Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11 May 2018, 17:30
CZ Eddie CZ Eddie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2018
License holder no longer around, update needed

Hi, I just wanted to confirm that we are out of luck?
Currently on vBulletin 4.2.0 and wanting to update to 4.2.5.
But the person with the vBulletin site password/license passed away some years ago and we no longer have access to that license information.

1) So we are out of luck, there is no way to download the 4.2.5 update, is that correct?

2) If so, we will be forced to purchase a vBulletin 5 license as 4 is no longer available?

3) And if that happens, how good are our chances of a rookie admin updating our site from 4.2.0 to 5.x without losing any data/members/threads/pics/etc?

Thanks,
-Eddie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11 May 2018, 18:10
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post
2) If so, we will be forced to purchase a vBulletin 5 license as 4 is no longer available?
When you purchase the new vB5 license, you will then also have access to download previous versions all the way back to 3.8, at my last check.

So you can get the very latest version of vB4 and use it. You will not need to even download vB5 at all.

Stay away from vB5 at all costs.
Currently on vBulletin 4.2.0 and wanting to update to 4.2.5.
Why?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11 May 2018, 19:32
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I would only add, upgrading to any new vB version can be very hard, depending on how customized installation is. It can be a task to admire even for more seasoned admins, let alone rookie ones.

But, you can try to contact support and explain situation, provide evidences you have and they might give you access, you never know.

And, before you try to do upgrade, do it on test site, to see what's going on, never try to do update on live site before test run.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11 May 2018, 19:35
CZ Eddie CZ Eddie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2018
Originally Posted by Max Taxable View Post
Why?
I was going to say we got hacked recently and were told the update would have prevented the hack.
And I read somewhere the update also includes a more mobile friendly webpage.

Then I looked down at the bottom of THIS forum and see this:

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
LMAO I guess updates may not be as critical as I thought?

--------------- Added 11 May 2018 at 19:35 ---------------

Originally Posted by Alan_SP View Post
I would only add, upgrading to any new vB version can be very hard, depending on how customized installation is. It can be a task to admire even for more seasoned admins, let alone rookie ones.

But, you can try to contact support and explain situation, provide evidences you have and they might give you access, you never know.

And, before you try to do upgrade, do it on test site, to see what's going on, never try to do update on live site before test run.
Thank you for the advice.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11 May 2018, 19:36
CZ Eddie CZ Eddie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2018
Originally Posted by Max Taxable View Post
When you purchase the new vB5 license, you will then also have access to download previous versions all the way back to 3.8, at my last check.

So you can get the very latest version of vB4 and use it. You will not need to even download vB5 at all.
That's good to hear.
And sounds logical. Thanks!

--------------- Added 11 May 2018 at 19:36 ---------------

I guess my other responses are pending admin approval.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12 May 2018, 03:59
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by Alan_SP View Post
I would only add, upgrading to any new vB version can be very hard, depending on how customized installation is. It can be a task to admire even for more seasoned admins, let alone rookie ones.
Which brings back my question of why.

Why the need to "upgrade" if everything is working well?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12 May 2018, 12:00
nhawk nhawk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by Max Taxable View Post
Which brings back my question of why.

Why the need to "upgrade" if everything is working well?
The best reason is there has been a multitude of security fixes. Not installing the latest version leaves them open to known security problems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12 May 2018, 13:24
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
Originally Posted by nhawk View Post
The best reason is there has been a multitude of security fixes. Not installing the latest version leaves them open to known security problems.
That and PHP 5.6 is being deprecated so vBulletin 4.x users need the latest version because it is the only one that is compatible with PHP 7.1.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12 May 2018, 17:27
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
VB 4.2.0 probably isn't even running under PHP 5.6.0. It's official max version was PHP 5.3.x. Even under PHP 5.4.x there would have been problems with VB 4.2.0. I'm amazed such a site is still working.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13 May 2018, 17:17
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by In Omnibus View Post
That and PHP 5.6 is being deprecated so vBulletin 4.x users need the latest version because it is the only one that is compatible with PHP 7.1.
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
VB 4.2.0 probably isn't even running under PHP 5.6.0. It's official max version was PHP 5.3.x. Even under PHP 5.4.x there would have been problems with VB 4.2.0. I'm amazed such a site is still working.
Mine runs like a champ, v4.2.0 patch level 2. Never a problem.

Of course, my host hasn't upgraded php ever, either. Not in the 11 years I've had the service.

I also have a v3.8.7 working like a well-oiled machine, never any problems there.

Originally Posted by nhawk View Post
The best reason is there has been a multitude of security fixes. Not installing the latest version leaves them open to known security problems.
I've read all the material regarding the security patches, never saw one that looked at all likely as a threat. So, never upgraded.

Last edited by Max Taxable; 13 May 2018 at 20:07.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14 May 2018, 15:05
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by Max Taxable View Post
Of course, my host hasn't upgraded php ever, either. Not in the 11 years I've had the service.
Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaa?

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPkOPnmMpH0

OP: vBulletin 5 is fine IF you don't have any custom mods you rely on, it works fine as a normal forum, members may say vB5 seems slower too compared to vB4 but I haven't checked or compared speed in quite a while tbph.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by TheLastSuperman; 14 May 2018 at 15:15.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14 May 2018, 15:25
CZ Eddie CZ Eddie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2018
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post
I guess my other responses are pending admin approval.
Still waiting for my other responses to show up?!?

Anyhow, our board got hacked not long ago and we were told the 4.2.5 update would have prevented the hack from happening.

The board runs smooth though.
The AdminCP is a little odd.
A few of the links don't take you to the tool but instead give a message like the one below when clicking the "Import" option in AdminCP:

/forum/impex/index.php

The forums have moved to:
http://www.forum_name.org/forum
Please update your bookmarks.
Thank you to everyone who has responded with suggestions/opinions so far.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14 May 2018, 15:32
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post
Still waiting for my other responses to show up?!?
There was only one and no need to approve it as you already re-stated the same in a reply there after .

Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post
Anyhow, our board got hacked not long ago and we were told the 4.2.5 update would have prevented the hack from happening.
That depends on how it was actually hacked. Granted running vB 4.2.5 and running PHP7.1 is preferred.

Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post
The board runs smooth though.
The AdminCP is a little odd.
A few of the links don't take you to the tool but instead give a message like the one below when clicking the "Import" option in AdminCP:
Don't click on the import link, that is from Impex and that means someone long ago imported your forums from another software into vBulletin. Impex should be fully removed (seems they removed most of the files but not the cpnav ones). If you don't know what some of this is, don't go clicking around at all before you run a full database backup or simply ask your host to copy the site and create a test site (then you can blow it up if you wish and the live site is left intact ).
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14 May 2018, 15:54
CZ Eddie CZ Eddie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2018
Thank you.
Yes, I'm treading very carefully right now since I'm a newbie and our contact ability with the hosting services is very iffy.
I doubt I could get a test site created.
So other than the update, all I want to do is add Tapatalk once the db guy adds support in the config for modules.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14 May 2018, 17:07
Dave Dave is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaa?

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPkOPnmMpH0

OP: vBulletin 5 is fine IF you don't have any custom mods you rely on, it works fine as a normal forum, members may say vB5 seems slower too compared to vB4 but I haven't checked or compared speed in quite a while tbph.
vBulletin 5 is pretty fast as long as you use PHP 7+ with OPCache.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:20.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: