Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
Help to deter people from copying your content!
Oblivion Knight
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,757

Sheffield, UK
by Oblivion Knight Oblivion Knight is offline 14 Oct 2005

Tired of people copying your content? Defend your site with a plagiarism warning banner!
I came across this site quite randomly on Google, and thought it was pretty darned clever. Copyscape will scan any given page, and look for copies of it throughout the Internet..

If you wish to add a banner to your vBulletin, save a banner from their banner page and name it as copyscape.gif, upload it to your images/misc directory, edit your footer template and place the following below the copyright stuff:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Using rel="nofollow" means that you aren't simply increasing their search engine rankings or whatever by using the banner. Unfortunately, I can't find any method of making the link point directly to the page that is displayed on as this would be hugely beneficial - but perhaps this isn't possible.

------------------------------------

Darkwaltz4 has cracked it.!

If you would like to make the banner link point directly to Copyscape searching your forum's URL, use the code posted here instead of the code above.

Last edited by Oblivion Knight; 30 Oct 2005 at 19:57..
Views: 8435
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 14 Oct 2005, 14:55
GrendelKhan{TSU's Avatar
GrendelKhan{TSU GrendelKhan{TSU is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Originally Posted by Oblivion Knight
Tired of people copying your content? Defend your site with a plagiarism warning banner!
I came across this site quite randomly on Google, and thought it was pretty darned clever. Copyscape will scan any given page, and look for copies of it throughout the Internet..

If you wish to add a banner to your vBulletin, save a banner from their banner page and name it as copyscape.gif, upload it to your images/misc directory, edit your footer template and place the following below the copyright stuff:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Using rel="nofollow" means that you aren't simply increasing their search engine rankings or whatever by using the banner. Unfortunately, I can't find any method of making the link point directly to the page that is displayed on as this would be hugely beneficial - but perhaps this isn't possible.
very cool. gunna do this.

thanks for the info!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30 Oct 2005, 13:35
Gizmo5h1t3's Avatar
Gizmo5h1t3 Gizmo5h1t3 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: STEVE
interesting, il give this a try!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30 Oct 2005, 19:12
Darkwaltz4's Avatar
Darkwaltz4 Darkwaltz4 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chicago
Real name: John
Version 2!

hold on a second! i have EXACTLY what you are looking for with this im coding it up so it might take a second~

i might even release it as a minor hack if you think its that good

*edit* okay, try this one on for size! Clicking the image should take you to copyscape with the results of your search Unless I got the $url variable wrong, I wrote this in 5 minutes without access to the 3.5 files to check >.<

First again, add that banner as specified in the first post, then edit the footer template and place this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

enjoy! works extremely well :-p REQUIRING POST VARIABLES WILL NEVER STOP ME! MUAHAHAHA! also, did you know its easy to break the common hack by writing your own forms and submitting information that the system cleaned before spitting into hidden vars, and stupidly doesnt clean it AFTERWARDS? :-p always make sure your safe from stuff like this!

Edit, the variable has been fixed :-p i applied this to my own forum and it worked exactly as expected :-p if you wanna see it, look in my profile for my forum link (please dont try to join my forums yet though). and yes, it uses the variable, not hardcoded :-p
__________________
I probably want my scripts to work on your site more than you do!
www.DragonByte-tech.com

Last edited by Darkwaltz4; 30 Oct 2005 at 19:42. Reason: why not?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30 Oct 2005, 19:43
Oblivion Knight's Avatar
Oblivion Knight Oblivion Knight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Andy
Hrm.. Doesn't seem to work for me.

Perhaps they've found you out already?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30 Oct 2005, 19:46
Darkwaltz4's Avatar
Darkwaltz4 Darkwaltz4 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chicago
Real name: John
Nope sorry, i was using the wrong variable :-p i applied the correct one to my post RIGHT as you were posting that :-p so recopy whats up there ^^ and it will work :-p

Alternatively, you could use $vboptions[homeurl] instead of the bburl, but keep the trailing slash (the option requires you to ignore it, but i would rather copyscape was happy with the completeness of the url). heck, you could put whatever url you want in there (hardcoded). you could even dynamic it up to search that EXACT page your staring at :-p

Also, i noticed that copyscape more like searches for large matching swaths...so practically every vbulletin matches my vbulletin because its using the basic style. great to see whos stolen your styles or uses your hacks OR WHATEVER
__________________
I probably want my scripts to work on your site more than you do!
www.DragonByte-tech.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30 Oct 2005, 19:53
Oblivion Knight's Avatar
Oblivion Knight Oblivion Knight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Andy
Awesome, thanks for contributing!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30 Oct 2005, 20:03
Darkwaltz4's Avatar
Darkwaltz4 Darkwaltz4 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chicago
Real name: John
Also of note, clicking on that sends a bot under the ip address of www.googlealert.com, which the homepage has the same appearance of http://www.copyscape.com/signup.php and says its from the same place in small letters at the bottom. not sure how great this is, or if they alert google that they should check the site themselves to make sure it isnt plagurism. Lots of people sending alerts to google accidentally through this service might get them banned from google i have no clue :-p just some kind of 'should probably investigate this a little further just in case' thing ^_^

Glad to help! i liked the idea very much and i wasnt going to be stopped by stuff like that! i test my own hacks to see if someone can write their own form, and NOT EVEN UPLOAD IT, to exploit stuff in my hacks :-p
__________________
I probably want my scripts to work on your site more than you do!
www.DragonByte-tech.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01 Nov 2005, 22:11
ambumann ambumann is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Great! Thanks alot!
__________________
www.ambulanse-norge.no
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02 Nov 2005, 00:12
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
Their service isn't that hot from my very limited test. It accused a bunch of sites of plagiarism from my site - and the content isn't there. It picks up the stock vbulletin guest welcome and considers that plagiarism. Not much use for vbulletin owners.
__________________
amykhar.com
----------------------------------------
I do not respond to PM requests for coding assistance.

Last edited by amykhar; 02 Nov 2005 at 00:16.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02 Nov 2005, 03:42
Darkwaltz4's Avatar
Darkwaltz4 Darkwaltz4 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chicago
Real name: John
It doesnt CLAIM that it is directly plagiarised, simply finding places that happen to match large portions of your content. Usually (although widespread things like vb and hacks like that are exceptions) content is wholly unique, so it will be more successful in finding sites that did rip you off. Its still up to you to click those links and check. Its done with a machine so it does it mechanically :-p For instance a site who simply paraphrased your content would most likely not show up.
__________________
I probably want my scripts to work on your site more than you do!
www.DragonByte-tech.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04 Nov 2005, 14:11
idwf's Avatar
idwf idwf is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Real name: David
Originally Posted by amykhar
Their service isn't that hot from my very limited test. It accused a bunch of sites of plagiarism from my site - and the content isn't there. It picks up the stock vbulletin guest welcome and considers that plagiarism. Not much use for vbulletin owners.
You could ofcourse, just whack one of the images on your site??? sure it doesn't so anything, except look as if youre protected?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01 Jun 2006, 17:49
dodgechargerfan dodgechargerfan is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Neat. I'd like to use this.
I know it's not a fool proof method but just stating that there's protection is better than nothing.

I'd like to have this show up in only one forum though.

Could I save the code in a template then make a plugin that uses a conditional to load the template?
This is new ground for me, so be gentle.

I've got the conditional figured out as I just put in the "disable printable version" mod with a conditional on the forum id instead of the user id and it works great. I want to do the same with this banner code, but I'm guessing the code above wouldn't live well inside a plug in (I'm guessing).
or would it?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 23 Jun 2006, 22:35
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Hi...This dont seem to work for me.
When i click the image it just refreshes the page

Any advice please?
__________________
Bashy

Bashys Place ~ Bashys Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23 Jun 2006, 22:46
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
This is a year later
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:47.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: