Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02 Dec 2008, 10:59
Wordplay Wordplay is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Change Indexfile For Domain

is it possible to have my server load home.php rather than index.php when people enter the domain name in the address bar?
__________________
nothing left to say
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02 Dec 2008, 11:16
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
Yes, you can do this via the web server's config file. For Apache, this file is called "httpd.conf".
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02 Dec 2008, 11:25
Wordplay Wordplay is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
thanks for the quick response, but where is that file located?
__________________
nothing left to say
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03 Dec 2008, 03:16
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
You will only have access to this file if you control the server. It is usually located in /etc/httpd/conf.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03 Dec 2008, 11:34
Wordplay Wordplay is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
the only folder in my etc folder is a folder with my domain name, in that folder there are the files:


password
quota
shadow


and a folder with a file named info.
__________________
nothing left to say
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03 Dec 2008, 12:56
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
login via SSH and do

updatedb
locate httpd.conf

it'll give you some locations for httpd.conf
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05 Dec 2008, 08:27
Digma Digma is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Might only work if you have root access to the server.

In some control panels the httpd.conf is also included and can be editted from your browser.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05 Dec 2008, 13:05
Wordplay Wordplay is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
thanks for the replies, but how do i log in via ssh?

(i've never dealt with ssh before).

what would it be labeled if it was in my control panel?
__________________
nothing left to say
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05 Dec 2008, 21:55
R-D's Avatar
R-D R-D is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Just create a .htaccess file in your root folder and put this line inside it:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


More info on .htaccess: http://www.javascriptkit.com/howto/htaccess.shtml
More info on DirectoryIndex: http://www.javascriptkit.com/howto/htaccess6.shtml
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06 Dec 2008, 10:59
Wordplay Wordplay is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
sweet, exactly what i was looking for!

thank you!
__________________
nothing left to say
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 10:28
Wordplay Wordplay is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by R-D View Post
Just create a .htaccess file in your root folder and put this line inside it:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


More info on .htaccess: http://www.javascriptkit.com/howto/htaccess.shtml
More info on DirectoryIndex: http://www.javascriptkit.com/howto/htaccess6.shtml
there's a little problem with this... that being that it changes that for every directory, and in other directories it no longer looks for the index.htm/index.php file.

anyway to specify it so it only does that for the root directory?

i guess i fixed it by changing it to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

thanks for the helpful links .
__________________
nothing left to say

Last edited by Wordplay; 19 Dec 2008 at 10:33. Reason: fixed it...
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:51.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: