Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Hide Admin IP Details »
Hide Admin IP
Mod Version: 1.00, by semprot (Member) semprot is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 20
Released: 20 Nov 2013 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code  

Here is how to hide admin's IP or other member's IP (as long as you know the user ID), by overwriting the real IP with dummy IP before post data is saved to database.

Go to admincp > add new plugin


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

PHP code :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Plugin is very simple and you can modify it to suit your need

Tested on 4.2.2, should work on other 4.2.*

Note :
  • This plugin does not change IP data which have been recorded on database before this plugin is installed.
    To change old IP data, you have to run SQL query (do it on your own risk).

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  • If you deactivate / delete this plugin, the recorded IP address which have been faked won't be returned to the real IP.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 20 Nov 2013, 08:30
semprot semprot is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Real name: Jeremy
Lightbulb

If you'd like to hide IP address of multiple user IDs, use this PHP code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Best regards,

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20 Nov 2013, 11:33
Krusty1231's Avatar
Krusty1231 Krusty1231 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Real name: Jerry
Very helpful. Thanks for this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27 Sep 2014, 20:02
Raptor Raptor is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Very strange that i get a 404 error when trying to save this

if i use different php code it saves fine - bizarre ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04 Dec 2014, 19:10
Sharingan_Okami Sharingan_Okami is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22 Dec 2014, 16:13
da_judge's Avatar
da_judge da_judge is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
works very well, although to get it working on my setup had to change Execution order from 5 to 0

BTW... if you start thread.. 1st post dont hide ip only replys have ips hidden ?

im using multipule ids fyi

Last edited by da_judge; 22 Dec 2014 at 21:45.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25 Dec 2014, 14:41
Justinphx Justinphx is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
I just tried this as well and works fine by hiding replies to posts. But, if you create a thread it displays your real IP and thus making this plug in moot. Hopefully the coder has a fix for this as it would be a very useful plugin for many.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27 Dec 2014, 02:40
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by Justinphx View Post
I just tried this as well and works fine by hiding replies to posts. But, if you create a thread it displays your real IP and thus making this plug in moot. Hopefully the coder has a fix for this as it would be a very useful plugin for many.
Try the same code, but add another plugin using the hook, threaddata_presave
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28 Dec 2014, 02:37
Justinphx Justinphx is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Thanks Ozzy. I was just looking into that this afternoon and thought that would do the trick. As always, thanks for the assistance. Works like a charm.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28 Dec 2014, 02:46
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Excellent, glad to hear it worked.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20 Jan 2015, 17:31
woodmj woodmj is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Hi, I was just wondering if there was a way to use this code to hide the Admin's IP in Who's Online?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20 Jan 2015, 17:40
Dave Dave is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Originally Posted by woodmj View Post
Hi, I was just wondering if there was a way to use this code to hide the Admin's IP in Who's Online?
That script wont work for the who's online script.
You should hook into online_complete with something like:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20 Jan 2015, 19:01
woodmj woodmj is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Thanks Dave. Works great :-)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02 Feb 2015, 13:21
Vaira Vaira is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Originally Posted by Justinphx View Post
Thanks Ozzy. I was just looking into that this afternoon and thought that would do the trick. As always, thanks for the assistance. Works like a charm.
It doesn't work here! The first post at a new thread always gets the real IP, the second post not....do I have to change the code somewhere? I have used the same code @ threaddata_presave

Update: It works when using the hook location :threadfpdata_presave

Last edited by Vaira; 02 Feb 2015 at 13:45. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10 Apr 2015, 23:16
zorcocuq zorcocuq is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Real name: Sinan
Thank you @semprot
__________________
webmaster sitesi
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:00.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: