Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 29 May 2012, 19:15
Altari Altari is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
How to refresh activitystream each X second ?

Hello,

I would like to automatically refresh the activity stream every, maybe 5 seconds. Is there a way to do this ? (Vb's default setting is only for minutes).

I had a look in clientscript/vbulletin_activitystream.js and change some things, but that's not enough and do nothing.

Thank you.

Last edited by Altari; 29 May 2012 at 19:30.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29 May 2012, 21:21
Badshah93's Avatar
Badshah93 Badshah93 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Aayush Agrawal
you will need to edit these line in activitystream.js file

Change this line

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

now if you enter 5 in vB default setting, it will be treated as 5 seconds.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30 May 2012, 03:16
setishock setishock is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Does your forum really get that busy that you need to refresh every 5 seconds as opposed to every 5 minutes? The more things you give to VB to do more often will chew up CPU cycles as well as pounding on your database. Your host may not appreciate that.
__________________
Working on new projects and expanding our horizons. Come by and see what we're up to now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30 May 2012, 15:17
RSNF's Avatar
RSNF RSNF is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Taking a huge gamble by doing every 5 seconds.............Just saying
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30 May 2012, 16:13
Altari Altari is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
This depend of users viewing the activity stream isn't it ? I have something like 400-600 users on my board at the same time, but nomore than 10/20 users watching the activity stream, so the the server load should be negligible ? (Dedicated server)

--------------- Added 30 May 2012 at 16:22 ---------------

Originally Posted by Badshah93 View Post
you will need to edit these line in activitystream.js file

Change this line

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

now if you enter 5 in vB default setting, it will be treated as 5 seconds.
Thank you for your help, but that's not enough and this doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30 May 2012, 17:35
Badshah93's Avatar
Badshah93 Badshah93 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Aayush Agrawal
try this one (last code was refrshing in every 60 seconds or more)

Replace

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

With


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31 May 2012, 10:30
Altari Altari is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
This work well, thank you, i have set 10 sec.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:13.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: