Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[DBTech] vB Optimise 2.0.1 (Lite) Details »
[DBTech] vB Optimise 2.0.1 (Lite)
Mod Version: 2.0.1, by Deceptor (Coder) Deceptor is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (119 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 1098
Released: 18 Dec 2008 Last Update: 23 Apr 2010 Downloads: 6744
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files  

vB Optimise Lite

The newly revamped vB Optimise was created for vBulletin 4, but has now been made compatible for vBulletin 3.8. In this release I have re-coded vB Optimise from the gound and focused stability over features, you'll notice Phrase Caching and vBAdvanced Integration have bit the dust, this is to maintain a sync state between this version and the vBulletin 4 release.

Professional version & feature list available @ www.DragonByte-Tech.com/forum
Priority support for Lite version is handled at the Developers Website.


What does it do?

vB Optimise is intended to optimise vBulletin software by integrating several PHP "cachers" and handling data before vBulletin. This works by encountering and handling data prior to vBulletin in order to skip the arbitary execution that would be more server intensive.

Real-Life Statistics

We've teamed up with some Big Forums to show you the impact of vB Optimise, you can view this public chart which shows both our statistics and theirs:

View Public vB Optimise Resource Statistics

Features
  • Supported Extensions
    • APC
    • eAccelerator
    • Memcache
    • XCache
    • WinCache
    • Filecache
  • Style Cacher
    Caches style data to globally reduce a query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Template Cacher
    Caches template data to globally reduce a query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Datastore Cacher
    Forces custom datastore items from modifications (including those from vB's blogs) to use your configured Datastore Cache method instead of being forced into the database. This reduces page queries by where affected.
  • vB CMS Template Caching
    (Automatic) Corrects many uncached templates within vB CMS to reduce upto 20+ queries on CMS pages (number varies based on content).
  • Optimal Settings Check
    Provides a quick interface to identify possible settings which can be changed on your forum for further optimisation.
  • Self-System Tester
    Provides a relatively straight-forward system check to ensure your vB Optimise installation works fully.
  • Automatic Cache Flusher
    Automatically flushes cache within the Admin CP based on specific triggers to make sure content does not remain stale on your forum.
  • XCache Authentification
    Supports XCache Admin Authentification by allowing you specify the username/password in a configuration if needs be.

Features - Pro
  • Notices Cacher
    Caches users dismissed notices to reduce a near-global query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Showgroups Cacher
    Caches the showgroups query which becomes more intensive as your user-base grows.
  • Forum Display Query Enhancement
    Enhances a stock vBulletin query within Forum Display to speed up the page.
  • Forum Home WOL Cache
    Caches Forum Home "Who's Online" to remove an intensive query and allow larger sites to display this data without impact.
  • vB Cache Override (Feature not available on vBulletin 3)
    Ability to override vBulletins new built-in database cacher for the CMS / Forum Sidebar Blocks to remove anything from 1 to 20+ queries based on your content.
  • Full Guest Caching
    Ability to cache entire pages and serve them saving not only hundreds of queries but upto 90% of CPU processing towards Guests.
  • Statistical Resource Savings
    Ability to see just exactly how many queries per day vB Optimise has saved your database. You'll be surprised at the numbers.
  • Forum Resource Statistic
    Shows off vB Optimise resource saving statistics directly within forumhome statistics.
  • ....and more!

Release Notes

If you've used vB Optimise before you'll be aware the previous version had phrase caching, however this caused complications with the way phrases are used within vBulletin so it has not been ported over at this time.


Available Translations
v1.6.0 French - Thanks to finereader

Change Log

[>>] Version 2.0.1
New launch for vB 3.8

[>>] Version 1.6.1
Automatic Cache Flusher has additional parameters to make sure no data is stale
Resolved Bug: Potential PHP error when using eAccelerator which cannot flush within Admin CP on certain actions

[>>] Version 1.6.0
New OpCode Cacher Support: WinCache

[>>] Version 1.5.0
Resolved Bug: Style cache may have fetched ID 0 instead of correct file
Resolved Bug: Filecache permissions may not have worked
Optimisation: Re-wrote some base code to enhance operations.

[>>] Version 1.0.1
Added XCache Authentification Support
Added Filecache Support

Support

Priority support will be handled at DBTech.

FAQ

Q: I have WinCache installed, but vB Optimise tells me it's not?
A: WinCache only introduced OpCode support in version 1.1, if you're using version 1.0.x you will need to upgrade.

Q: I'm using the XCache method, flushing doesn't work?
A: If you have XCache authentification, turn the admin option on within vB Optimise Settings, then edit ./vboptimise/config.php and specify your XCache username/password. Alternatively you can disable XCache authentification within php.ini:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Q: I have eAccelerator installed, but vB Optimise tells me it's not?
A: eAccelerator does not provide the caching extension by default, you will need to recompile PHP with additional flags. For more information read eAccelerator documentation located here: http://eaccelerator.net/wiki/CompileConfiguration (Specifically look at: with-eaccelerator-shared-memory)

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Chat Modifications [DBTech] vBShout v6 (vB4) [AJAX] DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 2838 20 May 2019 14:20
Major Additions [DBTech] vBActivity & Awards v3 (vB4) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 934 14 May 2019 13:05
Miscellaneous Hacks [DBTech] Username Change v1 (vB4) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 432 15 Apr 2017 18:44
Forum Home Enhancements [DBTech] InfoPanels v2 (vB4) [AJAX] DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 279 25 Apr 2016 22:44
Board Optimization [DBTech] vB Optimise 2.0.1 (Lite) Deceptor vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 461 05 Sep 2013 22:22

  #31  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 02:33
Medtech's Avatar
Medtech Medtech is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
good, at times i have 700 members online with about 900 spiders, i have to turn off my plugin/ hook system so my forum does not lockup. using a VPS server. we will see what this does in a week when i get slammed again
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 02:33
Deceptor's Avatar
Deceptor Deceptor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
You should recieve a prompt when attempting to flush the cache asking for your username/password, this is because your XCache is configured to require an admin username/password when using administrative XCache functions. Is the pop-up for authentification not showing?

This can be disabled through your php.ini:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 02:35
glorify's Avatar
glorify glorify is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Nope, not showing.
__________________
GTP
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 02:37
Deceptor's Avatar
Deceptor Deceptor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
From what tests I've been able to do, the prompt should show on failure. It's possible the error haults this from happening, try the following change to see if it resolves your issue:

Open: ./includes/class_activecache_methods.php, Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change this to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change this to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Save and upload, let me know if this resolves the issue for you
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 02:44
glorify's Avatar
glorify glorify is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Originally Posted by Deceptor View Post
You should recieve a prompt when attempting to flush the cache asking for your username/password, this is because your XCache is configured to require an admin username/password when using administrative XCache functions. Is the pop-up for authentification not showing?

This can be disabled through your php.ini:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Was able to get it using that workaround

Thanks. Didn't try the other lol.
__________________
GTP
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 02:47
Deceptor's Avatar
Deceptor Deceptor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
No problem If you get a chance to try out the above changes to see if that works let me know how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 02:58
glorify's Avatar
glorify glorify is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
I will, but I probably won't get the error now. Great work. Thank you. By the way, I am running RC1 and haven't upgraded to 2 yet.
__________________
GTP
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 02:59
Deceptor's Avatar
Deceptor Deceptor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Thanks for the note, it should run on beta installations of vB 3.8 too, but I won't swear by it
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 02:59
lazydesis lazydesis is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by Deceptor View Post
Fixed, re-download and then re-upload the following file:
./includes/class_activecache.php

You'll be able to select styles correctly then
thanks works as promised

1 question -- when i try to flush, it asks me for xcache username and passwd, when i give the ones i have in php.ini file, it says wrong. wat are these username and passwd?

also vboptimize directory has only 1 index.htm file? am i supposed to 777 this dir so vboptimize can write some files here?
__________________
http://www.lazydesis.com
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 03:01
Deceptor's Avatar
Deceptor Deceptor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
You need to specify your username and password for XCache, remember the password in php.ini should not be an actual password, but an md5 encrypted password, then you enter the plain-text password in the prompt. Otherwise you can disable the admin authentification for XCache, see a couple of posts above to see how.

As for vboptimise/, yes it should have read/write permissions, as specified in the Admin CP descriptions when you setup vB Optimise
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 03:20
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Hmmm, forums seem a bit faster, let's see over the next day or so...

3.6.8
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 03:21
Deceptor's Avatar
Deceptor Deceptor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Glad to hear it's working on vB 3.6
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 03:22
Megatr0n Megatr0n is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Will this work on a shared hosting?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 03:25
Deceptor's Avatar
Deceptor Deceptor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Yes Megatron, but you'll probably only be able to use the File Cache method, not Memcache or XCache.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 03:32
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by Deceptor View Post
Glad to hear it's working on vB 3.6
Still testing...

Seems fine though

Thanks, it was marked installed before previous post
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: