Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
ٍStatic (Fixed) Header and Footer Details »
ٍStatic (Fixed) Header and Footer
Mod Version: 1.00, by abdobasha2004 (Member) abdobasha2004 is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (4 votes - 3.75 average) Installs: 13
Released: 14 Nov 2008 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

Features :
Do you want your header and footer be static and do not change while user browsing your forum, try this simple code
Code :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


update by WNxWakko
IE works flawless. FireFox however doesn't like it so much and may be the reason some say it doesn't work. They are using Firefox.

Another issue I found was that i used this surrounding a table in my header and in Firefox is distorted my header. So i get performance boost in IE and not in FF with a bug in FF that prevents me from using this.

So I put this as a fix and wanted to share with others if they experienced Firefox bugs because it resolved my issue.

Code:

<!--[if IE]>
<div style=" overflow: auto; "><![endif]-->
Your header or footer
<!--[if IE]></div><![endif]-->

Even though FF users wont get the benefit directly, the load reduction on the server from IE users will spread the wealth to FF users.

change " Any part you want to be static" with your header of footer code
also could be applied to any template to be static while browsing

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 14 Nov 2008, 16:57
Forum Lover Forum Lover is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Real name: aupurbo
Now, what is that STATIC thing?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14 Nov 2008, 18:55
guvner guvner is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Real name: Mike
Originally Posted by Forum Lover View Post
Now, what is that STATIC thing?
Had the same question, but since I've had to endure quite slow re-draws of my (multi-sliced) header for many months - this little gem appears to have eliminated the problem in an instant!

I've had quite a few members complaining about the re-draw issue and apart from suggesting Firefox, Chrome or even IE8 over IE6 & 7, there didn't seem to be anything I could do to solve it.

So for my forum at least, this has made tremendous difference to the forum load time so to abdobasha2004, many thanks for this tip - excellent result!

Mike

Last edited by guvner; 14 Nov 2008 at 19:14.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14 Nov 2008, 22:09
abdobasha2004's Avatar
abdobasha2004 abdobasha2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
static is not to reload all page parts during browsing
you are welcome guvner
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14 Nov 2008, 23:50
lazydesis lazydesis is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
i dont see it .. the entire page (including header) loads again when i click on any links .. its same even in ur demo

can u explain better? thanks.

EDIT: I am using IE7
__________________
http://www.lazydesis.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15 Nov 2008, 00:52
Forum Lover Forum Lover is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Real name: aupurbo
Originally Posted by abdobasha2004 View Post
static is not to reload all page parts during browsing
you are welcome guvner
If so, clicked Installed.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 Nov 2008, 01:10
Magnumutz's Avatar
Magnumutz Magnumutz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Real name: Alex
I still don't get it...
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 Nov 2008, 01:50
n95gps n95gps is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
its not working

i went and i placed my header into your code

and when clicking on any part of the forum the whole page RELOAD


hmm

is this static!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15 Nov 2008, 08:58
abdobasha2004's Avatar
abdobasha2004 abdobasha2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
for all people who did not manage to do it
I can not explain
others have seen the difference
I put the same topic on another forum
about 3 said it worked
and 2 said it did not

It worked for me
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15 Nov 2008, 19:05
WNxWakko's Avatar
WNxWakko WNxWakko is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
I implemented this code bit. Very nice find indeed.

I did find some issues. IE works flawless. FireFox however doesn't like it so much and may be the reason some say it doesn't work. They are using Firefox.

Another issue I found was that i used this surrounding a table in my header and in Firefox is distorted my header. So i get performance boost in IE and not in FF with a bug in FF that prevents me from using this.

So I put this as a fix and wanted to share with others if they experienced Firefox bugs because it resolved my issue.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Even though FF users wont get the benefit directly, the load reduction on the server from IE users will spread the wealth to FF users.
__________________
WNxWakko
http://warriornation.net
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15 Nov 2008, 22:05
n95gps n95gps is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
you can not explain??!!!

how come

why does it say supported on TOP??
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16 Nov 2008, 10:51
PremierFootball PremierFootball is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Originally Posted by n95gps View Post
you can not explain??!!!

how come

why does it say supported on TOP??

Just because it says 'supported' that does not mean he can answer everything.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16 Nov 2008, 17:20
n95gps n95gps is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Originally Posted by PremierFootball View Post
Just because it says 'supported' that does not mean he can answer everything.
doesn't mean he can answer everything ????

hmm

looking at the thread there is only one question

and he said he will not help..


i can put here any code and if it doesnt work i will be like i am not going to help anyone here

we need good threads that can be supported not something that only works once!!!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16 Nov 2008, 17:33
gothicuser's Avatar
gothicuser gothicuser is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Tony
Gotta admit that having implemented it on three of my forums all I have had are good reports from my punters.
Seems to work perfectly for FF and IE*

Great stuff, thankyou
__________________
Grumpy and bad tempered. I'm a pensioner, so don't care any more
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17 Nov 2008, 14:18
abdobasha2004's Avatar
abdobasha2004 abdobasha2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I think it is very obvious some worked well with them
others did not
others who did not plz try modification done by WNxWakko
And thank you very much WNxWakko
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:35.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: