Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[WIDGET] Slider Details »
[WIDGET] Slider
Mod Version: 1.00, by cory_booth (Coder) cory_booth is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.1 Rating: (16 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 157
Released: 23 Jan 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 2595
Not Supported Additional Files Re-usable Code Is in Beta Stage  

Widget Slider - Frontpage Slide Show.

Demo: http://demo.webdeveloperplus.com/fea...ontent-slider/

This is based on the demo above. OK this is my first mod and I know the coding really sucks! But I thought I would get this out and see if anyone want to improve on it.
This is one of those frontpage slide shows that pulls your attachment and data from specified forums.

I hope this works for you.

Install:

Edit slider.php and at line 100:

$forumid - set the forum to pull slides
$limit - set the number of posts
$chars - set the total number of characters
$words - set total number of words

Upload Files.

Create PHP Widget and inser the following code:

ob_start();
echo '<div>';
echo '<center>';
require_once './clientscript/slider/slider.php';
echo '</center>';
echo '</div>';
$output=ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Mini Mods Innovative Signature Showcase TheLastSuperman vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 82 07 Oct 2015 09:18

  #16  
Old 23 Jan 2010, 16:26
dacho's Avatar
dacho dacho is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Real name: David
we can use it also on the CMS with CMS content ?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 23 Jan 2010, 16:45
cory_booth cory_booth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Originally Posted by valendono View Post
any forum example ?
Sorry, this was for the CMS and I certainly have a long way to go before it is ready to template and use hooks to place in the forum home.

Originally Posted by pablete View Post
Good mod but i have a problem with....

Not show the images from post in features and

My forum is on folder /forum, if you put on a title of one those post featured show me an error, because the links put http://web.com/showthread.php?t=323 an not http://web.com/forum/showthread.php?t=323...

Why can i fixed?

Thank's
Opps... Yep this is why I put this out here for the pros... The code is set for no /forum/

So to fix, check slider.php

Find these two lines:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You may need to adjust this line:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

as well

Originally Posted by Sleeter View Post
Slideshow is working but images are causing all kinds of strange display (breaking out of the frame). Needs to be able to auto re-size images or only show portions of images and fill the entire frame. Cool start though. I am desperate for a slideshow like this.

Any idea how could I go about getting rid of the small preview images section completely?
1. Images, yeah I make sure my event posts have 400px or less... I'll have to investigate resizing...

2. Drop the tabs... Hmmm, try this: near the bottom of slider.php.
between tabhtml and centerhtml add

tabhtml ='';

Originally Posted by Datenpapst View Post
actually i am just using your widget code, because already got a working slideshow software, but when i use it, somehow the forum goes to the left and the size of the font becomes smaller. Maybe some tags not closed or something missing?

So you mean you are pulling in another .php file? Hmmm... No I have one div and one center and both are closed at the end.
You could simply drop the div and center statements and see if that helps?

Originally Posted by dacho View Post
we can use it also on the CMS with CMS content ?
That'd be great, but not right now...
It pulls from a forum and not the CMS.




NOTE:
Folks thanks for the feedback and I am truly sorry if this is a struggle. Again, I had this and other ideas of mine posted in the Programming section here but I got no feed back... So I posted this here to see what people thought.

I will do my very best to get this thing up to snuff, but this is also tagged as a free project so if someone else is faster at this than me - go for it...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 23 Jan 2010, 16:48
cory_booth cory_booth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Originally Posted by Datenpapst View Post
actually i am just using your widget code, because already got a working slideshow software, but when i use it, somehow the forum goes to the left and the size of the font becomes smaller. Maybe some tags not closed or something missing?
Ah... Are you pulling in any portion of the php file?
I have a lot of CSS in there - perhaps that is the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 24 Jan 2010, 05:50
Sleeter Sleeter is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
First of all thank you so much for putting this out. I've been working with it for a day now and have got it to a point where I can implement on my site. Graphically it is fantastic! Just what I was looking for. Had to make several adjustments to the PHP and CSS but nothing to difficult.

The way I have implemented this is to set up a private forum. When I get some good content (with nice photos) I copy the posts to the private forum. I then crop the photo to 650x320 and re-attach. The only problem I still have is the links from the thread title in the slideshow to the thread it came from. I want to remove that link completely since members will not be able to see the private forum. Any idea how to accomplish that?

Again, thanks so much for sharing. I had a slideshow like this on my 3.8 site and my members really missed it since upgrading to 4.0.

You can see it installed here: www.westcoasthighliners.com

I would love to get feedback.

EDIT: To drop the tabs I changed this tab items in the CSS to display: none

Last edited by Sleeter; 24 Jan 2010 at 05:58.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 24 Jan 2010, 14:54
nomoreturn's Avatar
nomoreturn nomoreturn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Real name: mastdunya.com
Originally Posted by cory_booth View Post
Sorry, this was for the CMS and I certainly have a long way to go before it is ready to template and use hooks to place in the forum home.



Opps... Yep this is why I put this out here for the pros... The code is set for no /forum/

So to fix, check slider.php

Find these two lines:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You may need to adjust this line:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

as well



1. Images, yeah I make sure my event posts have 400px or less... I'll have to investigate resizing...

2. Drop the tabs... Hmmm, try this: near the bottom of slider.php.
between tabhtml and centerhtml add

tabhtml ='';




So you mean you are pulling in another .php file? Hmmm... No I have one div and one center and both are closed at the end.
You could simply drop the div and center statements and see if that helps?


That'd be great, but not right now...
It pulls from a forum and not the CMS.




NOTE:
Folks thanks for the feedback and I am truly sorry if this is a struggle. Again, I had this and other ideas of mine posted in the Programming section here but I got no feed back... So I posted this here to see what people thought.

I will do my very best to get this thing up to snuff, but this is also tagged as a free project so if someone else is faster at this than me - go for it...
1st of all thanks for giving us such a nice mod i installed and my images are not showed up so i did this as you told and still images not showing please help me to fix this thanks
Attached Images
File Type: png slide pic.PNG (10.2 KB, 223 views)
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 26 Jan 2010, 01:28
cory_booth cory_booth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Originally Posted by Sleeter View Post
The only problem I still have is the links from the thread title in the slideshow to the thread it came from. I want to remove that link completely since members will not be able to see the private forum. Any idea how to accomplish that?
Thanks for the compliment and I am sorry you had to spend a day messing around :-)

OK, so for the link:
In the slider.php find this line:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The key is the $link - you can do one or the other:

Change the line to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To drop the link reference

or change the line to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To insert your own link to send the user
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 26 Jan 2010, 01:39
cory_booth cory_booth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Originally Posted by nomoreturn@hotm View Post
1st of all thanks for giving us such a nice mod i installed and my images are not showed up so i did this as you told and still images not showing please help me to fix this thanks
Hey man... I checked your site:
www.mastdunya.com right?

Your attachment.php is at the root...

So you should drop those changes and put back to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Did you upload slider to the correct directory? /clientscript
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 26 Jan 2010, 03:53
murekhalir murekhalir is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Make it show articles.. instead?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 27 Jan 2010, 20:29
cory_booth cory_booth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Originally Posted by murekhalir View Post
Make it show articles.. instead?
Yeah that would be nice...
I'll look into it in the future...
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 28 Jan 2010, 13:47
Bacon Butty Bacon Butty is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Would be great if it could be placed on the forum home like here
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 30 Jan 2010, 10:34
murekhalir murekhalir is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
There any way to just make it 100% customizable, with a click-through link?

Or does it already do that. I'll give it a try.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 30 Jan 2010, 18:38
nomoreturn's Avatar
nomoreturn nomoreturn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Real name: mastdunya.com
Originally Posted by cory_booth View Post
Hey man... I checked your site:
www.mastdunya.com right?

Your attachment.php is at the root...

So you should drop those changes and put back to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Did you upload slider to the correct directory? /clientscript
Thanks i fix it as you mention and now its working once again thanks for wonderfull slide
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 31 Jan 2010, 23:21
Bisha's Avatar
Bisha Bisha is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
nice, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01 Feb 2010, 01:15
TimberFloorAu's Avatar
TimberFloorAu TimberFloorAu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Blue
Originally Posted by nomoreturn@hotm View Post
Thanks i fix it as you mention and now its working once again thanks for wonderfull slide

Its not working mate
__________________

My Hacks [ click ] | Steve ~ Administrator for British Expats AustraliaBound.org/forum | Test our forum - user; don pass; pass123
Sports Tipping Mod - coming February 2010 ~ Show your Interest !
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07 Feb 2010, 16:47
Datenpapst's Avatar
Datenpapst Datenpapst is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Martin
I am using this one:
http://testforum.c-arena.com/demoslideshow.php

atm as an iframe

My code in the admincp is:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Still got the problem
__________________
http://www.c-arena.com - http://fm.c-arena.com
Be Part of the CA.com Family
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:14.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: