Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBulletin Cron Based Database Backup Details »
vBulletin Cron Based Database Backup
Mod Version: 4.2.0.2, by Paul M (Member) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (160 votes - 4.89 average) Installs: 1436
Released: 28 Dec 2009 Last Update: 26 Nov 2013 Downloads: 7175
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

As of 23 Nov 2017 this modification has been withdrawn.

This is a cut down version based on a backup system written by Trigunflame for vb 3.0. It is a simple vBulletin cron trigged php system that does a dump of your database - either as one complete file, or as one file per table. Especially useful now that IB removed the old ACP backup option in vBulletin 4. Files can be (G)Zipped to save space.

All the options are located in the ACP in vBulletin Options >> vBulletin Automatic Backup

To install, download and unzip the files, and follow the instructions in the text file.


History:

v4.0.1 : 28-Dec-2009 : Initial release for vb 4.0.0 Gold.
v4.0.2 : 29-Dec-2009 : Added ability to block process larger tables.
v4.0.3 : 27-Jun-2010 : Added Gzip option.

v4.1.0 : 04-Dec-2010 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.0.

v4.1.7.0 : 16-Oct-2011 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.7.

v4.2.0.0 : 24-May-2012 : Updated for vBulletin 4.2.0.
v4.2.0.1 : 17-Mar-2013 : Removed vboptions from backup call..
v4.2.0.2 : 25-Nov-2013 : Fix php 5.3 deprecated warnings, added mysqldump backup.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Vbulletin Database Backup Pro (Cron Support) Trigunflame vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 443 05 Sep 2008 16:12

  #301  
Old 21 Sep 2010, 14:53
3loomShia 3loomShia is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Your awesome. I can not worry less.

Thanks heaps, Mate.

Reply With Quote
  #302  
Old 27 Sep 2010, 06:11
Parture Parture is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Why can't we just use the Backup Wizard with CPANEL 2 Accelerated to do a backup of all files and the database?

In the manual for vBulletin it says to select drop tables. That is the only thing that is not selected in standard setup of mysql. When I use the backup wizard it doesn't give you the option to select anything any options to back.

Is that ok?
Reply With Quote
  #303  
Old 27 Sep 2010, 13:27
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
I dont know anything about cpanel, I dont use it.

Dropping tables doesnt sound a very good plan - you do know that means deleting the table ?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #304  
Old 27 Sep 2010, 22:33
Parture Parture is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Ya I know what drop table means. In the manual it says when backing up...

http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/

In the second area, called SQL Options, make sure you have the following boxes checked:
Structure
Add 'drop table'
Add AUTO_INCREMENT value
Enclose table and field names with backquotes
Data

When I go into my SQL all of these are selected already except for Add 'drop table' that is: Add DROP TABLE / VIEW / PROCEDURE / FUNCTION

If this is not selected when backing up is that ok? If that's ok then I think I am ok to use CPANEL 2 Accelerated 2 and don't have to use any of the various other methods for backing up like Shell/SSH and other methods.

If not, I think I should export my database from php admin so I can select this box that is not currently selected.

If my thinking is right let me know. That CPANEL 2 built in backup method is really easy.

Last edited by Parture; 27 Sep 2010 at 22:38.
Reply With Quote
  #305  
Old 28 Sep 2010, 00:15
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Ah, that means add a drop command to the backup itself - yes you should normally do that as it makes restores work better.

If you want to use cpanel or php admin to manually run backups then go ahead, its your choice. I prefer to just let vb do it all automatically each night, without any need for me to do anything.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #306  
Old 28 Sep 2010, 02:14
Parture Parture is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
That's interesting, maybe I will try it your way, seems easier.

I still don't understand SSH and Shell and Telnet and and Keys and all that.

I noticed SSH and Telnet don't give you the option to Add 'drop table' either. Does your cron? If not then the only way to check off that box is to do it in phpadmin and export from php admin.

And last dumb question: why are there so many options? Why do we need to use Putty? Why can't we just use the Telnet or SSH in CPANEL 2 Accelerated?

I get that Shell Telnet and SSH are better (even though I don't really understand), because there are no timeouts, and maybe that's why vBulletin got rid of backups through vBulletin control panel.

Last edited by Parture; 28 Sep 2010 at 02:44.
Reply With Quote
  #307  
Old 28 Sep 2010, 03:00
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Yes this adds a Drop Table command to backups.

The rest of your questions have no relevance to this modification.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #308  
Old 30 Sep 2010, 04:14
Parture Parture is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #309  
Old 30 Sep 2010, 04:25
Parture Parture is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Should we backup all tables to one big file? Lock tables and do a repair before backing up?

Last edited by Parture; 30 Sep 2010 at 04:41.
Reply With Quote
  #310  
Old 30 Sep 2010, 04:53
onehost onehost is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
My board crashed about a month ago, and I was using this hack and had some backups made that the mod created, the forum restore never could use them to restore, as it could not read them, so I had to rely on my manual backups of the sql that I was doing...I am glad I did not put 100% faith in this...not saying it does not work, it just did not restore for me when I tried...so I do not know how many of you have actually used this backup to restore, as most users just backup, and never have to restore...dont be lazy, never hurts to keep manual backups as well.
Reply With Quote
  #311  
Old 30 Sep 2010, 22:38
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
I have used the backups a number of times, so I have no idea what your issue was (since you dont actually give any clue, I cant even guess).
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #312  
Old 30 Sep 2010, 22:50
onehost onehost is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
I have used the backups a number of times, so I have no idea what your issue was (since you dont actually give any clue, I cant even guess).
The only clue that I can give you is when I tried to restore your backup, everything
was disorted, everything was out of place...I tried 3 different backups that
your mod created, same result, I restored my manual backup, everything was fine.
Reply With Quote
  #313  
Old 01 Oct 2010, 04:07
TeknoSounds TeknoSounds is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by onehost View Post
The only clue that I can give you is when I tried to restore your backup, everything
was disorted, everything was out of place...I tried 3 different backups that
your mod created, same result, I restored my manual backup, everything was fine.
this is of pretty big concern, would you provide Paul a copy of your backup to look at to see what the differences are?
Or I could if we don't hear back or onehost doesn't want to...
Reply With Quote
  #314  
Old 04 Oct 2010, 13:07
CheeSie's Avatar
CheeSie CheeSie is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Real name: Andreas
Any idea why this makes my server become unresponsive?
Whenever it runs a loooooot of new mysql process gets created and the same happens with apache..
Is there some way to limit the script to not use all system resources or something.. cause it's really annoying
(But anyway I love the script as it's reaaaaaaaly useful!)
Reply With Quote
  #315  
Old 18 Oct 2010, 16:44
d-red d-red is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
where does it get saved to? what folder?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:08.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: