Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Left side column on forum home only Details »
Left side column on forum home only
Mod Version: 1.0.2, by peterska2 (Member) peterska2 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.0 Rating: (10 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 264
Released: 08 Jun 2006 Last Update: 29 Aug 2006 Downloads: 1446
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

This is the 3.6.0 port of the release for 3.5.x found here.

Changes since the last version
Alignment issues fixed.
Template renamed to group in the forumhome templates.

Installation Instructions
Download the attached zip file.
Import the product.
Perform the template modifications.
Click install

Screen shot attached for those who like to see them.


29 August 2006
Upgraded to version 1.0.2

Changes:
  • Now valid XHTML Trans
  • Fixed to work correctly with vBShout when located below navbar.
  • Added vB.org version checking.





Please Note: This modification is only for the forumhome. I do not support any attempts to use it on any other pages. Alternative modifications exist that are for all pages - please use one of them if that is what you want to do.


If you require support, please ensure that provide a link to your site and that the column is enabled. Thanks.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sidecolumn_left.gif
Views:	3757
Size:	10.3 KB
ID:	49051  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Put a Column on the Left Side of Every Forum Page amykhar vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 462 29 Mar 2011 23:05
Forum Home Enhancements Right side column on forum home only peterska2 vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 135 26 May 2008 18:04

  #46  
Old 02 Aug 2006, 22:58
Oddjob Oddjob is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by peterska2
When you want a break in your column, put
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and carry on with your rows as normal. Leave the last table unclosed, so the first line of the template is always
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and the last line is always
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Awesome, worked out nicely.

Thanks as always.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03 Aug 2006, 20:57
Criticize Criticize is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Whenever I try and add this to my forum it messes up the alignment of my forumhome. my style is at 900pixels wide. Do you know how to fix?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03 Aug 2006, 20:59
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
are you using a default or modified forumhome template?

please post a copy of your forumhome template making sure that you enclose it in [ code][/code] tags and I will look at it shortly.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 03 Aug 2006, 21:09
Criticize Criticize is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
It is a modified forumhome template. Code is sent.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03 Aug 2006, 22:08
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
It's because you are using a fixed width template. Depending on how they are set, it does not work.

For best results, this should be used with a fluid width style.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 03 Aug 2006, 22:31
Criticize Criticize is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I have seen a lot of other sites use a modification like this on a fixed width, are you saying there is no way for this to be done?
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 03 Aug 2006, 23:43
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
It depends on how your style is set up. As your style is very graphical (category strips, navbar etc) then it won't work as those images are generally fixed sizes leading to the problem that you are experiencing.

I've installed it on sites that are fixed widths, but they just use CSS or gradients for the category strips and not full images, this is where the problem lies as you cannot fit the column, the spacer, and the category strip images in the same space as just the category strip images.

Basically it all comes down to the set up of your style. My modifications are written on a default style unless stated otherwise (it might be a color variation, but thats it) and while I offer assistance with other styles, I cannot possibly make it work on every single style due to the sheer amount of variables involved.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 04 Aug 2006, 23:51
JollyJack JollyJack is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Jon
How do you get the header of this column to be the same as the style?
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04 Aug 2006, 23:57
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
it should be by default as that is how I coded it.

If you want it to be the same as the category strips rather than the table header, replace thead in the template with tcat
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 05 Aug 2006, 03:37
b05aled b05aled is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
thanx
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 11:42
tzrtim tzrtim is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Cool Nice Hack and I like it alot this is what i was trying to make! Only thing i would like to add is the css to it So my links are not underlined.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 14:29
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
you can just add CSS when you are adding your content, but it does use the same classes as the rest of your forums, so will by design use the same setup as them.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09 Aug 2006, 21:22
Baudman Baudman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I'm also having issues with my shout box smilies not closing.
__________________
HobbiesElite.com
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 10 Aug 2006, 17:51
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
This is due to the way that the shoutbox is coded, and cannot be prevented. The only solution to this that I know of is to have the column starting below the shoutbox.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 10 Aug 2006, 18:17
thezman thezman is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I seemed to be confused about where I can modify the box to add my links. Do I add links to the XML or to the Template??

I'm new at this, so don't assume I know what I'm doing.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: