Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07 Mar 2015, 13:53
Dirks Dirks is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Navtab Question

I did some research on the forum, but wasn't able to find much on point. Maybe you guys can help?

I'm trying to add a new navtab that simply changes the default links under the tab rather than opening to a new page. However, when I leave the target URL link blank, clicking the tab defaults to /index.php. It will work properly when I add menus, but not simply links. Am I missing something, or is this beyond the scope of the built in navigation manager.

Alas, I'm not on a computer where I can snap screen shots, but here's the tab URL to poke around: http://www.althanas.com/world/?tabid=157

Thanks!

Dirks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07 Mar 2015, 17:43
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I'm afraid I do not understand the problem. Perhaps when you get on another computer, you can provide screen caps.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07 Mar 2015, 20:32
Dirks Dirks is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
I'm not even sure screen caps will help.

Basically, I have three links under a navtab called "Compendium". When someone clicks the navtab, it shows the three links but also defaults the entire page to index.php. What I want is when someone clicks the navtab it'll just show the links but leave the page at where the user was when they clicked the link.

Here is a screen grab from the actual page. Ignore the red, as that's related to something different:



Basically if I'm on /showthread.php?28831, when I click the navtab, I want to stay on /showthread.php?28831 but I want to show those three links.

Does that help?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07 Mar 2015, 20:49
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
You need to post screenshots
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07 Mar 2015, 21:48
Dirks Dirks is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Okay, please excuse this if it's crude because I had a member do it.

Here is my main page. Note the URL is index.php:



When I click the "Compendium" tab at the top of the page, it opens index.php except w/ three new links under "Compendium" (Archon's Vault, Wiki, and Canon Submission)



This is what I want.

However, say I click to a random page, like this one:



When I click the compendium link, it automatically defaults back to the index w/ the links showing (second image above)



What I want it to do is show the individual forum or thread (picture 3) w/ the compendium links (pictures 2-4). Does this help?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08 Mar 2015, 00:27
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
So, you want it so the user clicks the navtab and they stay on their current page but suddenly have a new sub-menu? The Navigation Manager will not do that. You will need to write a plugin to do that. There are tutorials in the Articles section on how to do that. You will want to modify them to grab the page URL and then make sure they stay on that URL when they click the navtab, but that that particular navtab becomes active.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: