Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 31 Dec 2007, 15:32
UltraFanatics UltraFanatics is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
How can i do a backup?

Hi

Can someone please tell me how I can backup my forum please in the easiest way possible?

Also how long will this take on a small forum?
__________________
*Tattoo Forum http://www.mytattooforum.com

*Football Forum http://www.footiechat.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31 Dec 2007, 16:10
SauravG SauravG is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
You can do a backup from your cpanel (if thats what you use).

www.domain.tld/cpanel > Backup > click on your database name

or from your admincp

www.domain.tld/admincp > Maintenance > Database Backup > Select "All Yes" and then click Go

Should take a max of 15 minutes for a small forum, but it also depends on your internet speed.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31 Dec 2007, 17:22
Snake's Avatar
Snake Snake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Real name: Josh
Performing a cPanel backup is the worst of all and will cause many corrupted databases so my advice to you is to backup and restore via phpMyAdmin since you're having a small forum anyway.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=106935
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Jan 2008, 06:23
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
The only reliable method of backing up and restoring a database is with shell access via telnet or ssh. This is because backing up with a PHP script like that in the Admin CP or phpMyAdmin can result in PHP timeouts errors and an incomplete backup file. Please see the instructions here:

Backup:
http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/m...nce_ssh_backup

Restore:
http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/m...ce_ssh_restore

P.S. If you don't have shell access, some people have also reported success with these scripts:

MySQLDumper:
http://www.mysqldumper.de/en/index.php

MySQLHotxcopy:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showt...t=mysqlhotcopy

Bigdump:
http://www.ozerov.de/bigdump.php
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Jan 2008, 12:29
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
@Snake

Why would a cPanel backup corrupt your database? I never seen a database be corrupted because of a cPanel backup.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Jan 2008, 16:25
Snake's Avatar
Snake Snake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Real name: Josh
Oh believe me, it does corrupt the database. I used to switch servers a lot from time to time long time ago and have been doing the backup and restore process many times. I've always tried to backup a database via cPanel and it wasn't doing any good. Try to backup a huge (or even a small) database using cPanel and see for yourself. You'll see what I mean. It doesn't backup the whole database of a forum, it stops at the end with lots of missing tables. Don't ask me why it corrupts the database, I'm not the one who created cPanel. My usual solution for moving hosts/servers or any other reason is by using the BigDump script or sometimes SSH, depends whether I'm running a huge database or not.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02 Jan 2008, 09:09
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Well that does not make any sense, nor do you tell how it corrupts a database when creating a backup.

PS I use cPanel backups myself on 1 of my large boards and have never ran into problems, and the backup size of this site is around 24Gb (compressed)!! I also never saw a support ticket from a customer where the database was corrupted by a (cPanel) backup.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13 Jan 2008, 12:07
UltraFanatics UltraFanatics is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
If i done a backup in control panel, where does it save too?
__________________
*Tattoo Forum http://www.mytattooforum.com

*Football Forum http://www.footiechat.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13 Jan 2008, 16:37
Lombardo Lombardo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Does your host not backup for you?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13 Jan 2008, 17:06
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
Originally Posted by UltraFanatics View Post
If i done a backup in control panel, where does it save too?
Typically your backup should be in your username dir for your account, typically like so:

/hom/username/nameofbackup.tgz or .gz
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14 Jan 2008, 19:34
UltraFanatics UltraFanatics is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by Lombardo View Post
Does your host not backup for you?

Im not sure, its a good question to be honest!

I just get worried incase I loose everything
__________________
*Tattoo Forum http://www.mytattooforum.com

*Football Forum http://www.footiechat.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14 Jan 2008, 19:47
Lombardo Lombardo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
My host backsup every 2-3 days,so i don't really need to worry about it,I think i'll do a backup myself now and again tho just to be on the safe side.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17 Jan 2008, 07:26
cache cache is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
how do you backup other non-database files?

In the vBulletin Options section, there is a backup xml files, but you have to click each manually.
I need to backup other script files, how do I do?

I know I could ftp files, but when I restore them, what kind of permission chmod should I use?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17 Jan 2008, 08:42
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
To backup the files on the server, simply download them to your PC. Also, there's no need to export product XMLs, as the data is contained within the database.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17 Jan 2008, 12:06
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
Originally Posted by cache View Post
how do you backup other non-database files?

In the vBulletin Options section, there is a backup xml files, but you have to click each manually.
I need to backup other script files, how do I do?

I know I could ftp files, but when I restore them, what kind of permission chmod should I use?
If your using cpanel or some of the other control panels, cpanel backs up everything pertaining to said account, from db's to php files to htaccess files etc, they will all be placed in the same gz ot tgz'd file.

Typically most files will have the correct permissions they had when you ftp them back to the server.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Site Backup (easily backup your forum files) bairy vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 54 06 Jun 2009 17:07



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:57.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: