan 2003 at 00:18.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27 Jan 2003, 15:20
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Dean Clatworthy
Wow how did i ever miss this script

Thanks Logician

- miSt
__________________
Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01 Aug 2003, 13:48
pie pie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Zach
Thanks Logician mate, am having probs with it but sure to overcoem it soon.

[edit]doh! forgot to configure it - forgot it was standalone
__________________
Zach Inglis
LT3media

My hacks: Private Message Flagging | Delete Sent PM before user reads it
Carry them on if you want just give me credit

Last edited by pie; 01 Aug 2003 at 13:52.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04 Sep 2003, 10:56
lasto lasto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
works fine for me

allowed to me to add queries that phpmyadmin was giving me errors on so im a happy chappie

Cheers logician (once again)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22 Oct 2003, 02:32
legendarysk8er legendarysk8er is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Real name: James
So do you need the password for the phpmyadmin?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22 Oct 2003, 07:33
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by legendarysk8er
So do you need the password for the phpmyadmin?
question not understood
__________________
Logician's Blog | WebTemplates for vb 4.x : VB Integrated Content Management System
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17 Nov 2003, 16:13
X-Sector X-Sector is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
legendarysk8er

don't need to have the password for the phpmyadmin to access because the logician query hack will ask you what is your MySQL database name, user and password so it will be connect with your phpmyadmin

Anyway, Great hack.. I was getting errors when run the queries in the phpmyadmin. I tried to run the query in your hack and it works great. Great job
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Article
Article Author Type Replies Last Post
[RELEASE v2] Run a SQL query directly from your admin contorl panel Chen vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 63 01 Aug 2002 20:19



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:19.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: